We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice hotel – but on the declining path” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort to your Saves list
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badstrasse 20 | Postfach 241, Lenk-Simmental 3775, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lenk-Simmental
GreenLeadersGold level
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still a nice hotel – but on the declining path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We’ve been about 5 times to the Lenkerhof, definitely one of the best hotels in the Alps. During the previous stays, everything was almost perfect: great location, marvellous rooms, outstanding food and wines, as well as very obliging service – you noticed that the manager and his wife were everywhere and they successfully imposed their sophisticated view of Swiss hospitality.

During our last stay, we noticed a couple of things that have changed: first, the hotel starts to olden a little bit, and some new paint and refurbishing would be a good idea – not only in the rooms, but also in the SPA which is no more the best SPA in the Alps (which it used to be, sometime in the past). Furthermore, the management has changed recently, and you notice this – unfortunately in a negative way. While the service is still very good in the restaurant (and the food even better than in the past), the service at the bar definitely presents room for improvement: unfriendly waiters that sometimes just ignore you, long waiting time and erroneous orders are not what you’d expect at this place. Furthermore, they must have started a programme for margin improvement: wines and alcohols are sometimes absurdly expensive: from a psychological standpoint, I’d prefer paying even more for my room instead of having the impression of being stiffed each time I’m ordering something to drink …

To sum it up: still a very good hotel in the Alps, but no more the best one …

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Geschäftsführer at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your honest words are important for us. In terms of the mentionend bar service, be sure that we used your comment as input to improve the service situation. Regarding our SPA area you are right. Like already planned, this year in April and Mai we were able to refurbish parts of the SPA area. And even more happenend during our closing season. We replaced all TVs against a completly new entertainment system and we are now able to offer complementary WIFI Service in the whole hotel. Step by Step we will develop our hotel conception forward and would gladly host you once again to present you our news.

With my best regards, Jan Stiller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    32
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
51
171
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the Lenkerhof during a very rainy summer weekend. We were nevertheless very pleased with our stay. The rooms are fine, the breaksfast buffet excellent as was the dinner, the staff was attentive and the spa area has all you need and more. It was nice to feel the history of the place compbined with many more modern ideas and elements. If I had to find a negative aspect, it would be the prices for the "extras" (bar, spa treatments). But overall, a wonderful experience. We might well be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenkerhof3775, Manager at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Lenkerhof visitor, it's great to hear that you spent a nice weekend in the Lenkerhof. Yes, it is true, that the Lenkerhof offers also during bad weather days a lot of attractions. Concerning the high prices for supplements: At the moment I have to accept your opinion. I guess that you had to calculate in Euros or Dollars and this causes really high prices for foreign travelers. All over we have to say, that there is a good value for money if you consider all the included services in our hotel. We hope to see you soon back at the Lenkerhof. Jan Stiller, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I cannot recommend this hotel for anyone with serious food allergies. My wife is coeliac and must avoid gluten at all costs. In a 3 day stay, she was presented with food containng gluten 3 times. We had to be constantly on our guard to make sure she did not eat gluten. Given that one cannot always recognise gluten in food, we ate our meals with some significant trepidation and could not relax.

In addition, my wife has Meniere's disease and must avoid salt wherever possible. But waiters would say there was no salt in food wihtout checking with the chef. On a couple ofoccasions, waiters assured us that a particular food had no salt but, after we had tasted the food, they agreed to check with the chef and sheepishly reported back that there was some salt.

We had decided to stay at this hotel primarily because it is supposed to be a very high quality "kur" hotel which suggests they should know about people with allergies. They assured us at check-in after detailed discussions and consultation with the chef that they could easily deal with all my wife's allergies and could give her tasty food. They failed abismally on both counts. On our second night there, my wife left the dinner hungry having been unable to find much she could eat out of the large aray of dishes offered. We got the distinct impression that the chef did not care about giving my wife suitable food.

When we discussed this with the manager, all he did was to say that he could not understand what had happened, that this was not their normal way of doing things, and that they always handle allergies well. He did apologise and sent flowers to our room (the latter was not much use as we were leaving the next day!).

At dinner that night things went better my wife's food was tastier but a waiter still delivered the wrong dish to my wife and the same happened at breakfast the next morning.

We had a lovely room, the spa was excellent when it was working which was not all the time - again a dissapointment as this was the second reason we went there.

We have never had an experience like this despite being very widely travelled.

This is a very expensive place to stay and we wouldn't have minded paying the price had the service been up to our expectations and up to what the hotel said it could and would do when we checked in.

I guess a positive thing to say is that the staff all smiled a great deal and seemed to be trying hard to please.

As I said, if you have serious allergies, think again before going to the Lenkerhof.

In respect to the optional questions, there was a free internet connection in the room but no free wi-fi. Free car parking was available outdoors but one would have had to pay to park underground which I guess you would want in winter. Spa was good when it worked but would be a bit small if the htel was full.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lenkerhof3775, Geschäftsführer at Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear Sir, Dear Madame, thank you very much for your review. Unfortunately we could not satisfy your wishes. Therefore we are very sorry and apologize once again. Especially for allergic guests we do sign out all the dishes which are gluten free with a green sign each evening in our menu. It was even more complicated to find non-gluten, non-salted and still tasteful meals for you, because you did not pre-book your stay.

Nevertheless we hope that you keep some nice souvenirs and wish you a joyful stay in Switzerland. Jan Stiller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Lenkerhof is my absolute dream hotel in the beautiful bernese oberland.
A five star hotel with a young & trendy spirit.
The food is absolutely delicious...I have been there a few times and food is even getting better - incredible!!!
It is a wonderful hotel to relax & enjoy! You feel like newly born even after a short visit at the Lenkerhof!

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We recently returned from a weekend at the Lenkerhof and I have to say I would have liked to stay a few more days. It was the end of January, the sun was out, not a cloud in the sky and the Alps were sparkling. On arrival, my husband I were offered a warm foamy orange and quince juice — and thus began 2 days of complete relaxation.
The Lenkerhof is situated in the village of Lenk in the Bernese Oberland, just steps away from the Betelberg Mountain and gondola lift. Once at the top, you can ski right down to the hotel or to other lifts. Even if you are not a down-hill skier, you can cross-country ski, snowshoe, or just walk on the many scenic paths in the area.
Our room, (called a junior suite) was a spacious bedroom with couch, Bang and Olufson stereo and flat screen TV. The terrace faced the mountains giving us the most spectacular view. The bathroom was comfortable with Italian shower, deep bath and two sinks. Toilet is separate. I suppose the decor could be described as avant-garde country-minimalist — a combination of rustic and modern, yet not too over the top in either — it is on the stark side, though for some, this can help the uncluttering begin.
There are two dining rooms, the larger with closed in terrace facing the Alps serves a 15-(albeit small) course meal where you can pick as many (or all) of the courses. It is excellent. You may not want to order all 15, but I suggest you do if you want to get the most value for your money. Each course is beautifully presented and while they may be only a few bites each, you will definitely leave the table satisfied. For breakfast, a large buffet is served here that includes everything from local meats and cheeses to fruit, eggs, yogurt, bacon and all types of grains which you can grind yourself to make your own muesli... (There are ready-made conventional cold cereals as well). The decor is modern in shades of teal and ochre with a large saltwater aquarium in the middle. The second dining room (the Mediterranean room) is only open for dinner. It is smaller, cozier, and serves a tapas-style meal. Again luscious but small courses arrive (7 in all) where you choose your main course and dessert. The ambiance is lovely — the seating for many of the tables are on “Victorian-style” settees, so you sit next to your dining partner instead of facing him/her...Lovely if you if want a little romance. Right opposite this dining room are the stairs leading down to the wine cellar. Between 6 and 7 p.m. there is a drop-in wine-tasting where you can sample and pick the wine you want to accompany your dinner.
On the weekend there is live entertainment by the fire in the bar/lobby.
What I loved most about the hotel was the gorgeous spa area. There is an indoor pool and an outdoor sulphur pool (which is filled from the natural sulphur spring in the area. The outdoor pool (which you access from the indoor pool) is heated to 34 degrees C. and includes a rack that you lie on while the bubble jets massage you. Naturally the pool faces the mountains to complete the feeling of sensory pleasure. There is a fitness room and several saunas from which to choose. The large dry sauna with picture windows that face the mountains, a dry herb sauna, a wet sulphur sauna, a bio sauna, a cold sauna and a sulphur dry sauna. Also in this area are showers as well as a resting room complete with deck chairs facing the mountains. Hot water is available from a large silver samovar and a selection of teas, sulphur water and juice are offered. Bathing suits aren’t allowed in the sauna area, just towels and robes, and some guests aren’t shy, so keep that in mind. You can also choose a whole selection of wellness therapies from traditional facials and messages, to specialty therapies like the Lenk hay peeling (using hay, herbs and grasses) mudpacks with sulphur water, stones, Tibetan sound bowls or the coffee peeling and bath in a vanilla-coocnut wrap. I opted for the soft pac — which is 40 minutes of lying on a water mattress swaddled in an herbal wrap. Very Zen! Most of the wellness therapies are expensive so be prepared to shell out anywhere from 75 - 250 CHF depending on the therapy and length of time. The staff throughout the hotel are young and very eager to please. This hotel is both a place for a romantic getaway and is also family friendly. It is expensive, but on the half-board plan with European-style haute-cuisine dining and taxes included, the prices are not that much out of line with any top hotel or restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langenthal, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel is very, very convincing! The relaxed atmosphere coupled with 5-star luxury and the corresponding service is just wonderful; and the best: no snobs to be found! You are welcomed directly at car and then guided to the friendly receptions staff that will show you around if you wish so. Welcome drink upon completion of the check-in formalities included.
Arrived in the large junior suite nostalgia we found everything necessary for our 8-month-old (baby bed, baby bath robe, lotions and oils and even a stuffed animal too !!!). The suite was well equipped (incl. B & O stereo), bed very comfortable and the mini bar with free non-alcoholic drinks. The only downside was the size of the bathroom: a bit too small. Very handy feature is that you do not need a baby phone: one simply chooses the front desks number and puts the receiver off the phone and then, if your youngest cries the front desk staff will get to you (it worked perfectly).
Complaints were handled professionally.
A true highlight, beside the nice SPA was the restaurant. We were on half board and you can choose between two different restaurants in the evening. Altogether there are about 15 courses from which one can compose his dinner - you can try out all 15 if you want! Deeply impressed by quality and presentation. The same was with the breakfast buffet: no peer found so far!
The Lenkerhof definitely ranks in our top 3 of our visited five-star hotels. We had wonderful days that have its price, however, are worth every centime. Keep it up Lenkerhof we will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Nice hotel - varying degrees of luxury in all the rooms - apparently to suit all pockets from 3, 4, to 5 star. We had a 'design room' (the mid range option I think) - the room didn't really warrant the title - it was bland and a little dated but perfectly acceptable - clean and really spacious with a decent bathroom and a lovely view. Beds large and comfortable. Complimentary mini bar providing soft drinks only. Complimentary fruit bowls to be found throughout hotel too.

The rest of the hotel is tasteful in parts, bland in others and some of the public areas have a bit of a 1990's hairdresser feel - wrought iron, steel, crushed velvet, sponge paint effects - but there are some lovely original architectural features in the building too - huge fireplace, lovely windows, original floors.

Spa area is great - all included in room price. The outdoor pool with powerful massage jets looks over the bottom of the ski slope 15 meters away. While you soak outdoors in 34 degrees, skiers and snowboarders plough past energetically at below zero. Six different types of sauna to choose from - this area is well thought out, very clean, very calm and relaxing. Herbal tea, coffee - all complimentary in this area as are some fitness sessions.

The staff are attentive - young, friendly and really enthusiastic about their jobs. Great service, willing to go the extra mile - they will readily arrange cabs, book restaurants etc, all with a happy smile.

Waiters behind the main bar will mix up a great cocktail and are great hosts. Breakfast is plentiful and good quality.

Skiing:
Closest gondola for Betelberg is one minute walk away. The skiing is in the region is pretty good - of course, it would be difficult to match Verbier or Zermatt and the geography of this particular alpine area means you'll find some steep pistes which will flatten out for a while, then get steep again rather than the complete downhill descents you might find a bit further south. Decent variety of slopes in Adelboden-Lenk region and a quick chat with a ski slope employee confirmed that some of the blue pistes in the region should really be reds, some reds are closer to black. No further explanation offered for this however but you may (?) find some slopes slightly more challenging than advertised. Beginners slopes on Betelberg use drag lifts rather than magic carpets. Ski passes available from hotel reception - hotel provides 5 CHF shuttle service to larger Adelboden-Lenk ski stations too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort

Address: Badstrasse 20 | Postfach 241, Lenk-Simmental 3775, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Lenk-Simmental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Lenk-Simmental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lenkerhof in Lenk close to Gstaad features a wide range of up-to-date wellness facilities including indoor and outdoor pools, saunas, steam baths and jacuzzis.You can unwind in the open-air sulphur pool, enjoy a massage, bathe in the music tub, or simply indulging in a beauty treatment.Fine à-la-carte Mediterranean or Swiss cuisine with a French touch is served in the restaurant. Combined with the stunning views from the winter garden you will enjoy a great dining experience. Wine tasting is offered from 18:00 to 18:30.The exclusively furnished rooms in the Lenkerhof Alpine Resort provide for a peaceful night's rest. The alcohol-free drinks at the minibar are free of charge.Private indoor parking is subject to a charge. Free parking outdoors is available as well ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenkerhof Alpine Hotel Lenk-Simmental
Lenkerhof Gourmet Spa Resort Switzerland/Lenk-Simmental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.