We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Master of Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Lachen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Lachen to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Lachen
Hafenstrasse 4, Lachen 8853, Switzerland (Formerly Al Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lachen B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Master of Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Rooms too expensive!! Food was mediocre: Precooked pasta, so forget al dente. Service at the Steakhouse sooo slow.... very umpolite... can not really recommend it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
30
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This was the fourth time I stayed at the Al Porto in Lachen... and I loved it every single time. The rooms are great while the (lakeside) view is spectacular. The little marina out front is almost too cute, the hotel service is impeccable and the seminar rooms are bright and airy. The restaurant is good (service here is a little rough at times) but altogether I can do nothing but highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-side room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Have been to the top hotels all over the world, this one is one of the best in location, service, top rooms, all what you want when you staying in a good hotel, checked in and had 2 people assisting in the front desk for smooth check in, had a few doubts and it was sorted out smoothly as well, co-incidently both of them also had similar names, they are both called Ms Stefanie. they did their best when ever i had a question,

The dinner was at resturant Osteria, and like always the staff there is excellent and the food is excellent as well, we have been to this hotel before for a stay and also dining at Osteria , we infact deceided to make it a at least once a year outing there , such service and hospitality is almost forgotten in many hotels and the one's who still have it keep getting their clients back always.

Yes would recomend anyone to stay there and its absolutely a wonderful place.

Room Tip: try the junior suite, its worth the extra price :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Lachen is a drive away from Zurich and other metropolitan Swiss areas. But its location is very beautiful indeed and the peacefulness is ideal for concentrated business meetings. The atmosphere is quite modern and elegant and although there are a number of different restaurants plus the idyllic harbour illumination at night, I probably wouldn't choose this hotel for a private / romantic reason as it is too cool and clean. But with the top modern equipment, the beautiful rooms, the exceptional service and the good (and light) food: if your business here doesn't work out, you certainly cannot blame the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently for the third time and I still have nothing bad to say about it! The rooms are lovely, especially those with a view over the lake, breakfast is great in the airy restaurant fronting on to the lake, and staff couldn't be more helpful (even when we were checking in after midnight). Prices are also very reasonable for what you get. Only tiny criticism (not their fault) would be that the local taxi drivers don't seem to know where the hotel is...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I have now staid many times at this hotel during my business trips to Switzerland. The hotel is perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms with a lake view have a balcony but are of decent size. The breakfast is excellent. Several restaurants are along the lake front and the food is excellent though can quickly be pricey. I will definitely go back for my next trips and I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

First time travellers to Switzerland and Lachen and the country certainly lives up to its reputation, clean, efficient and beautiful - the hotel Marina Al Porto is no exception. Its a lovely modern hotel right on Lake Zurich and the hotels bar/restaurants seem to be the main hub of activity in the town. My husband was on a business related trip and our room which was provided by the company was rather small for two people so if your on a leisure trip I would recommend upgrading to a larger room overlooking the lake. The facilities were very good though as was the breakfast. Travelling alone, I took the train direct from Zurich airport to Lachen (S2 line 19 Swiss fr.) and that proved trouble free. The Al Porto was an easy five minute walk from the station. One thing to be aware of if you are a light sleeper is that the church bells sound right throughout the night, ringing on the hour and chiming every quarter - I think this is the norm in Switzerland though and the hotel will provide some very effective earplugs - don't let it put you off!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Lachen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Lachen

Address: Hafenstrasse 4, Lachen 8853, Switzerland (Formerly Al Porto)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Lachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Lachen is the experience promenade and food court at the southernmost point of Lake Zurich. The hotel, three different restaurants and a lounge bar ensure relaxing moments right by the water. However, it is not only its variety and location that make Marina Lachen attractive. You can also enjoy the personal commitment of staff and the feeling of being far from everyday life, although you are only 20 minutes by car from the business metropolis of Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marina Lachen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Lachen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.