We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Blanc

Sol Blanc
Molinet, 14, 17256 Pals, Spain
+34 972667365
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Pals
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice home cooking in lovely authentic surroundings. Not cheap but very nice and the produce is home grown. If you find it go there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ampurdan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Jose and his wife run an excellent restaurant in the area of Pals, with local specialities and seasonal dishes. Their roasted pigeon is probably the best I have ever had. Their kitchen is simple but delicious! The good wine list always helps make the meal even more special.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Idyllic scenery and outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had an evening reservation and chose to sit outside as the view across the countryside to the medieval city of Pals in the background was stunning, especially as the sun was going down. We were on a small terrace shaded by vines. The iberico ham was so tasty, and my husband had the home-made foie gras which was tastier than any foie gras I've tasted in France.
Unfortunately we had to move inside, as being twilight, the mosquito's were even hungrier than us and a bit out of control, but the staff were very sympathetic and accommodating. As we had a our restless 2 year old, they put us in the room with high vaulted ceilings. It was such a lovely building and setting.
For our mains we both had the lamb which was extremly flavoursome, washed down with a full bodied local DOC Emporda.
I would urge people to go to this restaurant if visiting the area. Our daughter was particularly fascinated with the establishments old friendly dog!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Catalonian food in an idyllic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Our favorite meal during a trip to Barcelona and Costa Brava. In a great old farmhouse building with view of Pals. The jamon Iberco and rice from Pals were standout dishes. Friendly service, very good wine selection. Memorable.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, pleasant, calm surroundings and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We feel obliged to write our first review because of the very good food and service we enjoyed at this calm placebunt no other guests for lunch! Somebody are definetly having their lunch at wrong places when this place is so calm. As a party of 2 adults and 2 children we enjoyed quite a few of the dishes. The homemade foie gras for starters, the lamb shoulder and especially the duck was excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Blanc also viewed

Pals, Costa Brava
 

Been to Sol Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.