We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So not like the cypsela of old'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cypsela Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pals
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypsela Resort
Save
You added Cypsela Resort to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   c/ Rodors 7, 17256 Pals, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pals
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So not like the cypsela of old'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived without booking for camping pitch unsure as to whether we would find space. It was largely deserted! We paid about 80 euros for 2 adults and 3 children per night(all children charged as adults as over 10 ) and pitch ( not most expensive pitch available) it has most definitely lost its 'heart'
The wash blocks are no where near as clean as they used to be . The entertainment was dreadful in the main(Chinese acrobats excepted)
There were not enough staff in the bar so getting a drink was painful!
The last week we were there the courtesy bus to beach was replaced by minibus driven by any member of staff(did they all really have appropriate driving licences?) and with too few seats we shared!! This was now low season and our fee reduced by 3 euros a night!
They had a choice of about 5 ice creams for children
Yes the supermarket is well stocked and priced. It is run by the local supermarket group and staffed by said supermarket
We had fab weather which made it but what has happened to the busy great cypsela of old? For the price of independent camping I don't think we will go back
It may well work out favourably priced with a tour operator or their own units

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    44
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
88
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Cypsela having read some great reviews. We took our own large tent and paid for a shady spacious pitch with electricity and water.
I was amazed at how clean the whole resort was kept, and they even went around with trucks during the quiet times to sprinkle water on the roads to prevent dust. The facilities were great and we loved the pool area as it was vast.
The supermarket onsite was well stocked and reasonably priced too, especially the wine!!
My only griped would be the Cypsy mini-club disco only featured 3 times in the week, and my little one was disappointed when we went to the bar/entertainment area and nothing was happening at all.
The bar and restaurant service was also extremely slow. I feel that due to the economic problems in Spain, they maybe can't afford the staff.
Overall though, this is a great resort in a lovely area with fab facilities. I would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Cypsela's own Mobiles which were just right for a family of four and had a huge amount of outside space. Everything in the resort is kept spotless and well-maintained. The pool has long opening hours and there was usually a lounger to be found. Diving boards made a nice change from water slides. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The local beach was beautiful; sandy, with a view of the islands, rocks to dive in from, lounger, parasol and pedalo hire, beach bars. Again not crowded in last 2 wks of August. On site snack bar, shop and bakery are exceptional quality and value for a resort, so you never need take the car out . I agree with previous comments about the price/quality ratio of the onsite restaurant not being good and it seemed understaffed, but this is the only negative and easily avoided -local Tapas etc is excellent and reasonably priced. Other site facitlities also excellent -huge shady recreation area with loads of table tennis tables. Excellent gym and squash court seemed under-used. Local towns -Pals and Torroella both beautiful.

Room Tip: Cypsela Mobiles were older than Keycamp/Eurocamp/ Canvas etc but were E500 cheaper for a fortnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Camping Cypsela. It all depends really on if you are a camping person or not. The standard of pitches and tents are very high, the facilities are great and bathrooms and showers are spotless as other reviews say. We stayed in a bungalow and to tell the truth not as great as I presumed. The showers are not very clean and even though we are a 5 person family and the bungalow was fit for 8 we were still stuck for space as beds are very small.Walls are very thin.Evening entertainment was very poor some nights and very good some nights. We went with Canvas Holidays. The Resort itself is lovely and so is the area costa brava. There is a great resturaunt called niff niff they have nice food and they are good on price too. The resort shop is the best you will get it is good value and sells lovely orange juice (freshly squeezed).
The nearest beach is a great beach one of the best. But if you really want to go to a nice beach go to the one in Palamos. I HAVE EVER SEEN A NICER BEACH IN MY LIFE. Its like a little cove with golden sand and great waves.
Overall the holiday was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRENTWOOD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay with Keycamp'. This was our 3rd visit in 4 years.

Positives:

1 - New Keycamp accommodation was bigger, better equipped and the beds were far more comfortable. First time the bed has proved more comfortable than the sofa!

2 - Evening entertainment. Went most nights and this has certainly improved since last visit 2 yearsa ago. Young children club still going strong and additional inflatables day arranged by resort easanice touch.

3 - cost of bar and supermarket. 3 euros for a large beer and 11 euros for a litre if Sangria. Not bad at all and far cheaper than stay in Sarlat Keycamp in Dordoigne! Supermarket as cheap as any local larger ones.

4 - Clean and secure - the whole site including toilet blocks is still impeccably clean. Guards on all entrances to ensures children safe and no unsavouries enter!

5 - exchange rate - got 1.24. Euros to £. Local restaurants also have excellent and can typically eat out for 2 adults and 2 children for about 40 euros

6 - chicken and chips restaurant / takeaway on right as you leave final roundabout to cypsela still excellent. TIP - they have another one anbout 1 1/2 miles away which has half the queues !!

7 - Pals - beautiful medieval town, with excellent restaurants, stunning views and the most beautiful yet simply designed church I have ever been to.


Negatives

1 - On-site restaurant. We have been before and it was never that good, so not a huge disappointment! Service appalling, left after 20 mins as we still hadn't had our drink order taken and others nearby had been waiting even linger. It wasn't even that busy!!

2 - lots of chavvy Dutch kids in first week behaving like ideots near the pool(I am sure our british kids at certain Spanish resorts are equally chavvy!) significantly less as our trip entered August when most seemed to go home. We also met some fabulous and kind families from Barcelona and some v nice dutch people (with excellent English)

Overall

I would recommend cypsela to all families with young children, who enjoy great weather, great facilities and the beauty of unspoilt Spain. It is definitely cheaper to eat out than 2 years ago and the Catalan people are so much more welcoming than most other areas of Spain (where we have tarnished our reputation)
We drove down and took our bikes.

TIP Great cycling by the rice fields and along to pals beach. Kids loved cycling round site!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I and our three children travelled to Cypsela a long time ago (ten years to be precise). I was browsing this morning and came across reviews for here and decided to add one too.
Firstly it was our first time to try this type of holiday. I love my comforts, so was quite apprehensive.
We booked through key camp, taking a three bed mobile with air conditioning. We couldn't have been happier!
The site itself is beautiful, pools gorgeous, entertainment we loved. We rarely saw our oldest two boys, what with meeting new friends, together with the sports on offer.
We availed of the take away pizzas on several nights and also bbq'd beside mobile.
Staff were both professional and friendly and the security was just the right balance. It was very quiet after twelve o'clock.
The beach is only a short drive away as is the beautiful pituresque hill top village of Pals (a must see).
All in all I know its been a long time since we stayed here, and two of our lads have flown the nest, I would recommend this site, especially if like me you're not a tent or mobile fanatic. It might just change your mind.
P.s we went on to try Camping holidays in France and Austria afterwards but Cypsela would still tick the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

went back to cypsela again in june been there many times before.last year was a shock new staff and managment ,very poor not what cypsela was ,thank goodness there is a god totally different this year,nearly back to its old self,perfect family holiday resort,you dont need anything else it has everything,look forward to going back in september.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypsela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypsela Resort

Address: c/ Rodors 7, 17256 Pals, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Pals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cypsela Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 902
Also Known As:
Cypsela Hotel Pals
Cypsela Resort Pals, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypsela Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.