We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy yet comfortable asian cuisine; an Oakton tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Peking Restaurant

Old Peking Restaurant
2952 Chain Bridge Rd Ste C, Oakton, VA 22124-3024
(703) 255-9444
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Oakton
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy yet comfortable asian cuisine; an Oakton tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Old Peking has become one of our favorite Chinese restaurants in the DC area. We really enjoy the excellent food and service and are a bit perplexed by one of the reviewers who indicated the quality of the food was poor. It is not, particularly the seafood and vegetables, which were of very high quality.

The atmosphere is classy yet comfortable and the ambiance is quiet and intimate. The sound is vastly superior to the many other recently remodeled restaurants designed to be uncomfortably loud such as Mi Cosina or Matchbox.

The menu is more of the Pan-Asian fusion style; that might sound like a drawback, but far from it actually, Old Peking reminds me of why I love American Asian food. Their recipe for Drunken Noodles is unique and delicious, and their shrimp and scallops are excellent. The portions are pretty generous too.
Some might consider the food a bit heavy on the sauce. If you don't like it that way you can always ask for it to be ordered light; they even have a healthy menu section with sauce on the side which is also probably excellent given the quality ingredients.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pompano beach florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What six months can bring, aside from spring.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm uncertain what happened with my last two visits.

New Mgt. - no; new chef, replacing the 2009-11 fella, maybe; or just making poor attempts to cut the over head. Initially I moaned at the size of the mixed drinks ~ 7 months ago. Curtailed ordering booze. After 26 years of placing take out orders ... have noted a discerning slump in the quality of the food at Olde Peking.

Further; a customer should - based on a lifetime of exotic vittle intake - expect more than one carton of white rice WITH four entrees. A recurring offence. and more than 3 (good) fortune cookies to compliment a $55. order. I know cheap. This is cheap. Fewer shrimp, fewer slices of beef ... and noteworthy, fewer soy sauce packets.

This change is really unfortunate, the owners are lovely people operating a beautiful restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Classic Neighborhood Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you are in Oakton and if you want Chinese food, The Old Peking Restaurant is a satisfactory solution. Pleasant atmosphere, prompt service, fair prices and what you would expect in a neighborhood Chinese restaurant. Spare ribs and walnut shrimp were good. Beef with broccoli looked and tasted like yesterday’s reheated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have been coming to this place foe 15 years. My son does not like onions and pepper steak. They do a GREAT job fixing this for him. Lunch specials are also good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Wow, this is really good"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The high quality of the food is consistently very well prepared and tasty. The portions are large. The service is quick and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Peking Restaurant also viewed

Oakton, Fairfax County
Oakton, Fairfax County
 

Been to Old Peking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Peking Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.