We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Waldau

Parkhotel Waldau
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Waldau to your Saves list
Parkhotel Waldau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seebleichestrasse, Rorschacherberg 9404, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great personal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My family spent one night at this hotel with a lovely view over Bodensee lake. The couple who runs the hotel was very kind and helpful. We got lovely, old, spacious rooms with new bathrooms and a view to the lake. Because we were really tired after a long day, we decided to have a dinner at the hotel. That was really good decision because we had the best wienerchnitzel ever! The dinner was super. The hotel was a bit pricey from Finnish point of view, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We discovered hotel Waldau by chance when googling for a hotel at lake Constance. Already at arrival we liked the setting of the hotel surrounded by its large and cosy garden.

We found out that the hotel had reopened early July after having been closed for 2 years. The hotel has been tastefully renovated in a contemporary style but still keeping its original charm. It used to be a boys school a long time ago.

We were a group using 3 rooms. The rooms facing the lake have a nice lake view but we noticed that our room, as it also faced the main road and train track, was a bit noisy with the windows open. The garden rooms have a lovely view over the terrace, garden and the hill behind and are calm.

The dinner in the evening which we had on the terrace was divine. The quality of the food was at a level of many multiple star rated hotels.

The new management and staff were very friendly and service minded and paid attention to details.

We will happily return when visiting this part of lake of Constance.

Swiss and Swedes from the Zurich area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coriano, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We used this hotel as a starting point and destination for our bike ride around Constance Lake. The hotel has an old-fashioned, but would need a renovation. The room was very spacious, unfortunately when we were there we had very hot and the lack of air conditioning was very annoying. The restaurant was excellent, even a bit expensive, but like Switzerland in general

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

This hotel is literally dying. We learned it is due to close at the end of the season and not before time. Staff and food all fine, but the location is bad with a busy road, buildings and a train line in between it and the lake. The tennis court is overgrown, the sauna / steam room out of service for most of the time and when in operation only tepid. Find another place to stay.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed one night at the Park Waldau and although it was clean, it was hardly anything special despite the 4 stars. Can't quite figure out how it got so many stars since it's right above train tracks, which obscure the view of the water. The grounds badly need sprucing up, and so do the rooms. Our bathroom was definitely dated. We had no problems with the staff, which was helpful and courteous when we asked for help finding the right road out of town. If you stay here, you are on the outskirts of Rorschach, which is on the Bodensee. Although the hotel boasts of being located on the water, it really isn't. If you decide to stay here, you'll get a clean, 2-star room, but don't expect much more. That way you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Waldau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Waldau

Address: Seebleichestrasse, Rorschacherberg 9404, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rorschacherberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Rorschacherber...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Waldau 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Parkhotel Waldau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Waldau Switzerland/Rorschacherberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Waldau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.