We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star experience in Leiden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A five star experience in Leiden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn has opened its first facility in the Netherlands - the bar has been set very high by a wonderful team of young professionals - everyone working to make an incredible experience for the leisure (also business) traveler!!! thank you to so many - front desk, restaurant, housekeeping -everyone!!!! Joe and Carol

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Joe & Carol,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden. It was a true pleasure to read.
I will make sure to share your comments with all departments.

It was great to have staying with us and we all look forward to your next European trip.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    132
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
78
137
8
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great hotel with all the expected 4-star amenities. Modern, clean and comfortable, but possibly in one of the worst locations possible..next to a highway yet difficult to reach it with minimal public transport facilities, and at the edge of Leiden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Subhadeep G,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you are pleased with hotel.
The hotel is only one year in operation and we are working thoroughly with the local authorities to improve the transportation to and from the hotel, however, we do offer our guests a free secured parking facility and have bicycles for rent at the Front Desk. The nearest bus stop is approximately 5 minutes away from the hotel. Nevertheless, I am very pleased to inform you that our negations with the authorities have resulted in a new bus connection to Leiden central station as of December with a bus stop right next to the hotel.

Thank you again for your comment and hopefully we can welcome you back again one day to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A very new clean hotel in an excellent location. Very good facilities, polite and helpful reception and restaurant staff. There is an excellent shuttle service to Leiden city centre. The hotel is also well served by public transport. The car parks in the hotel are well designed and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Vijay,

Thank you very much for your great review it was a true pleasure to read.
We hope to welcome you back one day and wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Absolutely brilliant Hotel. In walking distance of Leiden where you can get a train to Ansterdam, etc. Very friendly and lovely staff. The rooms are spacious and clean. Huge selection at breakfast and lovey dinners. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would stay again. The free secure parking was an advantage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear coccobiggestfan 90210,

Thank for your great review. I will make sure to share this with everybody here, especially the kitchen crew will really appreciate your comments.

We all look forward to welcome you back one day and I wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We wanted an economy hotel near Delft, this Hilton Garden Inn completely met our needs. Although close to a freeway (Autobahn) exit, the winding residential streets made locating without GPS a bit difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lowell B,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisdor. I am very pleased to read that you had a great time with us.
As we only opened a year ago, unfortunately, not all GPS systems have the correct directions uploaded yet, however, they are working on it. I apologize for the inconvenience. Just in case for future reference, on our web site we have an alternative address mentioned which is just round the corner and will be found by all GPS systems. Alternatively, if you enter next door’s museum CORPUS, no doubt that any system will direct you correctly to our hotel.

Thank you again for and we wish you safe future travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are a young couple. we are very satisfied with the hotel choice. Extremely friendly staff. Clean and classy. Complete gym, a modern and free. Free underground parking. Excellent WiFi. Possibility to rent bicycles. Ability to use the washing machine (€ 5) and dryer (€ 2.5). Free internet lounge. Do not be afraid to ask the staff for all your needs! The town of Leiden is charming. We were sorry to leave. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Fabio6681,

Thank you very much for your great review you shared with fellow travellers. A lot of the important hotel features you have mentioned.
We all will be waiting for you on your next trip to Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a little concerned about the location, however, a short transit from Leiden Central (train station) to the nearest bus stop left about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. It was the first stop on the bus route to Lisse. We quickly got into the mode of walking to the central station, about 20-30 minute, but then again, we enjoy walking.

There are not any places to eat in the near vicinity, so we often purchased groceries in town (fruit, yogurt, wine, snacks, etc). We enjoyed the grocery shopping experience and were introduced to South African wines.

The room did come with a small refrigerator. The hotel does have a fine restaurant and a variety of menu selections, but was a little pricey for our budget. There is also a small, well stocked, 'take and go' pantry with many items. It included beer, wine, and, and microwave.

The room was spacious and clean. It came with a safe and free wireless. It was very comfortable. Housekeeping was very efficient, did an excellent job, and, was attentive to our requests. Coffee in the room consisted of instant coffee in small packets (as did the cream & sugar).

The service at the front desk was OUTSTANDING and very friendly! We arrived early in the a.m., well before check-in time, after a long flight. They accommodated us by giving us a room immediately. Very gracious,given the same situation at other 'major chain' hotels who refused to do so. The front desk was very helpful in answering all of the questions that tourists tend to ask. They were always very professional, provided change, and, were up-to date on bus schedules.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would very definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We transferred from a room on the front side, which faced the highway. Our room on the opposite did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DennisM579,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor it was a true pleasure to read.
I am very glad you had a great time with us and I will make sure to pass on your very kind remarks to our Front Desk -, and housekeeping staff. They will appreciate this very much.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back again one day at the HGI Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is ideally located near the A44 highway, which connects the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (AMS) region to the city of Leiden and The Hague. Conveniently situated next to the Corpus Congress Center and Museum. This brand new hotel(August 2012)is nearby the Bio Science Park Leiden and Leiden City Center. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology and conveniences make the most of your stay. Relax with homelike surroundings including refrigerator, coffee maker and complimentary high-speed internet access.Indulge in a delicious meal at The Restaurant, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick and snack from the hotel’s great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. Stay active with an energetic workout in the fitness center. The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden also offers a variety of flexible meeting space, for up to 80 guests, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.