We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern suite, good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Waalwijk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Waalwijk to your Saves list
NH Waalwijk
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bevrijdingsweg 1, 5161 BZ Waalwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice modern suite, good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Nice and trendy hotel, located centrally to the Efteling or Tilburg/Waalwijk for shopping but in the direct area there is nothing very close.
The room was nice and big and trendy. A nice big bathroom.
The dinner at Gusto was very good as was the breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    144
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
117
69
5
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed there for one night with our 6 year old son. We go an upgrade (for free) to a junior suite that had a nice double bed and a sofa bed for the kid. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated and clean. Lamp shades could use replacement (one was broken), but it did not bother us at all. The bathroom was large (a bathtub and a shower) and very clean. The breakfast was good, special table for kids with kiddy treats.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Booked 2 x junior suites in this hotel as it was close to the major theme park in Holland when travelling with my partner and my sister and her 5 year old child.

We arrived at the hotel at 3pm and were told the room would not be ready until 7pm as a football team had refused to leave. They were very rude and did not care at all as I cancelled my reservation on the spot.

I wrote to their customer service and never heard back. Amazing. So I will not be staying with this group again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here n there
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

A group of us stayed here for 2 nights in late July. The check in was straight forward enough, as seemed to be the case with many things here.
The rooms were comfortable and clean. Although the tea making items were well hidden at the back of the furthest cupboard !!
The first evening we decided to eat in the restaurant and althought he meal was very good, it did take a while to arrive. This was the theme for the evening as once we arrived in the restaurant the staff were not to quick to get our party seated, issued with menus or offering drinks to quench our thirst. A quiet word later was dealt with by the senior staff member efficiently. She explained, quite reasonably, that as weather conditions had deteriorated, the staff were clearing the outside area. This was not a particularly busy evening, maybe 12 others dining. No matter, as the meal came and went without any "must try" moments.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent with plenty of patrons (where had they been last evening ?) helping themselves to the varied buffet. The breakfast staff were attentive to the needs of some families with small children. A small thing maybe, but when you are trying to organise children for breakfast at home it can be an experience in itself let alone strange surroundings. Fresh supplies of food were quickly arranged when required.

Overall I think this was a pretty average 4 star hotel

  • Liked — The room was quiet & comfortable.
  • Disliked — The hotel was too far out of town.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I was in Waalwijk for business and our supliers booked this hotel for us.
I know the NH Hotels, I have been in a few of them and this was one of the best! Seems pretty new, has a modern furniture, a very comfortable bed (didn't want to get up!!) and a good breakfast.
My room was specialized for women: I had magazines and spa samples. The room was quite big.
We ate a the hotel restaurant: it was good, but really expensive and slow..

  • Liked — the bed!
  • Disliked — the light in the room, it was a little dark
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimbergen, Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I stayed here with two couples, friends of mine, because we wanted to go to Winter Efteling, which is at 2km from the hotel. The hotel is for that purpose very conveniently located and a lot cheaper compared to the Efteling hotel.

We payed 120€ per night, including breakfast, which is a good deal. The rooms are 4* level, the beds are pretty comfortable, the room is of good size with all necessary ammenities, but there are a few downsides to the hotel.

The bathroom: good size, but not enough light (only over the sink, not
over bath/shower area) and the water was brownish in all of our rooms,
which is a bit strange when you take a bath.

The service: although we explicitly asked several times to have the rooms next to each other, we were in different wings of the hotel.

We had lunch in the hotel brasserie, which was nice, although the menu
is extremely limited.

We had dinner in the Al Gusto restaurant of the hotel, which serves really nice food, but the service can use an upgrade. We ordered a bottle of Piper Heidseck champagne, which they wanted to serve in inadequate glasses, because they ran out of champagne glasses (they only had 4 in stead of 5, which was strange, because no one else was having champagne). We ordered the game menu, with deer steak, but it was not served as described on the menu. Although the menu was pretty detailed, the vegetables and fruits served were different from the original description. We made a remark about it, because this is pretty anoying when you have certain food allergies, and we got a very
arrogant reaction, not the only one that evening!

We were also unpolitely requested at 22H30 to leave the restaurant by 23H00, even though we were not yet served our dessert.

The bar closes at midnight, so also there we were kicked out after one
single coffee. This is strange for a hotel of this category, especially since the hotel is very remote and there is really nothing to do or go to in the area.

In the morning, we could enjoy the "lazy sundays formula" by NH, which
is really nice, because you enjoy a late check-out until 17H00 and breakfast is served up to 12H00. Same thing here: very nice breakfast buffet, but very arrogant people serving.

Overall, the hotel was good, but I wouldn't return to it.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Stayed two seperate nights, straddling a night at the Golden Tulip. We know this as the NH Hotel Waalwijk, but it seems others call it the Queen Hotel.
I probably enjoyed this place far more than the Golden Tulip. The food is better, the ambience is far more relaxing, and there are open spaces you can escape into. The restaurant although quite pricey was good. Buffet breakfast was extra but OK.
It doesn't have the Golden Tulip's theme, it doesn't have as many kids activities, or a playround, it doesn't have that "magic" that your kids love. But adults will love it because it so more relaxing. You also get video on demand (at a price) which our 4 year old loved, and made up for anything he may have been missing at Efteling. About 5 mins drive to the park, and about a 45 min walk to the centre of Waalwijk. The hotel is pretty remote, but there does seem to be a couple of small towns within about 15mins walk, but we didn't have time to visit these.
We had a suite, and this was more than big enough for a family of four. Staff were superb, very friendly and professional.
Would I stay again? If I could get a suite at Efteling then no. Nothing beats one of the themed suites. However if these aren't available, then this place wins every time.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Waalwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Waalwijk

Address: Bevrijdingsweg 1, 5161 BZ Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Waalwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waalwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Waalwijk 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome at the NH Waalwijk. This cozy hotel is ideally located between Tilburg and Den Bosch and just a short drive from Efteling Theme Park. Those seeking some fresh air will love visiting Loonse and the Drunense Duinen Nature Park, both nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your NH Waalwijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Waalwijk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.