We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean, new business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, Oegstgeest 2342, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €66
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oegstgeest
Grimbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Decent, clean, new business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a very new Hilton Garden Inn, with underground parking, next to the highway and to Leiden University and biotech hub. Great place for business stays, probably the best for Leiden area overall.

Nice spacious lobby and restaurant.
Very friendly service.
Nice rooms, bathroom clean, basic, but everything you need.
Very nice breakfast, only missing thing is alternatives for people with food allergy (gluten or lactose intolerance)

You might want to ask a room away from the highway if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Esteven,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel with fellow travellers, it was great to read and I will make sure to share this with the entire team.
We offer a large variety of food items for guests with a food allergy. I am sorry to read that we did not offer this to you. I will make sure we inform our guests better about these possibilities we offer.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back one day to the Hilton Garden Inn leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    102
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
108
7
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel is quite new, with very forthcoming staff. The rooms are quite adequate for business traveler, with free WiFi and coffee.
I commuted to Amsterdam from this hotel for over a week, with several colleagues, and none had any negative comment during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Amit M,

Thank you so much for your review. Indeed, we are not too far from Amsterdam and we aim to offer the best comfort and facilities for a successful business trip to all our business guests.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel was new when we stayed there in May 2013. The rooms were on the small side but very well appointed and clean and modern. There was free wifi and coffee making facilities in the room.

The staff were very attentive and helpful.

There was free undercover secure parking.

The only negative thing was that the hotel was difficult to find as the road signage was not clear and to access it we had to drive through the University campus which is close by.

It was situated right next to the CORPUS museum so if you follow the signs for that you will arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear MsMegane,

Thank you very much for your great review.
For a potential next stay you might also want to try our 35m2 de Luxe rooms, for just a little more comfort.
Thank you for pointing out to fellow travellers to follow the CORPUS museum sign in order to find the hotel best. We are still negotiating with local authorities to improve our signage.

We all look forward to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Metro
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although this hotel is not located in the center of town, it is a short walk to the bioscience business center/office park, and Leiden University and Medical Center. I didn't have a chance to visit Corpus, but heard from colleagues that the museum was awesome.

The hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful. They immediately and satisfactorily corrected a HUGE reservation error (basically my weeklong stay had been cancelled), helped me figure out a WiFi issue and stayed on top of my ground transportation requests.

The accommodations are modest, but spotless and comfortable. I attended a meeting one of the hotel's main conference rooms, which was booked on very short notice. Everything was handled professionally and with care. There was some construction taking place, which became a bit of a distraction.

The breakfast and lunch buffet offerings were quite good. The bar selections were great, as was the set-up (fireplace, deep cushioned seating, television) in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear SRNYCMetro,

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor.
The hotel is just opposite the Bioscience park and indeed, the next door museum CORPUS is an unique experience and worthwhile to visit.
Thank you for your compliments to the hotel staff, which naturally I will share with them. They will appreciate this very much.

We all hope to welcome you back again and I wish safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I travel to Leiden several times a year and I am also a Hilton Gold Card member. So, I figure I should try out the Hilton Garden. I arrived in Leiden from Chicago in the morning. Check in was effortless, but I didn't have too many choices of rooms. Either on the level of the parking or overlooking the highway on the rear side. I took the highway side. The room was surprisingly very quiet; no noise from the cars on the highway. The room was modern, spacious with many amenities. The bathroom was also modern, with a wonderful shower. As I have come to expect the shower has super hot water, high pressure, and precision controls. The bed has the business class comforter and mattress so my sleep was sound. Also, the room was spotless clean with very efficient housekeeping. The food is also quite nice at the hotel. The night I checked in I just dropped down to the lobby to eat dinner with a friend at the bar. The cod, risotto, and asparagus dish I ordered was very, very fresh and prepared quite well. Likewise, the buffet breakfast has many choices of cold dishes, fruit, breads, eggs, etc. Service was also good at the hotel. I had problems with my company computer and internet access and the hotel quickly arranged for a technical expert from the internet provider to help me. Now for the location: My business is in the Biotech Park in Leiden which is a nice 15 minute walk. I pass horses and pasture along the way. However, to get to Leiden center you must either bicycle or order a taxi for 13 Euros. There is nothing of interest out that way on the outskirts of Leiden.

Room Tip: Higher floors, on opposite side of the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MrB003,

Thank you very much for your clear and above all great review about your stay at the HGI Leiden. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire staff, especially the housekeeping department and the kitchen crew. They will really appreciate this.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again one day.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My colleagues and I stayed here for business, while we attended a conference (WordCamp Europe) in Leiden. The hotel was a little outside the centre, but we hired bikes and this made for a very pleasant way to get around. The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Simon W,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we can welcome you and colleagues back again to our hotel during a future conference in our area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn has opened its first facility in the Netherlands - the bar has been set very high by a wonderful team of young professionals - everyone working to make an incredible experience for the leisure (also business) traveler!!! thank you to so many - front desk, restaurant, housekeeping -everyone!!!! Joe and Carol

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Joe & Carol,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden. It was a true pleasure to read.
I will make sure to share your comments with all departments.

It was great to have staying with us and we all look forward to your next European trip.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, Oegstgeest 2342, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is ideally located near the A44 highway, which connects the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (AMS) region to the city of Leiden and The Hague. Conveniently situated next to the Corpus Congress Center and Museum. This brand new hotel(August 2012)is nearby the Bio Science Park Leiden and Leiden City Center. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology and conveniences make the most of your stay. Relax with homelike surroundings including refrigerator, coffee maker and complimentary high-speed internet access.Indulge in a delicious meal at The Restaurant, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick and snack from the hotel’s great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. Stay active with an energetic workout in the fitness center. The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden also offers a variety of flexible meeting space, for up to 80 guests, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelsNL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.