We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with exceptionally friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De Fortuna
Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Edam B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with exceptionally friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it was perfect for a stay in this area. Great setting on a canal and very comfortable. The meals were also great so, although there are other options in the town, we couldn't do any better than eating in. The owners were very friendly and engaging, and all the staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hotel is the most romantic small pictureus place you can imagine. By the canal and in the small quite streets of great Edam. Room was vey nice, clean and has all features. Breakfast is relativel poor but again the location and the rooms are more than average in Holland

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here in May, weather wasn't at it's best but Edam was delightful and this family run hotel was very welcoming. Would advise that you have to navigate the one way system to find it and there is parking nearby over a small bridge. Once found you couldn't get a more picturesque setting by the canal and the flowers all round the hotel in boxes pots, any available space were gorgeous.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the development, overlooking the small boatyard, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here as part of a cycling trip arranged by Tulip Cycling. We were tired after a long day's cycling and the hotel was more than suitable. Old style in keeping with the rest of Gouda. Great breakfast in the charming restaurant. On the downside the rooms were a little cramped for an overnight stay and we found ourselves tripping over our suitcases! The credit card machine did not work - so take enough cash!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I booked into this hotel/restaurant, through booking.com, for 3 days as we were visiting family in nearby Purmerend. Before we booked I read the reviews for the hotel on TA and they were largely very positive. The salient points were the idyllic location the good food and the friendliness of the staff in what is a family run establishment. Great stuff!

We arrived on probably the hottest day in northern Europe for donkey's years. We left home near London at 6.30am and arrived about 12 hours later having been delayed at Brussels Midi station for over two hours (all those who think that railways on the continent run perfectly take note). We had taken a bus from Amsterdam Central Station to Edam Bus Station and then took the short walk along the canal to the hotel. Naturally we arrived soaked with perspiration and fairly tired as we are spring chickens no longer.

We were "greeted" by Karen who I gather is part of the owning family. Trying to be objective, perhaps it was the heat or it was busy (it didn't look it) or there were staff problems, whatever. Karen was not in the slightest bit interested in the fact that we had just travelled for half a day in oppressive heat and was dismissive, offhand and unfriendly making it quite clear that she wanted to get us into a room as quickly as possible. Firstly she showed us a small room with a double bed against the wall which we rejected. The only other alternative was a slightly bigger first floor room (previous reviews do reflect room sizes) which was stinking hot with the windows firmly shut. She agreed to provide a fan.

We were tempted after our reception to eat elsewhere but as it was just gone 7pm and we were very tired we decided to eat there. Obviously we wanted a bit of time to sort ourselves out and suggested 8pm for a table to Karen who clearly wanted us to eat earlier. "OK 7.30-8" she said (clearly more concerned about staff's rather than guests' needs). We managed to get to a table just before 8 in their lovely spot right alongside the canal with little or no help from the staff who waved disparagingly towards an unoccupied table. Then service had to be acquired rather than offered to us unlike a Dutch couple on an adjoining table who were attended to briskly, pleasantly and efficiently.

Needless to say none of this augured well for a three night stay. However things bucked up in the shape of the cuisine which I have to say was excellent and a young very pleasant male member of staff (barman I believe) produced a bottle of perfectly chilled white wine and a well stocked ice bucket. Naturally things took on a rosier complexion although we were not looking forward to a night in the very hot room.

Sure enough we did have a pretty sleeplessness night during which I was quite sick (I don't blame the hotel or the food for that). Come the morning and I felt I could eat a small breakfast. The buffet was adequate and the inside restaurant area is very atmospheric and typically Dutch. Again though the young female member of staff was offhand and irritable. The good news was that a battalion of portable air con units had appeared overnight and Karen was slightly more affable. Unfortunately though we'd also been saddled with a bed dumped in the small hallway right outside our room.

That evening we had intended to eat elsewhere but the alternatives were limited and unappealing so we again ate at De Fortuna. The food was, as the previous evening, superb as was the wine (different barman - minimal ice). On both nights the restaurant was very popular and is clearly and unsurprisingly a favourite with the locals. We again went to our room with trepidation as the air con unit had steadfastly refused to be set at a low temperature and kept returning to 31 degrees which is no good to man or beast. Thus we were stuck with another fan, graciously supplied by Karen, which could have been the reason for another night with stomach pains, nevertheless it was virtually sleepless.

The next morning, after breakfast, I approached Karen's brother-in-law and explained the difficulty and the fact that we would not be staying for the third night. He was very understanding, pleasant and helpful and showed us a larger room in a small house in the grounds but we had decided that enough was enough particularly as there was no guarantee it would be any cooler. Initially he said that he would still have to charge for the third night as we had booked through booking.com and they would charge him (lesson for the future) but later he very graciously said that he would only charge half for the third night which we agreed upon.

This is one of the most difficult reviews I have done and I have couched it in very careful terms and as accurately as possible because I have some sympathy with the owners who have gone for years without the sort of heat we experienced (1976 was the last I think). The staff problems are more difficult to explain as some of them were fine but others clearly disgruntled. Whilst we were there there was a furious lengthy staff row within our earshot which left the male owner looking understandably quite sheepish. Thus I have rated the hotel as VG because in the right circumstances and temperature I am sure it would be a perfect play to stay especially given it's lovely convenient location.

The individual ratings reflect our personal experience but I would not for one moment dissuade anyone from staying at De Fortuna provided temperatures are normal, including the staff's!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymare
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice situation near a quiet canal, this hotel has comfortable but small rooms in different houses and main house. beautiful garden, and friendly restaurant. service is long but the ffod is well prepared. Hotel to recommend in a so nice city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Dutch Optical Illusion, Hotel / Restaurant De Fortuna is just that.

A small country exploits every square meter with taste, love, fun, respect ; hotel looks modest and cozy, but it’s an oasis of everything unique to the Netherlands, water, boats, birds, flowers, unpretentious homely interiors, an array of art of all kinds, a maritime presence( beautifully varnished tables , amidships stairway) , and efficiency in every aspect of hostelry. It and its town are charming retreats from Amsterdam, only a bus ride away, and they are located near equally charming small towns on the inland coast. The best way to see Amsterdam is from here. The hardest thing is to knowing when to stop sampling the breakfast selections.

Room Tip: Ask for a house in the garden, to ensure a cool quiet time. Expect the wash basin to be in the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Fortuna

Address: Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Edam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.