We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern but lacks personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Leiden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, Oegstgeest 2342, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oegstgeest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Clean, modern but lacks personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business and will do again. The hotel is very modern and clean (if a bit too clinical) but I guess this will change in time. The rooms are of a fair size with comfy bed and nice size TV. The wireless worked well and the in-room fridge is useful (you can stock it up by buying things from a small 'store' near reception.) The bathroom having no bath is a negative but the shower was powerful but may have expected a rain shower in such a modern hotel. The food in the restaurant is ok, service can be slow and portions are not usual Hilton size, though cost is not too bad. The reception area is very large and open plan with a bar area, but this is what I think lets the design down, the bar just has no real atmosphere and service can be a bit slow. The fire though is a nice touch. It is walkable to Leiden - approx 30 mins but when the wind is biting maybe better to take a taxi ! Breakfast is sufficient though I have had better (the breakfast buffet at the Holiday Inn nearby is far superior) - but the staff were polite, as were all the staff I spoke to and all the breakfast essentials are available. In summary, would definitely stay at the hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear CKBM,

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor and above all, thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. It shows to me we are on the right track when aiming for the high level of service, even though we only opened our doors 4 months ago. Nevertheless, I will discuss your recommendations with the department heads involved in order to optimize our service levels and continuously increasing quality.

Please inform us on your next stay with us as the hotel features a large number of rooms that have baths instead of showers and even some rooms have both, a rain shower and bathtub. If one of these rooms are available on your next stay, we will surely allocate one of these rooms to you.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back again in our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    80
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
87
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is brand new. Opened during summer 2012. Very modern, clean, etc. But a bit cheapy and without any personality. A sort of premium Ibis... Location is interesting because just out of the motorway (but too close to it) and close to Leiden (but you cannot reach any location by walking). I consider too expensive for the overall offer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Lugiord,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Indeed the hotel only opened her doors three months ago.
I am very pleased to see that you have scored our Rooms and Cleanliness with excellent scores and Sleep quality with a very good score.

In general the comments we receive about the appearance of our hotel, especially the lobby with the fire place and colorful furniture are very good. Of course I appreciate that this is a matter of personal taste.

Indeed the location is ideal in between Schiphol Airport and the Hague. To get to Leiden or even to the beaches from Katwijk & Noordwijk, the hotel offers bicycles which are available at the Front Desk for a small charge.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Leiden.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the HGI, Leiden after arrival at Schihpol airport on our recent trip to Europe (southern France). There were museums in Amsterdam that we intended to visit at the outset, but the hotel prices in town were unreasonably high.
We had never been to Leiden. It lies about the same distance from Schiphol airport as does downtown Amsterdam.
HGI Leiden is a new hotel and was a welcome site to weary travelers arriving from the US.
The layout and the decor are not identical to the familiar the HGIs in North America, they are just a bit better. The food in the restaurant is not identical to that found in the familiar HGIs, it is a whole lot better.
We found the staff to be eager to help us in any way and we found the rooms to be large, comfortable and completely noise free.
We booked a room for our return trip, just to have a nice place to rest-up for the trip home. That stay happened to coincide with the 'Grand Opening'. We were invited to the festivities and even listened to speeches given in Dutch. Didn't understand a word!
Yes, it is a bit more effort to get there. Yes, it takes 20min from the airport. Yes, you have to take a taxi from the train station. But, save a buck. Enjoy a nice room. Let the HGI staff take care of you. You will be in better shape to start or end your tour of Holland or anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear 1eyeopen,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to read that after your first stay, you decided to return on your way back.

I have shared your compliments about the restaurant and the quality of the dishes with our executive chef and his team.

It is nice to see that you participated in the grand opening festivities. Even though the speeches were difficult to understand for you, I hope at least you enjoyed the music and some of our drinks & bites.

Thank you again for your stays with us and we all hope to welcome you back again here in Leiden when your travels take you to The Netherlands again.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is an immaculate new hotel in Leiden, right next to a major highway (A44). Its location is fantastic for Leiden business at the University of Leiden or the Bio Science Park. It's a half-hour walk to central Leiden--the touristy part with narrow streets, quaint restaurants, etc. And it's about the same distance to the central train station. Regardless of location, the hotel is very nice. The staff are attentive and courteous, the guest rooms are nicely sized and well appointed. There is a lobby bar and seating area, as well as a restaurant. There is wi-fi throughout the hotel. The only criticism is the restaurant (and room service) menu; it has a very limited dinner selection, and without a drive or long-ish walk, it's the only choice. Otherwise, this is a great hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: The west-facing rooms are quieter; they face away from the A44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Doud_Ftc,

Thank you for your great review. The hotel only opened three months ago and reading your comment is a great motivation for the entire team.

Indeed, for business travelers we have great facilities and are situated on a good location, however, for the leisure traveler, the beach is only 8 km away from the hotel and easily to reach with our hotel bicycles.

We all are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Brand new, with great staff keen to help. Free Wi-fi and parking. The nearby town of Leiden was lovely and the hotel is very close to the Hague which is wonderful and worth a visit. The staff at breakfast were brilliant and very attentive. Nothing was too much hassle here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Tyrella,

Thank you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor. The free internet and parking we offer to our guests are very much appreciated. We hear this more often and we will continue to offer this free of charge.

It is always great and highly appreciated to hear from our guests, after they have visited the hotel, that the staff is doing whatever is necessary to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the entire team.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back to our hotel whenever your travels bring you back to our area.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

HGI has arrived in the Netherlands.
Large, modern design, brand new hotel. 3 month old now. Lobby has a bit lack of atmosphere. So has the bar and dining/breakfast room due to the large space and high ceilings. Employees are very helpful and friendly. Bar stayed open after closing time just for us 2.
Check in was quick and swift. Rooms up to HGI standard. Walk in shower in a not to large bathroom. Comfy king bed! Dont expect a view from the window, you see either the highway or a asylum seekers center.
LCD screen TV with lots of channels and pay movies.
Fridge for personal use.
Breakfast gives you cooked to order eggs, pancakes, HGI waffles! and all kinds of breads etc.
Coffee comes from the container. My only downside :(
Book the breakfast inclusive otherwise you pay €19 pp
Park you car in the underground garage for free. I hope it stays free.
Find your way to the hotel can be difficult. No signs yet. The surrounding is still under construction.
Follow the signs to "Corpus". This is the exhibitioncenter next to the hotel.
There is no shopping or eating near the hotel. However there is a McDonalds not so far from the hotel but im not sure if you can go there on foot. You must cross some busy roads.
Overall this hotel is now my favorite for the Leiden surrounding. Holiday inn nearby is more for familys with screaming children!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Diemel,

Thank you for your great review and thank you for choosing the HGI Leiden as your favorite hotel for the Leiden surrounding. We will continue to offer the great hospitality and service that you can expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. Even though we are the first HGI in the Benelux, you clearly seem to know what our brand is about and what makes us special.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Good hotel. A 10-minute drive from Leiden. Near the hotel is a very interesting museum Corpus - the museum in the form of a human figure. You can travel around the human body inside!. You can sign up for a tour at the museum site.
The hotel is new, recently built. A very nice modern room. Large modern television. Bathroom with good makeup, hair dryer. No mini-bar, a refrigerator only.
The breakfasts are very good, cooked to order omelets and waffles.
The hotel is located next to the freeway, to the center of Leiden can be reached in 10 minutes. Leiden - a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjoerd S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear vesnyshka,

Thank you for your review shared with fellow travelers.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoy our hotel, our special and famous Hilton Garden Inn Waffle and the CORPUS museum right next door. The "trip through the human body" they offer is very unique and exciting.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Sjoerd Sybesma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Leiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Leiden

Address: Willem Einthovenstraat 3 | Leiden, Oegstgeest 2342, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Oegstgeest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oegstgeest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Leiden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden is ideally located near the A44 highway, which connects the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (AMS) region to the city of Leiden and The Hague. Conveniently situated next to the Corpus Congress Center and Museum. This brand new hotel(August 2012)is nearby the Bio Science Park Leiden and Leiden City Center. Unwind in a spacious guest room and enjoy the latest technology and conveniences make the most of your stay. Relax with homelike surroundings including refrigerator, coffee maker and complimentary high-speed internet access.Indulge in a delicious meal at The Restaurant, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. For the convenience of dining within your room, grab a quick and snack from the hotel’s great value, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry or order a meal from room service. Stay active with an energetic workout in the fitness center. The Hilton Garden Inn Leiden also offers a variety of flexible meeting space, for up to 80 guests, ideal for meetings, seminars and presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Leiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Leiden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.