We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playful Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Jaimie van Heije

Restaurant Jaimie van Heije
Kerkstraat 56, 1191 JE Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands (Formerly Ron Blaauw)
+31 20 496 5848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Playful Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Amidst the clean lines, there were pieces that gave the place a playful ambiance. And they were equally playful in their cooking. The unexpected combination of flavors, that worked really well, was the highlight of our dining experience. The staff were friendly. While settling the bill, the waiter allowed me to practice my Dutch with him. Though the location is outside central Amsterdam, the trip to Jamie van Heije in Ouderkerk aan de Amstel was so worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch and Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of four of us (one Dutch, two British, one American) went for lunch at this restaurant, and had an absolutely wonderful lunch. We were totally enthralled by the quality, taste, and variety of the menu. We all had different food, from vegetarian to fish and red meat, and were not disappointed in the least. It was all wonderful. I can not exaggerate how impressed we all were with the food, and service. We are going back tonight, again! That should say something about the impression it made!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good but portions are small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very good fresh fish prepared just right. Some menu items were not available (lobster bisque). Portions were small, even by European standards - thankfully they have great bread, otherwise I would have left hungry after a starter and main course. High quality food, but very expensive for what you get. Service was friendly and excellent. Staff seemed keen to get us out of there by 10:00pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“not bad but not as good as the reputation of the chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

As the owner is a well known figure in Dutch Culiland this restaurant should reflect his quality. We thought it does not have that quality. Be assured, it certainly is not bad and serves good fish, has a great young staff and friendly prices for drinks. Also the time spent there was nice, courses follow with a nice interval, not too long a wait between them. But the quality of the four courses we had was not overall evenly high. Starter was good, Bouillabaisse needed the cheese to gain some taste and was more of a tomato soup. Fish was good again but served with french fries? Dessert was also not the best part. Overall an experience that was not really disappointing but also is not convincing us to come back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cosy and nicely designed fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a dinner here with clients and I was pleasantly surprised by both overall ambiance and quality of food. The serve nice small tapas kind of fish dishes and tasteful starters and main courses. The staff was helpful and well trained. Overall a good quality fish restaurant and we will for sure visit them again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Jaimie van Heije also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
 
Amstelveen, North Holland Province
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Restaurant Jaimie van Heije? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Jaimie van Heije, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.