We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Typical Dutch Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel De Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel De Fortuna
Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Edam B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Charming Typical Dutch Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

That was a great experience. The hotel is beautiful and close to the city center. The service is surprisingly good, due the fact the hotel is also a restaurant and they have only one entrance desk for both. My check-in was fast and efficient. For a winter special price, I got the room (breakfast included) AND the dinner. Not an ordinary dinner: the hotel-restaurant is one of the best gourmet places in the region! Excellent Dutch food. Buffet breakfast - like in most hotels in Holland - was terrific, with a nice assortment of cold cuts, local cheeses, fresh crunchy bred, butter, different kinds of jelly, juices, strong coffee, milk, yogurt, etc. Not the tasteless and imaginative US breakfast.

Don't even think in parking the car in front at the hotel - not enough park spots (3 tops). Go to the city public parking lot and walk 1 block.

The hotel did not make 5 stars because of the room. Make no mistake: it was like having a guest room in a Dutch family home. Great experience. But it is obviously not a typical hotel room (Marriott standard, for instance) designed to give you the best comfort possible: no frills at all and a claustrophobic bathroom for a six-feet like me. There is no TV and the free wireless Internet signal is extremely weak. But you have silence, a great view to the channel nearby, morning wonderful odor from the outside (like pure nature), old-fashioned heater and hot shower. My room had even a small veranda so you can stretch and enjoy the view when you wake up.

A bang for the buck, located in a beautiful and peaceful small Dutch village.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The little town of Edam is picture-perfect: once important (the cheese) it's now a charming backwater. The De Fortuna is down a side street you'd describe as quiet if the whole place weren't so placid, and put together from five old houses: two on the street plus three little cottages in the garden at the back beside the canal. Friendly service, characterful decor, proprietor in evidence throughout. Food good, but limited menu. Small rooms, though adequate. Public carpark 50 metres away across the canal. But the staircases in both the main house and the cottages are a challenge: my elderly father really struggled (our fault: the proprietor offered to change our rooms for ones on the ground floor in the garden when we arrived, but we turned down the offer in a typically British, stoical, don't-want-to-make-a-fuss way). Around 40 minutes drive from central Amsterdam if you want to make a day trip. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: If steep stairs give you trouble, ask for a garden room
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I liked Hotel De Fortuna. It was crazy-busy when we were there and the room we got wasn't my favourite but the hotel has a lot of character. The room was pretty tiny and the quilt looked like it had seen better times. The hotel room's walls were paper thin. You could hear EVERYTHING.

Now, this seems awfully negative for a four-star review but the hotel has a certain quirky charm. The terrace where you could sit for drinks was stunning. Picture-perfect views.

Dinner was very good as was breakfast. The staff were cheerful and attentive.

It wasn't the best place I've stayed at in The Netherlands but I shall remember it fondly. And I'd probably go back and ask for a better room than we had.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a lovely time staying in Edam at the end of July in this great hotel. Really friendly helpful management and staff (thanks Nicholas for everything!), fabulous historic surroundings, and wonderful food. We stayed in a garden room and found it really peaceful. Great to look at the ducks and geese in the canal! Fantastic little town, really well preserved and kept. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Built in 5 historic houses along a few canals, Hotel De Fortuna is a wonderful location to stay at while in Edam. We will definitely be recommending the Hotel De Fortuna to all our friends and family.

Pros:
Charming decor
Great location
Amazing service
Great breakfast (included with stay)
Great dinner (at additional cost)
Extremely helpful and accommodating

Cons:
Rooms are just a little small particularly the bathrooms
Dinner is a bit pricey (although completely worth the price)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautiful small hotel on a canal. Lots of flowers and friendly staff. Room was very small and cramped, but clean and reasonably priced for the area. Stairway up was very steep and narrow. Restaurant was excellent, but a little expensive. I would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms are larger & on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed one night on a biking holiday and found it to be a charming hotel. The flowers were gorgeous and we enjoyed a pre dinner drink at the intimate tables set by the canal.
Our room was small but well equipped and clean. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Fortuna

Address: Spuistraat 3, 1135 Edam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Edam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Edam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsNL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel De Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.