We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loetje aan de Amstel

Loetje aan de Amstel
Amstelzijde 35-37, Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen, The Netherlands
0031204721090
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Appleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great steak and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Was over for a very brief work visit to Amsterdam and got taken here by a couple of colleagues... one of the very best steaks I've had for a long time. I had the Bali Steak given I enjoy my spice, and the gravy was perfect, spicy yet did not detract from the flavour of the steak.

The service was friendly, and the atmosphere was vibrant and very busy very early on.

Value for money was good, not overly priced given the quality of the meat, and the beer selection also very good...

Won't be my only visit this year to Amsterdam, and you know what, think I might come back here again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    70
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wow I had a Bali steak (hot and spicy) on the advice of a friend. Awesome (was sorry I didn't have the large one). Salad and chips the best also! Really worth a detour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best steak in Holland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I came to this steak restaurant with some locals and was not disappointed. While we waited for a table we tried the bitteballen and beer. For dinner I had the steak in sauce, mushrooms and salad. The ambiance is warm and homey and the food is good. The service was just ok- but the type of place where you need to flag your waitress down seems to fit in with the place. I would definately go back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Steak in Dutch tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is how granny cooked a steak in Holland, medium rare with a nice gravy, that you soak up with fresh white bread.
The gravy is nothing more than the margarine the steak was cooked in, but they manage to get a nicely browned. So do not expect any fancy sauce, just indulge and enjoy it the Dutch way.
Sides you order separately, the fries are perfect and the salad again as granny would have made it: a cooked egg on top, small bits of fried bacon and a simple oil and vinegar dressing.
Service is fast and friendly, the food is very reasonably price, €16.50 for a 200gram fillet steak. Place is crowded after 6pm, so come early or be prepared to wait. No reservations.
There is other stuff on the menu as well, also some traditional desserts, but it is the steak you go to this please for.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Probable past its prime”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have been to Loetje several times over the last few years, it has always improved over time. But as of late it seems that with all its fame and glory it is now going downhill, the last few times service and food quality has declined. This can always be due to the reason that they have become so popular, is always packed and kitchen and staff cannot cope with the volume of customers. However, waiters dont have time to take your orders, they tell you very abrupbtly to wait untill they have time to come and serve you. They are very rude in handling requests. They are out of stock in general items. Toilets are closed due to overflowing. Food comes out cold when you eventually receive it. What a pity, this was a great place to have a decent steak. Hopefully they can get the act together and once more rise to the levels they were at before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loetje aan de Amstel also viewed

Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, Amstelveen
 

Been to Loetje aan de Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loetje aan de Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.