We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable View in old Walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Au Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bellevue Au Lac to your Saves list
Bellevue Au Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Staatsstrasse 1, Hilterfingen 3652, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hilterfingen
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievable View in old Walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The building is probably from the early 30th directly at the lake of Thun only with a small path for walkers between hotel and lake. The view is spectacular: the blue lake and behind the green soft hills followed by the majestic mountains from the Berner Alps. The famous Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau are there on the left handside. Just behind the hotel is the mainstreet and if you have a light sleep ask for a front lake room, which provides you anyway the best panorama. The hotel is not at all fancy or posh, you will not find a spa. The room we had was not small and had a tiny balcony. The bathroom is old with a tub. There is only one lift and if you are in a hurry, then you might decide to take the stairs and climb the three or four levels. The staff is very friendly and efficient, they re-opened the bar after midnight when we asked for some drinks. The food is good but there is not a star chef in the kitchen. For us the breakfast was good enough: a buffet with a small choice of cold meat and cheese; bread, croissants, butter, jam; muesli, fresh fruits, joghurts, oj, coffee and tea. There is no service and on a sunny day you just take your food and sit at a table on the terrasse. Uncomplicated and somehow you feel at home. If you need personnel that is pampering you all around the clock, then this might be not the right place.

Room Tip: Book and insist on a frontal lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We were very fortunate to find this truly amazing spot ! We are normally the type of couple that do not plan our trips fully and always like to discover new locations. This many times has its ups and downs but it enables us to find truly unique places. Bellevue au Lac was for sure one of the highlights of our trip and a truly unexpected surprise. From the great warm and unobtrusive service to the fabulous location right by the lake. This Hotel has definitely hit our spot. We were also fortunate enough and had great sunny weather. The reception team was great at organizing a sailing trip for us around the lake. This was the best ending to an unexpected but marvelous weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for a family reunion and had a great time. Service and food were great, rooms very clean, and they were family friendly and helpful. (There is even a little playground out near the garden restaurant, so the kids can play, and mommy can drink a coffee!) The food was good and there was something for every palate, but the best part is the view of the lake and the Alps. Next time, I hope I can go there with my husband for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

If you are a lover of Swiss Hospitality and you want to mingle with the Swiss nature and create memorable pictures for your stories to tell, then Bellevue Au Lac is definitely your destination. Being an experienced hotelier myself, i really enjoyed over my last visit in Switzerland my stay at this beautiful hotel which includes inside its wall a whole history! Only the view on arrival is breathtaking! The room was spacious and i certainly don't have anything to mention regarding the culinary experience i had! My favorite outlet and certainly my suggestion is the Brasserie with tastes which will satisfy any palate!!!Friendly staff everywhere willing to assist you at any time. The view of the lake will let you speechless!Me and my wife will definitely become repeaters whenever we visit Switzerland again. A value for money for your unique holidays!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stopped on the way to Interlaken and were pleasantly surprised. The service was very good and we had a very enjoyable meal at the restaurant (we received free aperitifs as hotel guests). The room and breakfast were good and we even got a discount on the room. Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a partial view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The hotel looks great from the outside, it has stunning views on Lake Thun and the mountains from the restaurant. As we stepped into the lobby we were greeted by friendly front desk staff. The lobby as well as the restaurant looked good, were designed in an upscale manner. The room rate was not too high (I would have expected more, by the looks of lobby and retaurant). As we stepped into our room I knew why... again, superb views onto the lake, but everything else was... well - old. It was clean and we did have a good nights sleep and everything, the interrior was not worn out badly, it seemed to be thrown together without much thought and love. The room just didn't fit the impression of the place we've gotten while downstairs. The bathroom clearly had seen better times (I'd say the interrior was from the late '70ies). Minor repairs had been done here and there, but it all looked like I'd been doing the repairs (I'm terrible at DIY stuff at home!).

The breakfast buffet was good, standard fare you can get in every ***-hotel.

Overall: great views, good food in the restaurant, friendly staff, rooms should be renovated and refurbished by somebody who knows about what customers expect on the whole range.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

In the last 12 years I stayed in this hotel 4 or 5 times, because I like the location and the superb view. During this time the ownership has changed 3 times, and each time it is getting a little worse. When I stayed in 2008 I was really surprised about the lousy room cleaning. The floor was cleaned only every second or third day and occasionally they even forgot to empty the waste basket. And the bath room was done in the same way. It is really sad to see how such a nice hotel is run down.
Beside the room cleaning I do not have any bad comments, but I would like to recommend that the cleaning staff is replaced.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Au Lac

Address: Staatsstrasse 1, Hilterfingen 3652, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Hilterfingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hilterfingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Bellevue Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Au Lac Hilterfingen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Au Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.