We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History made interesting !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carisbrooke Castle

Carisbrooke Castle
Newport PO30 1XY, England
+44 1983 523112
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Carisbrooke Castle like an insider
$1,410*
and up
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic Norman castle where Charles I was imprisoned.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History made interesting !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in, with guides who really knew their onions and wanted to share their knowledge. Well laid out with lots to do.We had a wheelchair user in our party who was well catered for.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    211
    52
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Shut.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Got there from Ryde,on the bus, after paying extortionate IOW bus fares, £3.50 for a single, then a walk up a muddy hill, only to find it was shut, winter hours started the day we got there, November the 5th. Might be a nice place but looks bleak & cold from outside, disused castle. Try somewhere else.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
718 helpful votes 718 helpful votes
“The finest Norman building in Britain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had a rather unexpected business appointment to see a customer of mine on the Isle of Wight, so whilst I was there, I decided to spend a couple of hours at Carisbrooke Castle, somewhere I hadn't visited since I was about 12 years old.

Carisbrooke Castle sits to the west of the town of Newport, the county town of the Isle of Wight, it is well signposted, and I had no problems finding it . It is preserved in remarkable condition and affords commanding views over the town and beyond. Its construction is attributed to William Fitz-Osborne, who, in the 11th century, became lord of the island shortly after the Norman conquest. The castle was built on the site of an 8th-century Saxon fort, initially enclosing an area of some 12 acres.

It was enlarged during the reigns of Richard II and Edward IV, and during Elizabeth’s time as queen, new walls were erected by Genebella, an Italian engineer, almost doubling the size of the site.

The original motte and bailey castle was laid out in the late 11th century. The polygonal Keep was built on an artificial mound to the east in the early 12th century, as were the massive stone walls with their square-flanking towers at the southeast and southwest. To the west stands the twin-towered gatehouse, along with the remains of the portcullis. The gatehouse dates to the 14th and 15th centuries and replaced the original structure built in the mid 1200s during the time of the Redvers family, who ruled the island until 1293, after which it was acquired by Edward I.

There are also two wells within the castle, a beautiful chapel, the well-house, the Great Hall, remains of the Armoury and Powder Store, landscaped gardens, and the foundations of Carey’s mansion, the governor during Elizabeth’s time who made extensive re-fortifications. I spent a good two hours here wandering around in the rather unexpected, but most welcome early November sunshine. It is a truly wonderful place to visit and should be on the agenda of any first time visitor to the island..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Place was awesome. Views are stunning. Staff friendly. Defiantly worth a visit and worth becoming members

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“good castle - well managed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we spent a lovely albeit quite cold and windy day at the castle. Being English Heritage members, we got into the castle for free. the museum inside is run separately which was surprising but they asked for a donation rather than a fee. Not sure if you can come in if you don't give a donation but since it was a good museum, we didn't mind. There were still activities set up for the children as they had been celebrating Halloween and it was also the last open day before their winter closures and winter hours so we were happy to wander around the walls and up to the top of the keep and see the donkeys walk on the water wheel. This castle has quite a history with Charles I being imprisoned there and later Queen Victoria's daughter lived there. They had a delightful little introduction film where one of the donkeys took you back in history and told you about the castle. Those donkeys have quite a wry sense of humor.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carisbrooke Castle also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Carisbrooke Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carisbrooke Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.