We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Chic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tresa Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tresa Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Tresa Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lugano 18, Ponte Tresa 6988, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponte Tresa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Retro Chic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This hotel is real mixed bag. Starting with the positives we found the staff friendly and helpful on arrival. The location is handy to the train which takes you to lugano along a picturesque lakeside line. There is free wi-fi access in the foyer area which also reached our room. The Restaraunt served an excellent breakfast and the one dinner we had was very enjoyable. Good quality food without being extraordinary. Ther restaurant is certainly in a lovely location overlooking the lake. The lakeside position is the saving grace of this hotel. Every room has a balcony allowing you to enjoy the views, watch the ducks and absorb the serenity of the water. Unfortunately the serenity is somewhat broken by the noisy road next to the hotel. The car noise is incessant and can disturb your night time sleep. The room was clean, there is a safe for valuables. The beds are fairly uncomfortable and a little short. The bathrooms are small and dated. The decor is a bit 1970s. The TV reception was not great and the TV was a bit old. Overall the hotel borders on a motel style and really needs a good make over. That said, It was nevertheless an enjoyable stay and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. if I needed to stay in the area again I would be happy to stay there but wouldn't seek it out especially.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for three nights in August. The views of the bay are fantastic and every room gets one so I understand. However the rooms are very dated and are not what we'd consider 4 star. There was also no aircon in our room, which any other time of year would probably have been fine, but the evenings were warm and to cool the rooms down we had to open the door to the balcony. Unfortunately this means you have to put up with both the noise from the nearby road and the possible smoking of your neighbor on their balcony.

The service and the restaurant were fine and we were able to park, although spaces are limited. We looked at the pool and the wellness area and was pretty underwhelming.

The hotel is a few hundred metres from the Italian border and we found that the better eating options were on that side, particularly if you are prepared to walk around the bay (its quieter there). You can get to Lugano by train (almost stops outside the hotel) or by ferry (although limited service to the bay). If you do go try and visit the little village of Morcote, it is truly beautiful and relatively untouched by the tourist crowds.

If the view from your balcony is really important and your not bothered about the room or being slightly away from bustle of Lugano then its fine, if you're looking for genuine 4 star quality then perhaps look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Hotel is situated just before the Italian boarder on a very busy street .
Rooms are comfortable and not noisy when windows closed .
Pool and terras are on the lakeside .
When we were there we had dinner twice , first time okay but the second time very poor , same the service and several wines in the wine-list were not available .
Breakfast is good
You can reserve a non-smoking room but people do smoke on the room-balcony so we smelled in the rooms .
Attention .... limited Parking spaces !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This was our third visit to Tresa Bay. Love it there. Nice room with beautiful view on the Bay. I like to swim in the bay via the swimming pool. Friendly staff and very helpful. Diner on the terrace is very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
English in Switz
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Lovely location of hotel right on lakeside, clean room and large enough for 2 extra beds for children. Reasonably priced for Lugano, and grea to walk across into Italy in 5 mins. Breakfast buffet quite substantial, and wi-fi available in rooms.
Downsides for me were the traffic jams from Lugano to Ponte Tresa each evening - literally crawling traffic. Reception was a little 'clinical', and a bit disappointed there was only the formal (pricey) evening menu and no pizza option when we wanted to dine-in.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed at the Tresa Bay for 5 nights and had nothing to complain about whatsoever. Service was excellent, staff are very friendly and service- minded, the hotel was very clean and everything worked. The room was fairly large and with a nice lake view. The restaurant is very nice and certainly with a lake view. The food served in the restaurant was good, and the breakfast buffet superb ! Eating in the hotel was a bit expensive, partly because they mostly serve swiss wine, which is expensive. It is good, though, and an interesting experience for wine lovers.

The hotel has a small relax department with a few exercise machines, a small swimmingpool, a sauna and access to the lake where it is possible to take a bath (weather permitting). Because the relax department is so small, the hotel insist that everyone make a reservation before using it.

Ponte Tresa is a small village with limited eating and shopping opportunities. There is a small supermarket, a few bars, a pharmacy, a post office and a few other shops within 100 m from the hotel.

The railway station (trains to Lugano every 15 min. on workdays) is right across the street. In summer, the lake Lugano boats dock at Ponte Tresa 2 times a day.

In the Italian part of town there are more shops and restaurants than in the swiss part. The town center of italian Ponte Tresa is very pleasant, and there is a beautiful lakeside promenade from Ponte Tresa to it’s smaller (and older ?) twin town Lavena.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Wine prices
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed at Tresa Bay for 2 nights in mid June. We took the train from Zurich and (after changing trains in Lugano) got off right across the street from the hotel. The walk around the lake, into Italy, is very scenic. Our standard room had a great view (which is true for all the rooms) and the bedding was high quality. The indoor pool is very small and was full of kids when we looked in.

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tresa Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresa Bay Hotel

Address: Via Lugano 18, Ponte Tresa 6988, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Ponte Tresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponte Tresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tresa Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tresa Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Ponte Tresa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresa Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.