We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meisser

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meisser to your Saves list
Hotel Meisser
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Omer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great time in this charming hotel which is located in a beautiful small village. The hotel is run by a charming and very helpful family. The staff is very efficient and always there to make sure that everything is ok.
We loved the lawn area with the loungers. Great views and a good place to relax after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Galit45
Yes you are right, we always like to have our guests satisfied and that’s also why we are trying to do as much as possible to look after there needs. Thank you for being with us and that you have liked it so much.
We hope to welcome you back one day.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    30
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
121
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not often dies a place exceed our expectations but this One did. No way to have a prettier setting in the Alps. Rushing river and majestic peaks all around you. In a quaint small village on the side of a drive up what we consider an alley way tiny road into narrow streets in a very small village. People in the hotel exceeded our experience for helpfulness and friendliness. The hotel has all the amenities you want including live trout in a tank ready for your dinner. Room was magical. In an old hay barn transformed with all the old style and modern amenities. The food is 5 star and huge surprise. Everything they served exceeded our expectations including a breakfast you have to experience. You will not be disappointed and worth going out of the way to find

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Kwheatleyarkansas

It was such a pleasure to have you here at Guarda. Your words are making our hearts smiling!

We are so happy to have so many guests like you, to who we can show our bit of Switzerland.
You are right it is one of the unspoiled places in Switzerland; if you like it’s a peace of haven.


Travelling tip:
Many Guests do come to our part after they have seen the rest of Switzerland. This is mostly after several times being in Switzerland.
But I suggest that if someone comes even for the first time, I know, you have to see all the famous places, but plan to visit Guarda!
If you haven’t seen Guarda, you haven’t seen Switzerland!
You can take the Glacier-Express (Train) from Guarda all the way to Zermatt to the famous Matterhorn mountain! Or crossing Switzerland the other way around.
We are also happy to support you in any help you need, do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you once again and hope to see you in the paradise Guarda
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This charming hotel is located on a beautiful property and run by a very efficient and personable family. My favourite things about this place were the patio with it's magnificent views and the lawn area with loungers - perfect for star gazing. The dining room had an excellent menu. We rented bikes from the hotel as well and rode down to Scoul and trained back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear NothVancouver's

Still thinking of the good time I had at Vancouver when I lived at North Vancouver.
Thank you for rating us on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to here that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Meisser at Guarda.
Our garden really invites to relax and just be.
We are hoping to see you again.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful hotel in tastefully renovated farmhouses that have saved the charm of the past into the present. Great food at a very high level, both a la carte and our candlelight dinner, which was part of the romantic package.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wonderful Penthouse «La Charpenna» which was also part of the romantic package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Martin835
You did book the romantic getaway weekend at the Hotel Meisser at Guarda. It was a great pleasure to have you with us for this occasion. We are glad to hear that you liked you stay so much with the room “La Charpenna” and the dinners at our restaurant.
We hope to welcome you back again in the not so far future.
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Meisser in Guarda during a two week hiking trip through the Engadine region. Hotel Meisser and Guarda were two highlights of the trip. Both the village and the hotel are wonderfully charming. The Meisser family and staff gave us a very warm welcome. We could not have been happier. We also had the "historic room" mentioned in the BT John's review, which was was a treat in and of itself. There are also balcony rooms that face the valley. The village is tiny, but simply amazing in its sgraffiti decorated buildings. We would go back in a second -- indeed, will plan to do so!

Room Tip: The historic room is remarkable. It faces a cobblestone street at the front of the hotel. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Kim K

Many thanks for your words and we are glad that you have been with us. Also are we delighted that you where so happy and to learn that you like to come back again.
Yes the Engadine valley has a lot to offer, with the swiss national park and the hiking trails around Guarda it has a potential to discover where you can come back many times or just spend more time at the Hotel Meisser.
Hoping to see you soon again at Guarda
Kind regards
Benno Meisser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Guarda is a remote, beautiful and unspoilt Romansch-speaking Engadine village, with many of the stone-built sgraffito-decorated buildings dating to the sixteenth and seventeenth century, and hotel Meisser at the centre. Our room was generously sized, about 5m square, with astonishingly carved panelling on the walls and ceiling, and seventeenth/eighteenth century furniture. Herr Meisser took outstanding care of us, particularly helping out with a luggage problem. Breakfast had an outstanding variety of local produce, and the dinner menu was very good, too.

Two of our party were in rooms with a proper shower cubicle; one of the rooms has a tub with a shower attachment

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear BTJohn

Many thanks for your review!
I did check for the Luggage again. You where checking your bags in an Manchester GB and let it send to us to Guarda.

The rules are if your flight land until: 9am = delivery same day, 1pm delivery is guaranteed = next day at 10am and landing before 3pm = next day 5pm.
You can also check in with the raetische Bahn, so you don’t have to take your bags on the train until Zuerich, if you do so you can pick it up at your final destination.

I’m pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Meisser. Your room was the historic room in the main house. We only have one of them and it has 22 square meters.
We hope that the rest of your Switzerland trip was fine and hope to see you again at Guarda.
Kind regards
Benno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Having read some glowing reviews of Hotel Meisser before booking, we arrived in Guarda with high expectations. Sometimes that's a set-up for disappointment. However, in this case our expectations were not only met but exceeded. From the minute we arrived too early for check-in, and were offered the hotel office to change in so that we could hike for the rest of the day, until the minute we settled into our comfortable bed at night, we loved every aspect of this hotel: the historic buildings, the spacious grounds with their drop-dead gorgeous views, and the careful and detailed anticipation of, and attention to, guests' needs that characterizes the very best hotels. At the end of our stay, we thought (only semi-jokingly) about changing our itinerary so that we could stay right where we were.

Top features: the graciousness of the Meissers--friendly and knowledgeable but never intrusive; the sumptuous dinners (we'd highly recommend the half-board option); the proximity to hiking (no car needed); the glorious mountain surroundings; and the comfortable room that came with more amenities than we experienced in other, more expensive Swiss hotels.

Drawbacks: can't think of a single one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BennoMeisser, Owner at Hotel Meisser, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear FranciePee

With great pleasure I think back of your stay at “The Hotel Meisser” in Guarda.
I think about our talks of Vancouver, a city we like very much, and that we almost lived next to each other at North Vancouver but met here in Guarda.

I thank you so much for you overwhelming review, and hope at the same time that our future guests who will stay with us are not expecting even more what we then may can’t match anymore. We try to be good, and one of the best in Switzerland, but still we are not a 5* hotel.
My current team is very good, friendly and competent.
My wife and I are very committed to what we do and feel responsible in the 5. Generation of The Meisser’s and so can the result not be to bad.
We are looking forward to a very nice fall. It is always the driest time in the year and that makes it especially attractive for hiking. After October 10th , the larch trees will start to get yellow and with the deep blue contrast of the sky in the back?! You should come once to see this!
Kind regards for your great review and hope seeing you in the near future again.
Benno Meisser and The Meisser Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meisser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meisser

Address: Dorfstrasse 42, Guarda 7545, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meisser 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guarda, a cluster of very old intricately painted farmhouses with flowers at every window, nestles on a mountain shelf high above the Engadine Valley - one of the most picturesque hideaways in Switzerland. Happily, there is a gem of a hotel to match the perfection of the village. The Hotel Meisser is beautifully situated on a promontory overlooking the expanse of green valley below, with a terrace where guests can enjoy refreshments an fine food. The hotel, a typical Engadine farmhouse, dates back to the 17th century. Throughout the hotel there is an old-world ambiance achieved through the use of antique chests, pieces of old copper, oil paintings, and baskets of fresh flowers everywhere. The main house offers simple accommodation in rooms with shower or bath, and tree rooms afford memorable views an enjoy their own balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Meisser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meisser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.