We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White44” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Smidse

De Oude Smidse
Achterdijk 2-4, 1191 JK Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
020-4961262
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“White44”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

A lovely restaurant, lovely welcoming staff, knew I spoke English and out came the English menu and they didn't hesitate to talk English. The setting in the restaurant was beautiful real old Dutch. The food was excellent, made my last meal in holland most enjoyable. Would recommend this restaurant. Also looking over the canal, and watch the canal boats go by, so beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food, beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I had dinner with some business associates here this week. It was a gorgeous evening and we sat right by the water watching little boats go by, what a treat. Everyone loved their food, the seafood appetizer with a taste of king prawn, small Dutch shrimp, crab meat etc was great. Several of us had the sea wolf (even though we were not familiar with that fish), I can highly recommend it. They brought us various small plates of salad, something that tasted like marinated watermelon and fries. We all left the restaurant happy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came in for a birthday party, the place is very nice and warm, lovely view, the food was unbelievable! gourmet dishes with a twist and smiley service. we loved it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dutch delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I visit this restaurant probably once a month and always take my international business associates to this place. The food is nice and the wines are great. Staff is friendly and polite and all of them have a long history working for this restaurant. It used to be blacksmith and you can still see some signs of that.
The menu changes frequently and so do the wines. In summer time you can sit outside and enjoy the boats passing by.
My favorite dessert must be the apple pie which is baked by the bakery from just across the street. Give it a try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gourmet Restaurant with a delightful ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

As other reviewers have pointed out, the restaurant is beautifully located on the Amstel and has a lovely terrace when the weather is accommodating. Parking is available in the square and if you are a little early, i'd recommend a short walk through the Ouderkerk old village high street. The menu is very contemporary, but does evoke traditional flavors. Great service, very polite and helpful staff and a very good wine selection, even by the glass. A wonderful place if you want to take people out for a nice meal without having to go all the way to the center of Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Oude Smidse also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to De Oude Smidse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Smidse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.