We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good comfort, not so good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good comfort, not so good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I travel to Leiden several times a year and I am also a Hilton Gold Card member. So, I figure I should try out the Hilton Garden. I arrived in Leiden from Chicago in the morning. Check in was effortless, but I didn't have too many choices of rooms. Either on the level of the parking or overlooking the highway on the rear side. I took the highway side. The room was surprisingly very quiet; no noise from the cars on the highway. The room was modern, spacious with many amenities. The bathroom was also modern, with a wonderful shower. As I have come to expect the shower has super hot water, high pressure, and precision controls. The bed has the business class comforter and mattress so my sleep was sound. Also, the room was spotless clean with very efficient housekeeping. The food is also quite nice at the hotel. The night I checked in I just dropped down to the lobby to eat dinner with a friend at the bar. The cod, risotto, and asparagus dish I ordered was very, very fresh and prepared quite well. Likewise, the buffet breakfast has many choices of cold dishes, fruit, breads, eggs, etc. Service was also good at the hotel. I had problems with my company computer and internet access and the hotel quickly arranged for a technical expert from the internet provider to help me. Now for the location: My business is in the Biotech Park in Leiden which is a nice 15 minute walk. I pass horses and pasture along the way. However, to get to Leiden center you must either bicycle or order a taxi for 13 Euros. There is nothing of interest out that way on the outskirts of Leiden.

Room Tip: Higher floors, on opposite side of the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MrB003,

Thank you very much for your clear and above all great review about your stay at the HGI Leiden. I will make sure to share your comments with the entire staff, especially the housekeeping department and the kitchen crew. They will really appreciate this.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again one day.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    143
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
144
8
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My colleagues and I stayed here for business, while we attended a conference (WordCamp Europe) in Leiden. The hotel was a little outside the centre, but we hired bikes and this made for a very pleasant way to get around. The staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Simon W,

Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor.
Hopefully we can welcome you and colleagues back again to our hotel during a future conference in our area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn has opened its first facility in the Netherlands - the bar has been set very high by a wonderful team of young professionals - everyone working to make an incredible experience for the leisure (also business) traveler!!! thank you to so many - front desk, restaurant, housekeeping -everyone!!!! Joe and Carol

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Joe & Carol,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden. It was a true pleasure to read.
I will make sure to share your comments with all departments.

It was great to have staying with us and we all look forward to your next European trip.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great hotel with all the expected 4-star amenities. Modern, clean and comfortable, but possibly in one of the worst locations possible..next to a highway yet difficult to reach it with minimal public transport facilities, and at the edge of Leiden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Subhadeep G,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you are pleased with hotel.
The hotel is only one year in operation and we are working thoroughly with the local authorities to improve the transportation to and from the hotel, however, we do offer our guests a free secured parking facility and have bicycles for rent at the Front Desk. The nearest bus stop is approximately 5 minutes away from the hotel. Nevertheless, I am very pleased to inform you that our negations with the authorities have resulted in a new bus connection to Leiden central station as of December with a bus stop right next to the hotel.

Thank you again for your comment and hopefully we can welcome you back again one day to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very new clean hotel in an excellent location. Very good facilities, polite and helpful reception and restaurant staff. There is an excellent shuttle service to Leiden city centre. The hotel is also well served by public transport. The car parks in the hotel are well designed and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Vijay,

Thank you very much for your great review it was a true pleasure to read.
We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely brilliant Hotel. In walking distance of Leiden where you can get a train to Ansterdam, etc. Very friendly and lovely staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. Huge selection at breakfast and lovey dinners. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The free secure parking was an advantage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear coccobiggestfan 90210,

Thank for your great review. I will make sure to share this with everybody here, especially the kitchen crew will really appreciate your comments.

We all look forward to welcome you back one day and I wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted an economy hotel near Delft, this Hilton Garden Inn completely met our needs. Although close to a freeway (Autobahn) exit, the winding residential streets made locating without GPS a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lowell B,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisdor. I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with us.
As we only opened a year ago, unfortunately, not all GPS systems have the correct directions uploaded yet, however, they are working on it. I apologize for the inconvenience. Just in case for future reference, on our web site we have an alternative address mentioned which is just round the corner and will be found by all GPS systems. Alternatively, if you enter next door’s museum CORPUS, no doubt that any system will direct you correctly to our hotel.

Thank you again for and we wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is an award-winning, modern hotel in Leiden, which is home to one of Europe's oldest universities. Our hotel, located in the picturesque birthplace of Rembrandt, is just ten minutes from Leiden town centre and close to Katwijk and Noordwijk beaches. Relax in a spacious guest room with signature Hilton Garden Inn amenities, including adjustable beds and complimentary WiFi. This Leiden hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pick up snacks and drinks from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, located on Leiden's Bio Science Park, offers naturally lit, flexible meeting and event space. The hotel has a private dining suite and five modern meeting rooms for up to 112 persons. Each room has complimentary WiFi access. Free parking and A/V equipment are included as standard. The adjacent CORPUS Congress Centre and Bio Science Park form the unique components for successfully organising large meetings, product presentations or multi-day congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.