We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maloja Palace was unique and the food was amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maloja Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maloja Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Maloja Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hauptstrasse, Maloja 7516, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maloja
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maloja Palace was unique and the food was amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed at Maloja palace. The room we had was adjacent to the main building and was flat out amazing. We could have stayed there for many days. Views were spectacular. The staff, especially the maintenance man, were great.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the adjacent "ski chalet" building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

charming belle epoque feeling. great location with easy access to all of the st.moritz-engadin sports and cultural highlights. spacious rooms with easy IKEA design furniture. imagine the splendor of the past strolling through the halls and banquet rooms. friendly service "reduced to the max". free parking, free wifi in the main hall.

Room Tip: uneven room numbers with better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staefa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

- Fantastic location off the beaten track but still close enough to St. Moritz
- Adjacent to one of the most scenic alpine environments in Europe, encompassing 14 ha including boarding on a beautiful lake
- Hotel full of History and Stories
- Very friendly Front Desk Staff, helpful cheerful
- Small Spa (Sauna, Whirlpool, etc) in excellent conditions
- beautiful rooms, with breathtaking views, great bath rooms, and kitchen corner for small breakfasts and meals (the local store offers fresh croissant and local specialities)
- I had an issue with my car and the maintenance team of the hotel was very helpful to me to assist in any way he could.
- You may happen to meet the owner, a charming italian business man and entrepreneur, he is committed and looks out to evolve the hotel to the next level

- One part of the hotel is leased to a Tour Operator who manages the bar and restaurant. This service is ok but not overwhelming. However, very friendly people of the tour operator and you get a fresh local tab beer for 3 USD....
- Leaving the hotel you just step into alpine's heaven in winter and summer. Forersts, creeks, lakes for trekking, mountain biking, sailing, you name it. There is a bus stop 100 meters away, so you may use public transport for any activities further away. a bus runs every 30 minutes
- Skipass for only 35 USD, the hotel stay if you stay over 2 nights!!!!

Room Tip: ask for clubhouse rooms, or renovated rooms (part of the hotel is leased to tour operator who is ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

An hotel with a lot of charm where you do travel in time with this deco.
Don't expect a 4 star services...
This hotel is friendly, close by to any amenities for the ski and the nordisk ski.
This management needs still to improve the services (restauration).
It gives the impression that they are busy revamping the hotel, and it's a massive building, and they are still trying to find their touch.
Good place for families, if you take a room with a kitchenette.
At the time we were there, it seems they cater for groups.
So as individuals, you could have felt less looked after.
It did not bother us, but some people may.
What to keep in mind, is that it is the sunniest part of the valley, and you are only at 14 kms to St Moritz and 19km to Pontresina.
No cover park cars, so if you come in winter make sure to have a good battery.
Plenty restaurants around the hotel to have a good dinner, the hotel's food is not bad, but I would advise to take a stroll and look around.
Concerning the breakfast in winter, largely sufficient for 20 CHF.
If you can choose your room, take it in the main building, and orientated south.
The guests people are speaking English, Italian, German, but very little French.
Rooms are very well cleaned daily, and dogs are welcome.
The wifi was working correctly in the lobby, sometimes very weak in the rooms.
The heating inside is perfect... because outside it was cold (-17°C)
You can enjoy after 16H00 massage, spa, a small gym, billiard, bibliotheque, and they have facilities to keep your skis.
For thus looking for TV channels, not too much choices and none in French. Rooms are equipped with flat screen.
Overall, for what we wanted to do, we are very satisfied and the staff always answered to our queries efficiently..

Room Tip: Suggesting you to be at the 3rd floor, rooms towards the south. Avoid the rooms in the main stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Charming architecture and interior in a good location.

The impression one gets is that the renovation is not yet completed. As the hotel waits for the number of guests to increase, the corners reserved for breakfast etc. get a bit lost in the huge rooms they are located in. This is not bad but rather creating this unusual charm.

Some things clearly need improvement like language skills of staff as well as simple things like paying for breakfast: why is it 25% more expensive if you ask for it to be charged to the room bill instead of paying for it on the spot?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

From the title of the review, you can tell my experience here was not a good one. We booked this hotel via expedia. When we arrived at our hotel, the "concierge" or front desk clerk, looked at our reservation and said in a snobbish condescending way - "you're not in the main palace. You're in the guest house at the back of the palace." When we arrived at the guest house, a nice italian lady came out to welcome us but she didn't speak a word of English. We used sign language though out our entire conversation. The guest house looks like something you would find in movies like house on haunted hills or the conjuring. It creaks and some of the lights don't work. The whole place is sensor activated so you can walk a long distance in the dark before the light goes on. And there was not a single soul in this place except for the two of us. I believe this guest house has about 30 rooms or so. The room was nice. The wifi doesn't work here. I think you have to be in the main palace for it to work. In the morning when I went to ask the concierge for tourist info, no one was around. I mean literally no one was around. They must not care at all who comes or goes. Overall, other than the thrill of sleeping in a haunted guest house, I would give this place a rotten apple out of five good apples. We paid way too much for this place to get the kind of service we got. Definitely do not recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Maloja Palace hotel have his splendor times behind - it would require major repair, BUT it all depends on what you expect from it. We had 6people bedroom with bathroom and it was quite nice: clean, with towels, heaters, hot water in the shower and welcome juice. Wifi in the lounge. Because the hotel was empty (we were the only guests!) we were offered a room with bathroom while we paid online for a shared bathroom (the one on the corridor). Staff was very friendly (kid lost the key - no problems with the replacement) even though she did not speak in any known by us language! The only language operated in the hotel off season was the italian language :)
We didn't try the meals prepared there and apparently there is a swimming pool in there..?
Close to St Moritz and ski lifts to Corvatsch. Would recommend it to Friends and Family. Will use again, this time in the Summer maybe :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maloja Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maloja Palace Hotel

Address: Hauptstrasse, Maloja 7516, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Maloja
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maloja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maloja Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Maloja Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maloja Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.