We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not convincing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jagershuis

Jagershuis
Amstelzijde 2-4, 1184VA Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
020-4962020
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not convincing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We got invited by friends who had bought a groupon voucher.
Turned out that we were getting a 7 course surprise menu. Before starting we were asked for items we did not like, and the input was taken into account.
Would be too much to describe all dishes, and actually non of them really stood out such that it deserves to be mentioned in detail.

What needs to be mentioned that even for a 7 course meal the portions were very small ( due to the groupon?) except for the dessert, 4 lemon flavored items, which was way to big.
Quite an extensive wine menu, good blend of french and new countries wines.
The place was nearly empty, on a Saturday evening only 3 tables were occupied, and the service was friendly but a bit uninterested.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot near the Amstel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a nice meal in het Jagershuis but not as special as I expected it would be. Setting is nice along the Amstel, I presume that in summer it will be great on the terrace. Service is ok but not outstanding. The wines are nice but overpriced. The choice of dishes was very limited, but when you’re not to picky, that’s not really a problem. And yes you can get a nice vegetarian meal. Regarding the whole setting I would hesitate to recommend this place however it is a very nice spot along the Amstel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a decent meal in het Jagershuis but not anything of a wow, that's good. Setting is nice along the Amstel. Service is ok but not that friendly. They have nice wines (but are very expensive) We had a 6 course menu which was not at the same level as some of the neighbouring restaurants. Must admit that I've been before to this restaurant when the standard was higher than this time. Maybe just unlucky.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Versatile - romantic date or business lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I love the location of this restaurant in the stunning village of Ouderkerk. Parking nearby and free BUT limited spaces, so arrive early. Indoor seating is pleasant, outdoor in summer is spectacular by the water. Food was for the most part reasonably flavoursome, although not really stretching the taste buds, just very safe cooking. The bill was high but we'd ordered a lot of drinks. Service was fine but not remarkable. Certainly, for a business lunch it's a good choice, for a romantic date sit outside on a hot summer's day and he/she can't fail to be impressed by your choice as the location is what makes this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“High quality food in a quiet atmosphere & semi-formal environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been here many times. It's consistently one of the restaurants that we pick during "restaurant week" each year in the Netherlands due to the high quality food and professional service. It's nicest around lunch time for a Saturday or Sunday brunch (a bit less formal than the evenings), and you should definitely ask for their wine recommendations as they have a wide selection. All in all, a great little place in a very quaint little town. A perfect day at this restaurant would involve a long bike ride from Amsterdam to go out to Oudekerk. It's a beautiful cycle along the river, and a very relaxing way to spend an afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jagershuis also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Jagershuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jagershuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.