We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You may never want to stay in another hotel again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
Schachenstrasse 39, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Belvedere Spiez)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You may never want to stay in another hotel again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place was exceptional! The view was beyond anything that I could have expected, the little town was exceptionally inviting and everything was perfect. Their some great places to eat down by the water, the walking is gorgeous and the rooms are perfect.

Having a Balcony on the second floor looking over the lake made it even better. The Nespresso Machines in each room had great coffee and the beds were very comfortable.

Each room is sized well for a european room and has everything you need for a great stay.
Above all its QUIET! The serene quality of this place is second to none.

If you need a place to get away from it all, this is the place.

The only downside is the fitness facilities that are lacking variety, but you don't come here to workout.

Room Tip: Face the lake and you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked the hotel for New Year period, we were pleasantly welcomed and got a lake view room.
What I did not find pleasant was that our room was on the new constructed wing from the left of the hotel , we had exactly the last room and unfortunately it was not so warm. In December/January the temperatures outside are quite low and the heaters from out room barely heated.
Also I found it quite disturbing that I had to ask for the WI-FI code every 24 hours.

That would be about it that we found disturbing, the staff was nice, one of the receptionists,a blonde one was a bit rude to me regarding New Years Eve dinner, but I did not let this bother me.

The food is excellent, they are really nice and want to make the best of you experience.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to other people, mostly for older couples in their 40s,50s,60s.
The Spiez area is gorgeous and I highly recommend to also visit Jungfraujoch and maybe Geneva if you have the chance.

Room Tip: Try and book the rooms above reception area. The view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Professional personnel, idyllic atmosphere in the belle époque style by excellence at the lake Thun, the place to visit when you're in the area! And if you love tartar, then enjoy one of the best tartar, prepared at the table, just awesome!

Room Tip: Take the junior suite for extra charme
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you are looking for a practical, comfortable, friendly seminar hotel with quite good food and yet fast and adaptable service, this is the place ! I just spent 4 nights there with a party of 10 and all were delighted.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a comfort room with lake view, and from reading the reviews we were really excited to visit this hotel, from the outside it was as expected, but when we got to our room we were immediately disappointed, the rooms are located in an extension to the hotel, which looks like a very ugly addition that does not even match the beauty of the original hotel, the room was large enough and so was the bathroom, but with paint peeling over the bath and chipped paintwork on the door frames and radiators we felt a bit like second class citizens for booking this room which I might add is expensive.
The rest of the hotel is done very nicely and the staff are friendly, it has a good facilities, but we could not get over the feeling that if we had paid more, we would have been more appreciated.
It has a feeling that it used to be the hotel in the area, and now it is just a hotel which is a shame.
It also does not have aircon which in Summer is a major negative especially when there is a wedding on, so you cannot open windows for the noise.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the nasty extension but get a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schneider M, Manager at Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you liked our friendly staff and the facilities.
The Belvédère Strandhotel & Restaurant has different room categories – you have booked the comfort lake view.
Some of those rooms are on the ground level of the Hotel and they offer a great lake view and are large for the “standard” category.
The rooms have also been renovated in 2011/2012 – so there is nothing about different classes in our Hotel. It is to say that there is a difference between a standard “comfort room” and superior rooms and suites.
Furthermore are the prices fair and similar (or often lower) than in other Hotels at same category in the region.
We also have not received any feedbacks that your were unsatisfied during your stay – so that we are a surprised receiving such a negative feedback from you.
As you see and as we know - there are no other feedbacks like this and we have regulars which are only visiting the Belvédère because of this rooms!
We can also ensure that is does not get hot in the rooms. We would be very thankful if you have any issues in the future that you let us know them right away so that we can react just on time to inconvenience you might feel.

We feel really sorry that you could not enjoy your stay as you have expected it. It would be nice to invite you to a glass of our lovely Spiezer wine during your next stay to talk about your issues.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the perfect getaway for one or two nights! The hotel is beautiful and quiet and one have to profit from the lovely Spa area: one big outdoor pool ("Serenity style"), sauna, big indoor jacuzzi and a room with some gym equipment. Free lemonade and a table with dried fruits and nuts are offered in the spa area. Unfortunately I cannot make a comment about the restaurant, since I have not tried it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

It's always been a good hotel in a nice position but with the recent refurbishment it really is excellent .Beautiful modern rooms , lovely views , great service , collection to/from the station , a great ( if somewhat expensive restaurant ) and convenient for public transport through well connected Spiez railway station . There's a lovely lakeside walk to/from Faulensee ( 40 mins each way ) and the castle and town nearby . The restaurant serves local wines and food . I decided on a breakfast in the Panorama restaurant on the Shilthorn - it took 2 hours each way via Interlaken and Murren - the hotel was helpful in making arrangements . Will stay again when in the area !

Room Tip: lake view are great , superior rooms have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schneider M, Manager at Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Many thanks for your feedback. We are so happy that you enyoed your stay in the Belvédère and the region of bernese overland.
The beautyful way from Spiez to Faulensee celebrate this year the 100st birthday and you will find a lot of informations on the way.
Best regards and we will hoppely see you soon
Markus Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant

Address: Schachenstrasse 39, Spiez 3700, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Belvedere Spiez)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Spiez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Spiez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful recently (2012) complete renovated luxury Hotel in the Alps of the Bernaise Overland, situated on the Lake of Thun. Enjoy the hotel facilities or the unforgettable Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Strandhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.