We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fondation Pierre Gianadda

Fondation Pierre Gianadda
Rue du Forum 59 | 1920, Martigny, Switzerland
(+41) 27 722 39 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Martigny
Attraction details
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unexpected...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I went there just to waste my time and was not prepared to enjoy so much the Modigliani collection and the gardens.
Nonetheless some of my favorites are represented there but this takes place in an amasing place. Inside the light from the roof is impressive. Outside, the spectacular collection is magnified by the mountains around.

Try the "tarte à l'abricot"... A must have.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    50
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modigliani placed in the  context of his epoque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Gianadda museum in Martigny is a real gem, a human sized museum that hosts special as well as permanent exhibits. This time, the special exhibit was on Modigliani et l’École de Paris.

There are some lovely paintings and sculptures, interspersed with paintings from other artists of the epoque. There is also a photo exhibit depicting the different stages of the artist's life.

A nice way to spend a rainy day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemin, Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see if you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Generally 2 collections are displayed a year and, given Leonard Gianadda's wide network of acquaintances and friends in the art world, they are always spectacular and often quite rare. I wouldn't miss this unique opportunity to combine a good dose of art culture with all of the other wonderful outdoorsy stuff you can usually find in the Valais.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megeve, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best exhibitions !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travel there for nearly every exhibition. You feel like being part of the few friends invited for a private show. The Modigliani exhibition is outstanding, you can see the painting as the one you have home. I love the center area where you can do 360° review of the show. Back to Modigliani, some weeks ago we were in Milan for the Modigliani/Soutine exhibition which we love but nothing compared to Gianadda where you can see so many wonderful paintings and sculpture from this artist. Stop thinking about it, go (do not forget to stop by the distillerie Morand for some local products).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
655 reviews
428 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a small but well-known museum. There are two parts: a permanent museum and seasonal painting exhibitions from the world-famous artists. So this is a place to come and see on many occasions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fondation Pierre Gianadda also viewed

 
Martigny, Canton of Valais
Martigny, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Fondation Pierre Gianadda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fondation Pierre Gianadda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.