We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impecable Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Oak City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Impecable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a little concerned about the location, however, a short transit from Leiden Central (train station) to the nearest bus stop left about a 5 minute walk to the hotel. It was the first stop on the bus route to Lisse. We quickly got into the mode of walking to the central station, about 20-30 minute, but then again, we enjoy walking.

There are not any places to eat in the near vicinity, so we often purchased groceries in town (fruit, yogurt, wine, snacks, etc). We enjoyed the grocery shopping experience and were introduced to South African wines.

The room did come with a small refrigerator. The hotel does have a fine restaurant and a variety of menu selections, but was a little pricey for our budget. There is also a small, well stocked, 'take and go' pantry with many items. It included beer, wine, and, and microwave.

The room was spacious and clean. It came with a safe and free wireless. It was very comfortable. Housekeeping was very efficient, did an excellent job, and, was attentive to our requests. Coffee in the room consisted of instant coffee in small packets (as did the cream & sugar).

The service at the front desk was OUTSTANDING and very friendly! We arrived early in the a.m., well before check-in time, after a long flight. They accommodated us by giving us a room immediately. Very gracious,given the same situation at other 'major chain' hotels who refused to do so. The front desk was very helpful in answering all of the questions that tourists tend to ask. They were always very professional, provided change, and, were up-to date on bus schedules.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would very definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We transferred from a room on the front side, which faced the highway. Our room on the opposite did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear DennisM579,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor it was a true pleasure to read.
I am very glad you had a great time with us and I will make sure to pass on your very kind remarks to our Front Desk -, and housekeeping staff. They will appreciate this very much.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back again one day at the HGI Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    126
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
133
8
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very clean and comfortable hotel. We requested a room on the side facing away from the motorway so it was quiet. Breakfast included. Good value for money. Staff were friendly. Having parking under the hotel was convenient and secure. We used their bike hire for a day out to the beach at Katwijk aan Zee and an evening in Leiden.
While the name of the hotel is prominent when viewed from the A44 motorway (the Trip Advisor entry thumbnail photo) when you are approaching the hotel on the very small access road on the other side there is no hotel name evident till you are very close to it and you see the name on the end of the building. Could do with a name board more visible from the access road.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room as for a room on the other side from the motorway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mervyn C,

Thank you for your great review. You made the right choice to hire a bike and cycle through the area, especially with this great weather and sea being so close.

I thank you for comment regarding the name board. Fortunately, after over a year negotiating with the local authorities, we received our permit and we will place a board next to the high way.

We all look forward to welcome you back again one day at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Your Sincerely,
Sjoed Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This Hotel is very clean, comfortable and secure. A bit out of town location but we had our car and wasn't a problem. Free secure parking is advantage. If the hotel has a swimming pool you can class it 5 star hotel. The room price was included breakfast and overall it was good value. All hotel staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciska G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Abdullah S,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your recommendation to fellow travellers and your suggestion to rate our hotel 5 stars if we had a swimming pool. That's a great compliment for the entire team.

Thank you again and I wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Ciska Goeijenbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safranbolu, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was the smallest Hilton I've ever seen. From outside it looks like an official building rather than a luxury hotel. The location is so propriate for both Leiden and Amsterdam. It takes 20-30 mins to Schiphol airport to hotel. Its also located on the motorway, which makes some noise.
During the stay I have not seen a garden or some natural facilities but an art gallery on the neighborhood.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. Free wi-fi during stay. Staff were nice to visitors. But there was not a mini bar in the room, you should use the buffets in the reception desk for the needs.
Briefly, its a hotel for staying, not for a holiday. The location of the hotel is the best thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Alioglan,

Thank you for review.
The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is the very first Hilton Garden Inn in the Netherlands. Hilton Garden Inn is one of the labels from Hilton World Wide of which of course the most well known one is Hilton. In Holland we have Hilton hotels in Rotterdam, The Hague, Soestduinen, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam. Since one year we have added a Hilton Garden Inn to this portfolio. One of the features from a Hilton Garden Inn is an empty mini fridge in each room rather than a full mini bar. Through this way we give our guests the opportunity to place their own items in the fridge if they wish to do so. These items can be purchased down stairs in our Pavilion Pantry or any other place.

Thank you very much for your compliments about our staff and pointing out the advantages of our location.

We all hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to our area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first experience of a Garden Inn Hilton - I left very favourably impressed.

It is so new that it is not properly in most SatNav data bases, which can be a problem. If you are driving you really need to exit A44 at junction 8. If you overshoot leave at the McDonalds exit and look back - you will easily see your way back to the hotel. It is set next to the Corpus museum in an area of science park and student accomodation. The hotel overlooks the former Valkenburg air base. I am not used to driving in the Netherlands and I did find all the surrounding roads to be very busy day and night.

Fortunately, the hotel is a tranquil oasis once you have arrived. Parking is free - a pleasant surprise AND free strong wi-fi. Now that really does make a pleasant change.

The public areas have a Scandinavian minimalist feel to them. A small bar area has local beers, which are very good and a range of snacks. The restaurant is quite informal with lots of brightly coloured cosy corner seating arrangements. I did find that the menu was a bit limited and felt the need to venture out after a couple of evenings.

My room was on a high floor overlooking the A44 motorway. No noise penetrated and the air conditioning was effective. The bed was comfortable and linens and furnishings good quality - if a little brightly coloured ! The bright orange corridor carpet must be seen to be believed.I also found the room size to be quite generous. A top quality flat screen TV is provided with a good mix of Northern European channels.

The only minor grumble I would have is noise and vibration from the fitness centre machinery is evident around the upper floors of the property. Perhaps a little more thought should have gone into the positioning of this facility.

Otherwise, all said, a new and very good experience which I would happily try again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tromsopete,

Thank you very much for your great and extensive review here on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your comments and a fair point that not all navigation systems are up dated yet. Only the latest updates have the correct hotel details. Thank you for pointing out to fellow travellers to just follow the sign CORPUS in order to reach the hotel easily.

I am sorry about the vibration of the fitness centre machinery, meanwhile we have located the cause and added some additional insulation in order to solve this problem, thank you for pointing this out to us.

Again, I appreciate your review very much and wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely, newly-built hotel just on the outskirts of Leiden. This was the first time I'd visited the city for pleasure, having travelled there on a number of occasions for business. Therefore I knew the hotel location was walkable from the city centre. It had actually been snowing quite a lot at that time, and I can say that the walk was still fine even in low temperatures and a bit of the white stuff!

The room was clean and spacious, modern furnishings and very comfortable indeed. There were no issues with noise, even with the hotel being next to quite a busy road.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We ate lunch there on one of the days. It was a bit pricey, but good quality, and it saved us a longish walk to find another place to eat.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Leiden - and for business travellers visiting the university or any of the scientific companies in the nearby science park and incubators, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook houses and countryside rather than the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciska G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear CGW1981,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. It was with great pleasure that I read your nice comments about the hotel and our team members.

The Leiden city centre is on a 2,5 kilometre distance, which is indeed still on walking distance from our hotel. If you don't like to go by foot, we also have bikes for rent. The city centre has also a lot to offer when travelling for pleasure. There are several kinds of museums to visit, you can do a canal tour, there are different kind of shops from national brands to small boutiques and all kind of restaurants.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ciska Goeijenbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Newly built hotel with all facilities one would expect when on a business or leisure trip. The hotel is situated next to the Amsterdam - The Hague motorway, but even the rooms facing the motorway are super-quiet. The building is spacious, though the entrance to the parking is somewhat funny. Breakfast is a joy, internet access (wifi) that simply works anywhere in the hotel, the staff really helpful - overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear P.H.L.

Thank you sharing you experiences at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden with fellow travellers.
I appreciate your review very much and I will make sure to pass your compliments on to the entire staff.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is ideally located near the A44 highway, which connects the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (AMS) region to the city of Leiden and The Hague. Conveniently situated next to the Corpus Congress Center and Museum. This brand new hotel(August 2012)is nearby the Bio Science Park Leiden and Leiden City Center. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology and conveniences make the most of your stay. Relax with homelike surroundings including refrigerator, coffee maker and complimentary high-speed internet access.Indulge in a delicious meal at The Restaurant, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick and snack from the hotel’s great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. Stay active with an energetic workout in the fitness center. The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden also offers a variety of flexible meeting space, for up to 80 guests, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelsNL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.