We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel of my stay. Breakfast was skipped” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Morgana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Morgana to your Saves list
Hotel Morgana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Maderno 12, Mendrisio 6850, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mendrisio
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hotel of my stay. Breakfast was skipped”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms were super old. Walked in with a musky smell to the place. Bed was soft... not the nice soft but soft from being too used. Pillows unusable. Tv was miniscule and didn't work.

We thought breakfast would compensate for the experience but we walked right out after seeing the spread. It was the worst set up of my 8 hotel stays this trip. there was no one in the dining area.

I will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kahleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGerber78, Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Kahleong,
thank you for your feedback. We have checked bed in your room and this morning we have received from guests in the same room compliments for the good bed quality... The pillows can be ordered harder or softer - that depends on the requests of the people. The TV is working it was only switched off by the main switch. The TV's are not big - but this can also be seen on the pictures of the hotel...

Breakfast is a continental breakfast buffet and not the full american breakfast buffet that you have desired. We will add immediateley for our chinese hotel guests a rice and noodle soup for the breakfast buffet.

Kind regards
Patrick Gerber, Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is located in the area of the Cantine of Mendrisio.
Means that it is quite near the Fox Town Outlet and near the famous grotto's of Mendrisio.
Very friendly staff, this hotel has parking spots just in front of it.
The rooms are not very big, especially the bathroom, but it is the first time I see a full 70's interior without any chips or broken tiles. Very clean as well, you really feel welcome.
Nice breakfast for a 3 star hotel. This hotel is famous as well as a restaurant for Fondues for the people living in the region.
We stayed one night only as we were visiting friends and it was a perfect quality price ratio! The rooms are not expensive at all and there is even free WIFI.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susy-1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGerber78, Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Susy 1974

We thank you for your kind feedback.

We know that the Hotel is not at the state of the Art but we try to do always the necessary maintenance to keep everything clean and in function.

In the meantime in the room is not only WIFI free at your disposition, but also the minibar and a Nespresso coffeemachine.

We really hope to welcoming you soon again at the Morgana.

Patrick Gerber and the Morgana-Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It is a small family running hotel, restaurant is famous for its local Swiss meals. It is clean and has a WiFi. Very close to one of the Europe's biggest factory outlet stores - real paradise for shopaholics.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Askar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickGerber78, Manager at Hotel Morgana, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Kusman
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and also our local fondues. We look forward to welcome you soon at the Morgana.

Kind regards,
Patrick Gerber, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Lovely place for the size of the town. The other hotels in town were by gas stations or boring. This place has a nice character, with nice artifacts all over the walls, and really friendly old owners who speak many languages. They have parking, a nice restaurant and a pool. Best place in town

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bengxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendrisio
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coronado
Hotel Coronado
#1 of 7 in Mendrisio
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#4 of 7 in Mendrisio
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cascina Canova
Hotel Cascina Canova
#1 of 1 in Uggiate-Trevano
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Morgana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Morgana

Address: Via Carlo Maderno 12, Mendrisio 6850, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Mendrisio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mendrisio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Morgana 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgana is located near the center of Mendrisio in a quiet area, which guarantees a relaxing stay. Due to the proximity to the motorway exit of the arrival Mendrisio is easily accessible by car. Which guests can use public transportation to travel to the resort's bus stop.The tourist attractions FoxTown Outlet Center and the Monte Generoso are reachable within 10 minutes.The hotel has 16 different rooms - from single rooms to family rooms with 4 beds. In summer the swimming pool for a refreshing is available.For more than 47 years, you are served popular specialties such as fondue Chinoise, Bourguignonne, and cheese and cheese raclette. Various local and international dishes are prepared fresh daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Morgana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing