We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and play golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Costa Golf & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Costa Golf & Beach Resort to your Saves list
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Arenales de Mar 3 - Este | Playa de Pals, 17256 Pals, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax and play golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you enjoy playing golf and also love the beach then this is an ideal choice of resort for a relaxed trip. The golf course is very good and well maintained with good facilities for players of all ages and levels. The Hotel has good facilities for the family and specially kids can enjoy the pool and tennis courts. The food is good and the rooms are tiday. Staf is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    104
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
133
100
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are coming to this hotel to play golf, you will not be disappointed. Everyone we spoke to waxed lyrically about the course and its facilities. However, if you are coming between 15 September and the end of October, when the hotel closes, (in any year, so we understand), hoping for a relaxing week in the hotel and around the pool, walking along the beach, sitting at bars, eating in restaurants, shopping, please be warned: your holiday will be a huge disappointment! We arrived on Thursday, 27 September at 2330 hrs to find the hotel basically silent. Although we had booked half board, there was nothing available to eat either left in our room or available anywhere else in the hotel, and the bar was, we were advised 'shortly closing'. We wouldn't accept the first room offered - small and dingy, overshadowed by a large pine tree and facing onto the road. After requesting a pool or golf-course view, we were given what was supposedly 'the only other room available in the hotel' which was also shrouded in pine trees, had awful brown furniture, a TV perched on a chipped DIY-type of stand and no dressing table. The quality of the bathroom was excellent (shame the room didn't match it), as was the cleanliness and quality of the beds. However, as others reviewers state, this definitely is not a four-star standard hotel.

After breakfast next morning - an exceptionally limited choice with small amount of fresh fruit, no hot plates to be found anywhere and the hot food nearly cold as the warmers didn't appear to work - we asked at reception where we could obtain towels to sit around the pool. At this point, we were advised that the pool was closed, the area around it and the pool bar were closed, the beach bar was closed and there was nowhere in the hotel where we could obtain food during the day. We asked where the nearest shops were, to be told that there weren't any. There was one restaurant (rather expensive) but nothing else!!!

Disbelieving, we walked outside. Sure enough, the access points to the pool area were locked; the pool bar well and truly shuttered; the beach bar was filled with stacked tables and chairs and looked as though it hadn't been open for a long time. Whilst there were straw sunshades and stacked sunbeds on the beach, they had also disappeared by our last day! As for walking on the beach, it is made of very course sand and slopes steeply to the sea's edge making walking hard work. There is also a lagoon which bisects the beach and at high tide, is not passable, curtailing any attempt to walk the length of the beach. As for bars, restaurants, shops - there was only the one restaurant; no bars, no shops.

Whilst September should have been a fairly warm month, walking on the beach on several of the days out of our week's holiday was reminiscent of Bamburgh beach in the north of England, close to where we live - something warm to wear and waterproof (we experienced torrential rain, thunder and lightning on our third day!!) - recommended.

Returning to the hotel in the evening, we had each paid an extra £209 for half board and were looking forward to a quality buffet selection for dinner. No such luck! As there are so few people who eat dinner in the hotel, there is a set menu with three choices for each of three courses. However, there was again a distinct lack of fresh fruit, vegetables and salads, and we found that what obviously wasn't eaten one night, re-appeared in a different form on the menu the next evening. Quantities were either over-generous or hardly there at all, the quality of the food was poor and was never served on hot plates. One plus point: the bread was freshly made every day and was delicious! Shame it didn't come with butter.

In summary, please make sure that if you go to this resort, you have a car available. We eventually found a Spar supermarket about 25 minutes walk from the hotel, but if you want a choice of bars, restaurants and shops, you have to be prepared to travel. Equally, if you are a golfer and preferably Spanish, French or German, you will be well treated. If not a golfer and English, you won't be!! Just a fact - not said maliciously. NB: on the first day of the sun coming out, we were rather surprised at the number of OAP nudies who suddenly appeared on the beach, unbelievably close to the apartment blocks lining the beach (shuttered, as you might expect) - but not a sight you would want your children to see and not a place for children, in any event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with extensive facilities - an expansive swimming pool and seating area, tennis courts, children's playground and, of course, the beautiful La Costa golf course.
The rooms are comfortable, breakfast is a bit limited and repetitive but perfectly adequate; evening dining at the hotel is OK, though it's worth driving 10 minutes to some of the surrounding towns - Peratallada, Begur and Pals in particular - all have stunning scenery and great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Each September, we take a city break but as the weather has been so poor this year, we decided to take a different type of break - more relaxing with some "guaranteed" sunshine. We agonised on where to book and were heavily influenced by Trip Advisor reviews. This is NOT luxury class and our immediate impressions were that is a very good 3 star. However as the week progressed, we began to appreciate the experience that they were delivering and the fact that the hotel is a little "tired", the staff more than compensated for it.

The food is very average and after the first evening, where my wide was unable to eat either of the 2 main dishes praesented to her, we ate all evening meals in local restaurants. (the restaurant did not charge us for her main dishes and gave us both a desert at no fee - without being asked. Excellent attempt to retrieve the situation which we appreciated)

The hotel was less than half full and if you want a relaxing break in mid summer avoid. If however you have a young family, then the pool facilities and resident safety attendant, will make it a great choice.

It is adjacent to the golf course which we used - it's 40 euro for 18 - a little expensive for what it delivers, but OK for "holiday golf" - not for golfing groups that want more of a challenge. 40e is based on hotel residency.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Ï´ve been visiting this hotel every year since 1996. I have never ever been disapointed The hotel, the restaurant, the crew, and the golf course. You can't find a better combination anywhere in the world, believe me i travel a lot!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Balty the owner manages to provide lunch to 42 children seated at one large table all having fun. Great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

As organiser of our golf society's annual tour - 24 in total - cannot praise to highly both La Costa as a resort/hotel or the standard of service by all their staff.

From the start of the planning of our tour the reservation staff were unfailingly efficient and helped arrange all our transfers , restaurant bookings and our golf tee times.

The hotel is a clean modern low rise complex a short walk from the sea. Facilities which include a great swimming pool are of a good standard as are the lounge /bar and restaurant areas.

Must mention the dinner that the hotel arranged for the group. A reserved area located on the terrace by the pool was set up for us and we enjoyed what was generally agreed by all to be the best of the three dinners we had on the trip. Finally a word on the staff , everyone that looked after us was courteous, helpful and responded with a smile.

All in all was very pleased with the overall experience and would not hesitate to return.

All in all La Costa was a gem of a find for us and can

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Costa Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Costa Golf & Beach Resort

Address: Av. Arenales de Mar 3 - Este | Playa de Pals, 17256 Pals, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Costa Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort La Costa is a 4 star hotel located nearby the beach of Pals (Costa Brava). Inside the complex you have a tropical pool, tennis cort and one of the best golf courses of Spain, Golf Platja de Pals (Top ten Spanish Golf Courses-Peugeot Guide)Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Costa Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Costa Golf And Beach Resort
La Costa Golf & Beach Hotel Pals
La Costa Hotel Beach
La Costa Golf & Beach Resort Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Costa Golf & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.