We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely terrace for sweet summer evenings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Groot Paardenburg

Groot Paardenburg
Amstelzijde 55, 1184 TZ Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
020-4961210
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace for sweet summer evenings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The terrace of this restaurant is located directly at the small river Amstel in the very picturesque village of Ouderkerk, close to Amsterdam. The staff is extremely friendly. The core staff is professional, but the ones hired for busy evenings not: we noticed that several dishes first went to wrong tables. The food is OK, nothing special, but you are here for the views! Reserving for the terrace is highly recommended on sunny days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    11
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice restaurant located in a nice place. Food is OK, but nothing special. Service a bit slow.
I have been for dinner and was dark due to winter, but I expect to repeat the experience to valuate the surroundings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice enough, no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was treated to a meal by a friend who is now a bit of a local. He was very excited to bring me to the town of Ouderkerk. However, forgot that the nights were drawing in so I did not get to see much of the town itself, although what I saw was pretty enough.
My friend has eaten here a couple of times with family and always had a good meal.
We did not have bags of time so opted for mains only. We were greeted and seated promptly with a friendly smiling waitress who was efficient, smartly presented and possessed none of the churlish Dutch service that I had found elsewhere over the weekend.
We were told the specials and offered a glass of bubbly as the menu had just changed. The menu offered enough choice though was not outstanding in anyway. A variety of pastas, pizzas and mains such as chicken / steak with salad and frites.
We both opted to for steak and I have to say it was very tasty. Cooked exactly to order and flavoursome. However, I do feel that the cut of meat could have been a bit larger for e19 and perhaps a few more frites and salad. I did find that I was hungry again a few hours later. That said, we had an early dinner (around sixish).
The meal was cooked and delivered quickly and the staff were available. As I said though, we were there early on a Sunday evening, so I cannot comment on what it is like later in the evening or on a Friday/Saturday night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“nice location, mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

on a summer's day, an attractive proposition... food mediocre and overpriced, but then we're in 'rich folks' territory'..... :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We went for a dinner at the Groot Paardenburg with our family, we thought that the food was excellent, although the A la carete was fairly limited. Service was very slow but waiter apologized as they were shortstaffed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Groot Paardenburg also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Groot Paardenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Groot Paardenburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.