We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Culinary Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Jaimie van Heije

Restaurant Jaimie van Heije
Kerkstraat 56, 1191 JE Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands (Formerly Ron Blaauw)
+31 20 496 5848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Culinary Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

While an evening out in OuderKerk we decided to give this restaurant a try. We were not disappointed.
I had not looked at reviews here on TA prior to arriving so had no idea what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with the evening. Enough so to say we would go back. I see on here that some people talk about the size of the dishes here...while perhaps small the amount of effort and the suprising tastes in every bite make it a culinary feast and great wines to match. It was slow the night we were there, but let us say World Cup, Tuesday Night and summer nights can do that to restaurants. Service top and the food even better. The advantage of these slower nights is you get a chance to meet the team running the place and even chatted a while with Jaimie chef/owner afterwards.
I think the best thing to say about this place is that there is a passion in the air here to delivery a quality product! If you are in the area, or even visiting Amsterdam it is worth the trip out for this Culinary Treat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quality over Ouantity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We liked the friendly and ambitious staff who greeted and served us in this established restaurant which was previously owned by a Michelin star chef and taken over by his sous-chef. We enjoyed the fine quality of the three course set menu as well as its presentation but were somewhat disappointed by the portions and the location of our table. Their regular menu appears too limited to warrant an encore.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Top notch restaurant 20 min outside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Perfect place to have a nice long (summer) lunch or perfect dinner! Jaimie van Heije is a protégé of an impressive number of Michelin star chefs that started his own place a short while ago. The food is superb of quality / taste with some 'funny' detailsnow and then.
When staying in Amsterdam, DO take the time to travel to Ouderkerk aan de Amstel and try Jaimie's restaurant. Especially as the combinatoir of the two (the food and the beautiful and very old city of Ouderkerk) make such a great way to spend some time away from the crowds!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Playful Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Amidst the clean lines, there were pieces that gave the place a playful ambiance. And they were equally playful in their cooking. The unexpected combination of flavors, that worked really well, was the highlight of our dining experience. The staff were friendly. While settling the bill, the waiter allowed me to practice my Dutch with him. Though the location is outside central Amsterdam, the trip to Jamie van Heije in Ouderkerk aan de Amstel was so worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch and Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of four of us (one Dutch, two British, one American) went for lunch at this restaurant, and had an absolutely wonderful lunch. We were totally enthralled by the quality, taste, and variety of the menu. We all had different food, from vegetarian to fish and red meat, and were not disappointed in the least. It was all wonderful. I can not exaggerate how impressed we all were with the food, and service. We are going back tonight, again! That should say something about the impression it made!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jaimie van Heije also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Restaurant Jaimie van Heije? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Jaimie van Heije, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.