We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem on the coast of Cataluña” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Punta, 17256 Pals, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A real gem on the coast of Cataluña”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a real discovery in the village of Pals at one hour of the city of Gerona. The Sa Punta hotel is a very comfortable place to stay near several golf courses. The food is excellent and the management of the hotel is full of attention for the guests.
Make sure to try one evening the restaurant and do spend sometime at the swiming pool.
The rooms are spacious enough and all the amenities are inluded. Last but not least the prices are very reasonable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We really liked the hotel - rooms were good, outdoor area was gorgeous with lovely gardens in which breakfast was served, huge seawater pool and good seating area around it, open-air dining area for lunch and dinner.

We also really enjoyed the food from the restaurant. It is Michelin star quality - albeit with a price tag to match. However as a treat meal, it is worth the spend......

Or it would be worth the spend, if it were not for the sloppy and inattentive service that we got. The Maitre d ignored us on several occasions - no wine list, no bill (we actually walked out without signing due to our frustrating 10 minute wait on a quiet evening - there were only 5 other tables on the go). Look - I understand it was high season August and there were probably regulars to be taken care of but this is a high price experience and flawless service should follow.

Breakfast service was equally cold (albeit again the food was really good - excellent choice of hams, cheeses, cereals, fruits and hot dishes).

Front desk was fine - very helpful with printing boarding passes but less than effusive with smiles, greetings etc. at check-in etc.

All in all, don't let the service detract from this hotel - it is a really nice place. If the service was better, it would be a truly excellent place.

(We've stayed in Pals/Begur before - it's a great part of the world - the Sa Riera beach is one of my favourite places anywhere - even in mid-August it wasn't overrun with people and the ambience is perfect !)

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel - better views over the gardens, pool and out to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a cycling holiday in Northern Spain and were delighted with the hotel. It is very comfortable with a beautiful freshwater swimming pool. The food we had was absolutely delicious - we ate from the table d'hote menu as part of our deal. We wandered down to the beach one afternoon and were a little bit disappointed as, although it is a lovely beach, it felt very commercialised. The hotel is definitely a little oasis in the centre of a busy resort. The owners have been in the hotel business for a very long time and it shows. A very professionally run hotel which we wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey Heath, Herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had booked an apartment through Owners Direct in Sa Punta, Platja de Pals on the Costa Brava. So disappointed were we with the accommodation that we walked away from it (FYI: Owners Direct reference S20620, Urb. Sa Punta 59 - do not touch this property with a barge-pole, it was ghastly) and checked into a nearby hotel that turned out to be the most wonderful and unexpected delight.

From the first moment of walking in, the receptionist - Maria - made us feel welcome and special. The grounds of the hotel are exceptionally good and the swimming pool is outstanding - a pool big enough to do real swimming! The hotel room was very good indeed. Huge comfortable bed with nearby switch to operate the electronic black-out blinds. Big balcony. Lovely bathroom. Slippers, robe, lots of goodies. We had a deal that included breakfast and made full use of this to save money on lunches after the debacle of the apartment which had been a very costly mistake. The breakfasts were one of the highlights of the day, sitting on the breakfast room patio, looking out onto the beautiful grounds, eating plate after plate of delicious food, fruit, pastries and drinking the kind of good strong coffee you can only find in the Med. Exceptional!

We treated ourselves to dinner in the highly-regarded restaurant just once as it is rather expensive. The dining space is delightful, as was the service and food. Steer clear of the restaurants near the beach and head to the little villages inland - Pals, Palau-Sator, Peratallada - where you will find enchanting buildings and good restaurants galore.

Thank you, Hotel Sa Punta for saving the day and turning a terrible start into a great holiday!

Room Tip: We saved money by choosing a room that looked over the car-park rather than the swimming pool. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I did a spontaneous road trip for our honeymoon. Before finding the sa punta hotel, I hate to admit, we had been bickering over directions and hotels. The woman at the desk was so wonderfully kind and also bumped us up to a really nice suite. We were back in happy honeymoon land in no time. We drank cocktails and napped by the luxury pool. For dinner, we opted to explore Begur. I highly recommend it. It is a really special place and the restaurant in the hotel aguaclara was right up our alley in the charm department. The breakfast at the Sa Punta was great and you can enjoy it outside on the green grass amidst the flowers and trees. We were only there one night and we didn't make it down to the beach but enjoyed our relaxing time hanging on our balcony, the hotel pool, and recharging for the next part of our adventure:)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

A friendly boutique Hotel. Comfortable clean, superb Pool and a magnificent Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Great place to stay on the Costa Brava. Very pretty setting, about a 5 minute walk down to the beach. The beach here is about 5-6 miles long and very wide. The restaurant is quite expensive but the food is outstanding. Breakfast buffet is a good deal if you eat a lot for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta

Address: Punta, 17256 Pals, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurante Sa Punta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.