We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once found .. very good !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Once found .. very good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first experience of a Garden Inn Hilton - I left very favourably impressed.

It is so new that it is not properly in most SatNav data bases, which can be a problem. If you are driving you really need to exit A44 at junction 8. If you overshoot leave at the McDonalds exit and look back - you will easily see your way back to the hotel. It is set next to the Corpus museum in an area of science park and student accomodation. The hotel overlooks the former Valkenburg air base. I am not used to driving in the Netherlands and I did find all the surrounding roads to be very busy day and night.

Fortunately, the hotel is a tranquil oasis once you have arrived. Parking is free - a pleasant surprise AND free strong wi-fi. Now that really does make a pleasant change.

The public areas have a Scandinavian minimalist feel to them. A small bar area has local beers, which are very good and a range of snacks. The restaurant is quite informal with lots of brightly coloured cosy corner seating arrangements. I did find that the menu was a bit limited and felt the need to venture out after a couple of evenings.

My room was on a high floor overlooking the A44 motorway. No noise penetrated and the air conditioning was effective. The bed was comfortable and linens and furnishings good quality - if a little brightly coloured ! The bright orange corridor carpet must be seen to be believed.I also found the room size to be quite generous. A top quality flat screen TV is provided with a good mix of Northern European channels.

The only minor grumble I would have is noise and vibration from the fitness centre machinery is evident around the upper floors of the property. Perhaps a little more thought should have gone into the positioning of this facility.

Otherwise, all said, a new and very good experience which I would happily try again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tromsopete,

Thank you very much for your great and extensive review here on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your comments and a fair point that not all navigation systems are up dated yet. Only the latest updates have the correct hotel details. Thank you for pointing out to fellow travellers to just follow the sign CORPUS in order to reach the hotel easily.

I am sorry about the vibration of the fitness centre machinery, meanwhile we have located the cause and added some additional insulation in order to solve this problem, thank you for pointing this out to us.

Again, I appreciate your review very much and wish you safe travels.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    183
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
181
7
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely, newly-built hotel just on the outskirts of Leiden. This was the first time I'd visited the city for pleasure, having travelled there on a number of occasions for business. Therefore I knew the hotel location was walkable from the city centre. It had actually been snowing quite a lot at that time, and I can say that the walk was still fine even in low temperatures and a bit of the white stuff!

The room was clean and spacious, modern furnishings and very comfortable indeed. There were no issues with noise, even with the hotel being next to quite a busy road.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We ate lunch there on one of the days. It was a bit pricey, but good quality, and it saved us a longish walk to find another place to eat.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Leiden - and for business travellers visiting the university or any of the scientific companies in the nearby science park and incubators, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook houses and countryside rather than the busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciska G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear CGW1981,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. It was with great pleasure that I read your nice comments about the hotel and our team members.

The Leiden city centre is on a 2,5 kilometre distance, which is indeed still on walking distance from our hotel. If you don't like to go by foot, we also have bikes for rent. The city centre has also a lot to offer when travelling for pleasure. There are several kinds of museums to visit, you can do a canal tour, there are different kind of shops from national brands to small boutiques and all kind of restaurants.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Ciska Goeijenbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Newly built hotel with all facilities one would expect when on a business or leisure trip. The hotel is situated next to the Amsterdam - The Hague motorway, but even the rooms facing the motorway are super-quiet. The building is spacious, though the entrance to the parking is somewhat funny. Breakfast is a joy, internet access (wifi) that simply works anywhere in the hotel, the staff really helpful - overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear P.H.L.

Thank you sharing you experiences at the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden with fellow travellers.
I appreciate your review very much and I will make sure to pass your compliments on to the entire staff.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back again.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks ago as a couple. And it was all nice stay. Rooms are comfortable and big enough. Only one thing that I dont understand, why hotel does not have the special garden sleep system? But anyway, breakfast was very good with a lot of choices. Mr. Suleyman at the breakfast area was so helpful. And all the other people were so nice to us and always smiling. We also ate dinner at the restaurant & it was quite delicious. Around the hotel there is a park to walk and a small town to see. Parking and internet were free and it was a big plus.! Overall it was a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Brcozlm,

Thank you very much for your review. It is very rare that team members are specially mentioned by name and I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Mr Suleyman.

Indeed, the HGI brand has two options for bedding, The HGI Garden Sleep system which is very common in especially North America or the Hilton Serta beds, where we have chosen for.

Thank you again for your great comments and we all hope to welcome you back again one day to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall nice environment. Clean comfy rooms and public areas. Buffet breakfast has variety of choices and good quality. Friendly staff. Short walk to business and university facilities. Great for business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciska G, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor member,

Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel when travel brings you back to Leiden.

Yours sincerely,
Ciska Goeijenbier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed for almost two weeks here . Ideally located within 30 minutes from both The Hague and Amsterdam and easy to go to Utrecht through Leiden . Very quiet area , although next to the highway Very pleasant . Easy parking . Large room and bathroom , excellent free Internet .
Pleasant friendly staff , at the reception , restaurant and housekeeping .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ronpentagon,

Thank you for your second great review about the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden. It is good to see you have come back again to our hotel.
I make sure to pass on your comments to all the departments and hopefully we can welcome you again next year.

Best regards,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel and professional staff , nothing wrong everything was PERFECT ...the price , the workers every body very very gentle and professional , the building and the quality of the service ,we'll be back for sure at the same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SjoerdSybesma, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Fabrizio,

Thank you for your great review it was really a true pleasure to read.
I will make sure to pass on your comments to all my colleagues.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome back to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, 2342 Oegstgeest, Leiden, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Leiden > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is an award-winning, modern hotel in Leiden, which is home to one of Europe's oldest universities. Our hotel, located in the picturesque birthplace of Rembrandt, is just ten minutes from Leiden town centre and close to Katwijk and Noordwijk beaches. Relax in a spacious guest room with signature Hilton Garden Inn amenities, including adjustable beds and complimentary WiFi. This Leiden hotel features a ground floor bar and restaurant which is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pick up snacks and drinks from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry(R). Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, located on Leiden's Bio Science Park, offers naturally lit, flexible meeting and event space. The hotel has a private dining suite and five modern meeting rooms for up to 112 persons. Each room has complimentary WiFi access. Free parking and A/V equipment are included as standard. The adjacent CORPUS Congress Centre and Bio Science Park form the unique components for successfully organising large meetings, product presentations or multi-day congresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.