We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of perspective.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel De Fortuna
Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Edam B&B and Inns
Surrey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A bit of perspective.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I booked into this hotel/restaurant, through booking.com, for 3 days as we were visiting family in nearby Purmerend. Before we booked I read the reviews for the hotel on TA and they were largely very positive. The salient points were the idyllic location the good food and the friendliness of the staff in what is a family run establishment. Great stuff!

We arrived on probably the hottest day in northern Europe for donkey's years. We left home near London at 6.30am and arrived about 12 hours later having been delayed at Brussels Midi station for over two hours (all those who think that railways on the continent run perfectly take note). We had taken a bus from Amsterdam Central Station to Edam Bus Station and then took the short walk along the canal to the hotel. Naturally we arrived soaked with perspiration and fairly tired as we are spring chickens no longer.

We were "greeted" by Karen who I gather is part of the owning family. Trying to be objective, perhaps it was the heat or it was busy (it didn't look it) or there were staff problems, whatever. Karen was not in the slightest bit interested in the fact that we had just travelled for half a day in oppressive heat and was dismissive, offhand and unfriendly making it quite clear that she wanted to get us into a room as quickly as possible. Firstly she showed us a small room with a double bed against the wall which we rejected. The only other alternative was a slightly bigger first floor room (previous reviews do reflect room sizes) which was stinking hot with the windows firmly shut. She agreed to provide a fan.

We were tempted after our reception to eat elsewhere but as it was just gone 7pm and we were very tired we decided to eat there. Obviously we wanted a bit of time to sort ourselves out and suggested 8pm for a table to Karen who clearly wanted us to eat earlier. "OK 7.30-8" she said (clearly more concerned about staff's rather than guests' needs). We managed to get to a table just before 8 in their lovely spot right alongside the canal with little or no help from the staff who waved disparagingly towards an unoccupied table. Then service had to be acquired rather than offered to us unlike a Dutch couple on an adjoining table who were attended to briskly, pleasantly and efficiently.

Needless to say none of this augured well for a three night stay. However things bucked up in the shape of the cuisine which I have to say was excellent and a young very pleasant male member of staff (barman I believe) produced a bottle of perfectly chilled white wine and a well stocked ice bucket. Naturally things took on a rosier complexion although we were not looking forward to a night in the very hot room.

Sure enough we did have a pretty sleeplessness night during which I was quite sick (I don't blame the hotel or the food for that). Come the morning and I felt I could eat a small breakfast. The buffet was adequate and the inside restaurant area is very atmospheric and typically Dutch. Again though the young female member of staff was offhand and irritable. The good news was that a battalion of portable air con units had appeared overnight and Karen was slightly more affable. Unfortunately though we'd also been saddled with a bed dumped in the small hallway right outside our room.

That evening we had intended to eat elsewhere but the alternatives were limited and unappealing so we again ate at De Fortuna. The food was, as the previous evening, superb as was the wine (different barman - minimal ice). On both nights the restaurant was very popular and is clearly and unsurprisingly a favourite with the locals. We again went to our room with trepidation as the air con unit had steadfastly refused to be set at a low temperature and kept returning to 31 degrees which is no good to man or beast. Thus we were stuck with another fan, graciously supplied by Karen, which could have been the reason for another night with stomach pains, nevertheless it was virtually sleepless.

The next morning, after breakfast, I approached Karen's brother-in-law and explained the difficulty and the fact that we would not be staying for the third night. He was very understanding, pleasant and helpful and showed us a larger room in a small house in the grounds but we had decided that enough was enough particularly as there was no guarantee it would be any cooler. Initially he said that he would still have to charge for the third night as we had booked through booking.com and they would charge him (lesson for the future) but later he very graciously said that he would only charge half for the third night which we agreed upon.

This is one of the most difficult reviews I have done and I have couched it in very careful terms and as accurately as possible because I have some sympathy with the owners who have gone for years without the sort of heat we experienced (1976 was the last I think). The staff problems are more difficult to explain as some of them were fine but others clearly disgruntled. Whilst we were there there was a furious lengthy staff row within our earshot which left the male owner looking understandably quite sheepish. Thus I have rated the hotel as VG because in the right circumstances and temperature I am sure it would be a perfect play to stay especially given it's lovely convenient location.

The individual ratings reflect our personal experience but I would not for one moment dissuade anyone from staying at De Fortuna provided temperatures are normal, including the staff's!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ymare
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice situation near a quiet canal, this hotel has comfortable but small rooms in different houses and main house. beautiful garden, and friendly restaurant. service is long but the ffod is well prepared. Hotel to recommend in a so nice city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caen, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Dutch Optical Illusion, Hotel / Restaurant De Fortuna is just that.

A small country exploits every square meter with taste, love, fun, respect ; hotel looks modest and cozy, but it’s an oasis of everything unique to the Netherlands, water, boats, birds, flowers, unpretentious homely interiors, an array of art of all kinds, a maritime presence( beautifully varnished tables , amidships stairway) , and efficiency in every aspect of hostelry. It and its town are charming retreats from Amsterdam, only a bus ride away, and they are located near equally charming small towns on the inland coast. The best way to see Amsterdam is from here. The hardest thing is to knowing when to stop sampling the breakfast selections.

Room Tip: Ask for a house in the garden, to ensure a cool quiet time. Expect the wash basin to be in the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a great surprise when we arrived at this most charming and beautiful hotel in a town that begs you to casually wander up and down its pristinely kept streets (As a first time visitor, I was hugely impressed).
Having ridden from Schagen, it was an absolute joy to relax in the garden by the river with an ice cold beer served by very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in a room on the first floor of one of the three 'Cottages' in the rear garden which was charming, quaint and very 'homely' in equal measures.
Dinner in the evening was 'top drawer', although the catfish fillet was disappointing from both a portion size and taste perspective but served again by very attentive, helpful and patient staff (the four hours we took over dinner seemed to fly by in the really charming surroundings). The quality of the breakfast was equally good although the choice was a little limited. The local bus service we used to return to the centre of Amsterdam is to be recommended....convenient to the hotel, regular services and very competitively priced. A great hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Cottage Rooms are charming and quaint but stairs to the first floors may be difficult for some peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for just one night, however wished we had stayed for longer. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location. The hotel is clean and quiet and serves fantastic food. The soup of the day was the best soup I have ever tasted........and I love soup! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

That was a great experience. The hotel is beautiful and close to the city center. The service is surprisingly good, due the fact the hotel is also a restaurant and they have only one entrance desk for both. My check-in was fast and efficient. For a winter special price, I got the room (breakfast included) AND the dinner. Not an ordinary dinner: the hotel-restaurant is one of the best gourmet places in the region! Excellent Dutch food. Buffet breakfast - like in most hotels in Holland - was terrific, with a nice assortment of cold cuts, local cheeses, fresh crunchy bred, butter, different kinds of jelly, juices, strong coffee, milk, yogurt, etc. Not the tasteless and imaginative US breakfast.

Don't even think in parking the car in front at the hotel - not enough park spots (3 tops). Go to the city public parking lot and walk 1 block.

The hotel did not make 5 stars because of the room. Make no mistake: it was like having a guest room in a Dutch family home. Great experience. But it is obviously not a typical hotel room (Marriott standard, for instance) designed to give you the best comfort possible: no frills at all and a claustrophobic bathroom for a six-feet like me. There is no TV and the free wireless Internet signal is extremely weak. But you have silence, a great view to the channel nearby, morning wonderful odor from the outside (like pure nature), old-fashioned heater and hot shower. My room had even a small veranda so you can stretch and enjoy the view when you wake up.

A bang for the buck, located in a beautiful and peaceful small Dutch village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The little town of Edam is picture-perfect: once important (the cheese) it's now a charming backwater. The De Fortuna is down a side street you'd describe as quiet if the whole place weren't so placid, and put together from five old houses: two on the street plus three little cottages in the garden at the back beside the canal. Friendly service, characterful decor, proprietor in evidence throughout. Food good, but limited menu. Small rooms, though adequate. Public carpark 50 metres away across the canal. But the staircases in both the main house and the cottages are a challenge: my elderly father really struggled (our fault: the proprietor offered to change our rooms for ones on the ground floor in the garden when we arrived, but we turned down the offer in a typically British, stoical, don't-want-to-make-a-fuss way). Around 40 minutes drive from central Amsterdam if you want to make a day trip. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: If steep stairs give you trouble, ask for a garden room
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel De Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Fortuna

Address: Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Edam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.