We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tresa Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tresa Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tresa Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lugano 18, Ponte Tresa 6988, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ponte Tresa
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We drove to lake lugano from Milan and stayed in this lakeside hotel for 2 nights, Our room was fantastic it overlooked the lake with stunning views of the mountains,The hotel has a lovely indoor pool which we had to ourselves this too overlooked the lake,the Dinner and the breakfast were very good with a good choice to pick from,we took the train opposite the hotel in to Lagano which is a very pretty resort around the lake, we also walked across the ponte tresa bridge which takes you back into italy,one side switzerland the other Italy brilliant

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
34
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genève, Suisse
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Last time I have stayed in the Tresa Bay was 5 years ago. Not much as changed, service remains very good. I have arrived at 1 am, and despite being out of the season period, my arrival was very well handled, fast and swift. within 10 mns I was in my room.

By opposition to any other hotel, the Tresa Bay team simply upgraded me to a better room, because it was available! Quite the opposite of any other hotel. A genuine proof of family owned property, proud to service their customer to the best.

The room was clean, fairly large, facing the lake, with a huge balcony directly on the water. Easy parking, just in front of the entrance. Rooms are quite.

Carpets are now getting a bit old, despite being well maintained you can see some wear and tear. Time for a partial lifting ?

Breakfast: Switzerland is not a place for coffee, strange, you are 500 meter from Italy, but cannot say they do it as good as on the other side. For the rest, plenty of food, of different types, good service in the restaurant, facing the lake naturally.

If you have to stay in the region the Tresa bay is an excellent compromise Vs Lugano city, where such a setting would cost 3 time the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

For me it was a business trip bu the staff made me feel as if I was on holiday. The staff was helpful from being multilingual and taking care of our train tickets. Breakfast met everyone's needs and the food was quite tasty. Jstaff wa always friendly and helpful. My first time in Suizzeo was very charming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everything about the hotel is top-class: location, comfort, staff, service. But what terrible disappointment about the restaurant. We ordered the three-course “Menu surprise”. And what a surprise it was; dried meat, spare-ribs, ice cream. Oh, I forgot the “Mise-en-bouche”; three slices of salami. We couldn’t believe our eyes. Even the service personnel were amazed – or was it embarrassment. I hope this review prompts the owners of the hotel to stop offering the “Menu surprise” in the restaurant – and that the Chef moves on to demonstrates his talents in some survival training camp in the deep jungle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed an entire week at the Tresa Bay hotel in Ponte Tresa (suburb of Lugano). It can easily be reached by light train from the center of Lugano. Forget about the car, the traffic caused by Italians coming in to Switzerland to work is horrendous in the morning and evening. Parking is sparce too. However, this small hotel right on the lake of Lugano and right at the border with Italy is cute, very clean, has right sized very comfortable rooms and an outstanding restaurant with patio right on the lake; quite romantic. The cuisine in their restaurant is truly something to write home about. Make your reservation well in advanced. I heard that the place books out quickly in spring and summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Hi we stayed at the Tresa Bay Hotel during July on Business. I managed to use the hotels sun deck down next to the lake. Our room was very nice, fantastic views of the lake and mountains. I loved the glass window in the bathroom, everything was as it should be. We enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals in the hotel, all food was to a high standard. We also liked the train station which is just over the road, 20 minutes and you are in the heart of Lugano. We shall return, all staff friendly and happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel is real mixed bag. Starting with the positives we found the staff friendly and helpful on arrival. The location is handy to the train which takes you to lugano along a picturesque lakeside line. There is free wi-fi access in the foyer area which also reached our room. The Restaraunt served an excellent breakfast and the one dinner we had was very enjoyable. Good quality food without being extraordinary. Ther restaurant is certainly in a lovely location overlooking the lake. The lakeside position is the saving grace of this hotel. Every room has a balcony allowing you to enjoy the views, watch the ducks and absorb the serenity of the water. Unfortunately the serenity is somewhat broken by the noisy road next to the hotel. The car noise is incessant and can disturb your night time sleep. The room was clean, there is a safe for valuables. The beds are fairly uncomfortable and a little short. The bathrooms are small and dated. The decor is a bit 1970s. The TV reception was not great and the TV was a bit old. Overall the hotel borders on a motel style and really needs a good make over. That said, It was nevertheless an enjoyable stay and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. if I needed to stay in the area again I would be happy to stay there but wouldn't seek it out especially.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tresa Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresa Bay Hotel

Address: Via Lugano 18, Ponte Tresa 6988, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Ticino > Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ponte Tresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tresa Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Tresa Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Ponte Tresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresa Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.