We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel suitable for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Weverij

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Weverij to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Weverij
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostwal 175 | Oss, Oss 5341, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Oss
Cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel suitable for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on business. It is suitable for that purpose although the Wi FI is fiddley with passcodes and poor speeds. The lobby is nice and you get the expectation that the hotel rooms will be really nice. But not the case. The rooms are minimalist and somewhat cold in appearance but clean. Cannot understand how they configured the door for the shower - you need to squeeze by the wash hand basin.

Restaurant does a bar food menu that is worht trying. Overall would use it for business but not for family. Near the train station which makes it an ideal location and central to the local restaurants. Walk from the train station is quicker given the one way system!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located approx 5 mins drive from the station. About 7 Euros in a taxi. The hotel itself it's very clean and well maintained, staff were all eager to help and very efficient. The restaurant was, in my opinion, quite pretentious for the area. The bar menu was very restricted - only 2 choices for main - neither of which were particularly appetising!!

The room was comfortable, bathroom average. I stayed for 1 night on a business trip and the wi-fi connection was particularly slow - in the end I gave up! The reception area gives a more grand welcome than the rest of the experience I must say.

The hotel is more than adequate, but nothing to get excited about.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Spent a week in this hotel for business, before relocating to the City Hotel due to room availability issues for the remainder of my stay. For a small hotel they managed to check off all the boxes, but in a way that just missed in many respects, as I've tried to highlight below:

The bedroom: funky artwork on the entirety of one wall, but the other wall was completely bare. Furniture designed and set at odd angles to the room. The bed was king sized and comfortable, but made of two doubles pushed together each made separately so you really only slept on one of them (pillows and sheets were very good). The TV was a flat panel with decent selection, but tiny. There was airconditioning with adjustable temperature, but seemed to know two states: freezing or off. Closet was useful, but no mini bar. Side chair was of funky modern design, but comfortable. Floor was an odd quasi-carpet tatami mat sort of textile that was cold and hard. Guest room door was old key lock style, with no deadbolt or other lock on the inside to keep out housekeeping.

Bathroom: Good, deep soaking tub, separate shower with big showerhead and amazing water pressure. Would have been great, but hotel only provided shampoo and body wash, no conditioner or lotion. Linens were one big towel, one little towel, and a bath mat, no extras (I suspect if I'd called they'd have happily given more -- service was uniformly excellent).

Internet / business: "free" wifi throughout the hotel. In all my years of travelling, I've never encountered a hotel with slower or error-prone internet access. As I was there on business, this colored my entire impression of the hotel. Guests get free web access via a voucher system from the front desk. The voucher, while good for 24 hours, only gets you 200 MB down / 50 MB up in that period, at which point it quotas out and you need a new voucher. If you're there on work, this becomes a real impediment, which they solve with an 88 euro per week "business" internet plan that is uncapped. As the problems seemed to be bandwidth limited (e.g. crawling latency figures and slow up / down times) I didn't pay for that, and just used free voucher after free voucher (they were happy to give you a stack any time you walked past the desk). speeds were faster in the lobby, but as the lobby is outside the door to their Michelin starred restaurant, I felt odd sitting there in gym shorts and a T shirt trying to catch up on U.S. activities at 9 PM. There was no business center to speak of, and no real copying or printing capability on site, again making this ill-suited as a working hotel.

Restaurant: we ate in the Restaurant Cordial, a Michelin starred place. My sense is they earned the star based on service (impeccable) and presentation (amazingly precise / complex) rather than flavor and taste of the food. While all the dishes were gorgeous, they seemed a bit bland. The restaurant L' Amuse, down the block and around the corner about 5 minutes aware, was a much better option for fine food during our stay. Breakfast was in a separate part of the hotel, and while tasty, ridiculously over priced at 17 Euro. They have a monopoly here, however, as there are no real breakfast choices within a block or two.

Location: Good. Less than 10 minute walk to the train station. Less than 5 minutes to the pedestrian district and shopping / dining options. No complaints on this front.

Service: No complaints here. The desk personnel were, to a person, friendly and eager to help. Same was true of the breakfast staff and house keeping.

So, in summary, it's a nice small clean hotel that tries hard, but misses in a number of respects that I find important for business travel. I'm not certain I would choose to book there again, and would likely book the City Hotel instead.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

I spent the weekend with some friends, catching up after many years.
The Weverij is a boutique hotel in the centre of town and boosts a restaurant "Cordial" which has a Michelin Star.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and clean.

The food and service in the main dining room is in one word: amazing. If you have the time, trust the chef and choose the set menus, 4, 5 or 6 courses with accompanying wines. It is a fantastic treat.

Breakfast is served in the "coffee shop" and is simple with fresh fruits, wide selection of cereals and cold cuts. Unlimited supply of coffee and tea, and if you are courageous, help yourself to champagne.

  • Liked — Rooms and the dining experience
  • Tips/Secrets — Take time to dine
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2004

I took a group of people to an event in Den Bosch and could't find anywhere to stay in Den Bosch, so moved to nearby OSS.

The Hotel de Weverij was excellent. Excellent rooms, extremely helpful staff, a Micheline 1 Star restaurant and the most unusual door stops I have ever seen.

The hotel is close to the Town Centre, shops supermarkets etc and has a comfortable receiption/bar/cafe area as well as the superb restaurant.

Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Weverij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Weverij

Address: Oostwal 175 | Oss, Oss 5341, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Oss
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Oss
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Weverij 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Weverij reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Weverij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.