We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party vibe, clean and good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riders Palace

Save Saved
You added Riders Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riders Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Talstation, Laax 7032 , Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Laax
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Party vibe, clean and good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. It has a party hotel vibe, the music from the bar can be heard until about 4am. They give ear plugs at the front desk to help you sleep. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was very clean and everything I needed was functional, although basic. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph_Schmidt, Geschäftsführer at Riders Palace, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

herzlich Danke für Ihre Bewertung! Es freut mich, dass Sie sich im Riders Palace wohl gefühlt haben. Gerne werde ich Ihren Kommentar betreffend der Freundlichkeit der Mitarbeiter mit meinem Team teilen.

Wir freuen uns bereits jetzt, Sie hoffentlich bald im Riders Palace und Laax begrüssen zu dürfen.

Mit freundlichen Grüssen

Christoph Schmidt
Hotels & Gastronomie
Weisse Arena Gastro AG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
10
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

'Love this place, have returned twice so far. The only potential downside is that they often have parties at the bar, really loud ones, so bring your earplugs if you intend to get some sleep prior to an early morning rise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the lobby to avoid the party noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph_Schmidt, Manager at Riders Palace, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay in the Riders Palace. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed allover your stay with us.

Looking very much forward to welcoming you hopefully soon again in Laax.

Warm regards,

Christoph Schmidt
Resort & Services
Riders Palace, a hotel of the Weisse Arena Gastro AG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Riderspalace is a stylish and relatively cheap place to stay in Laax. Hotel has a minimalistic design, meaning lots of bare concrete and glass. Rooms are simple but have everything you need. Bar lounge is great, coffee excellent. Close to the lift.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed at The Riders Palace over the last weekend in January and have to say that my expectations were exceeded. I stayed with 2 other friends in a "540" room and there was plenty of room for all three of us (fairly big dudes too!). The pictures on their web site make the rooms look smaller. The rooms are basic but very well designed and the beds were really comfortable. We received fresh towels every day.
The whole building is really col and pretty high-tech with free wi-fi available. The bar and lobby areas are great to hang out in and have a beer or a coffee. The ski lifts are less than 5 minutes walk. The resort was really quiet all weekend when we were there so I can imagine that when you stay here on a party week/end it might be a bit noisy, but hey just man up and get your groove on!
The staff were excellent, spoke brilliant English and were very helpful with all aspects of our stay - the girls were pretty hot too!
In a nut shell: If you want alarm calls, room service, snotty concierge... go stay in a hotel; If you want a cool, lively, clean, friendly, sexy place to rest your head after a great day on your board/skis and a skinful of Calandia... Riders Palace is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

for that price 265€ for a week with lift tickets per person i don't think that we could have anything better.. after all, we knew that it's a hostel..the staff is polite and cool, and the capuccino at the bar, was the best coffee ever!! Althought at weekends because its to crowdy, it's a little annoying, with all that noise. In general it was fun and i would visit it again. I'm almost 30 years old and i visit Laax for snowboarding.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Makedonia, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a good spot for everyone who wants to meet people, have fun and also get a fair value/money experience.
The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I spent one week there with 3 more friends. We had a room with bunk beds. Nothing special, but we stayed in the room only for a shower and sleep of course.
There were things going on into the lobby every night. Noise was not such a problem, but this is not a place for someone who wants to sleep by 9pm every night. They gave us free concert tickets for the hotel’s club, we met cool people, all wanting to enjoy snowboarding/skiing and also socializing. Not having a restaurant in the hotel is an issue, so be prepared to spend some money (min25€ max50€) in the restaurants in the area, since you can’t cook in the room or eat sandwiches all day every day.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

It's far too expensive for what you get! For the same price you can get a perfect room in a 4Star Hotel. I can't imagine how someone is able to give such good advises for that kind of room. It's not nearly what you see on the Homepage. It looked more like a youthhostel than like a hotel room sorry but it was a waste of money. Go to party there but stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riders Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riders Palace

Address: Talstation, Laax 7032 , Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Graubunden > Laax
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Laax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riders Palace 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riders Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riders Palace Laax
Riders Palace Hotel Laax

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riders Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.