We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little flexibility” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mas Salvi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mas Salvi Hotel to your Saves list
Mas Salvi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Carmany 13 | Mas Salvi s/n, 17256 Pals, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Lausanne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little flexibility”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed in the hotel for the wedding of a friend. I was very disapointed when they did not serve me breakfast in my room, even though I asked if it was possible the day before. I believe that such an expensive hotel should show more flexibility for the clients. From my point of view the price is excesive for the service you get.
Otherwise rooms are beautifuls and the environment too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schwyz, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We absolutely loved it! The junior suite in the new building was spacious (especially the bathroom), clean and very stylish decorated.

Service was multilingual and extremely professional. We asked for a romantic restaurant and we got it (in Sa Tuna, Begur). We got lunch at the pool although kitchen was already closed (4pm). The breakfest was very good!! We were very satisfied and we would love to go back!

You will need a car as the hotel is a little outside of Pals and the coast is about 3-5 miles away (you have to visit Aiguablava and Sant Marti d'Empuries!!)

  • Liked — landscape, food
  • Disliked — slow internet connection
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

We spent a weekend with our two year old son. We loved it! We stayed in a junior suite (the smallest room) and it was very good. Nicely decorated, very large, lovely bathroom and great terrace in front of the woods.. Service was great. Child friendly, attentative, multilingual and extremely professional. We asked for a baby sitter so that we could enjoy the restaurant and we were very pleased with her professionality and friendliness. The food at the restaurant was really superb and we got excellent advise on wines (we enjoyed the food much better than in other restaurants nearby such as Castell de l'Emporda). All and all we were very satisfied and we would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

Mas Salvi is a charming small hotel on the Costa Brava, a few miles/km from the beach. It is constructed around an 18th century farm house in the countryside outside of Pals. The rooms in the new building are large, each with its own terrace and a genrously-sized bathroom. The "suites" in the old farmhouse have smaller bedrooms but have more charm and a balcony or a garden terrace. The food at the restaurant is very good and the staff is very helpful and very friendly, particularly the manager, who went out of her way to ensure that we were happy and having a good stay. We had an excellent experience and enjoyed our time there immensely.

The only downside we found was the occasional disturbance of events that were held there. This may be a consequence of the time of year--we were there just before the high season, when the hotel is full of other guests and most likely will not have room for such things. (If you're looking to have a wedding or other event in the area, this would be a top choice.) The hotel was very understanding, however, and more than compensated us for the disturbance (which in any case turned out to be minor). Another issue: do check when the restaurant is open, because when it is closed no food is available other than breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas Salvi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Salvi Hotel

Address: Calle Carmany 13 | Mas Salvi s/n, 17256 Pals, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mas Salvi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mas Salvi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mas Salvi
Mas Salvi Hotel Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas Salvi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.