We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blaumar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blaumar to your Saves list
Hotel Blaumar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merce Rodoreda 5, 17300 Blanes, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Blanes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we have just had an amazing time at the blaumar! the room+view was spot on! The food was different everynight! with different themes! chinese! italian !+ more .The staff were friendly! This hotel as more russian! and not a lot of english! we like it that way! loved it! thanks for brilliant holiday!would stay again+again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
66
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Last summer my family and I(4 grown-ups) stayed in this hotel for one week. It's real close to the beach and some bars, restaurants and supermarkets are nearby.
I got a single room and I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and bathroom. It was clean and it had a quite big balcony and good airconditioning. The bed made some noise when you turn and was a bit hard, but for me as a young woman that's ok.
The dinner buffet was very good; a lot of choice in foods! They had a different ''dinner'' theme every night which was very nice. The breakfast buffet was also very good with a lot of choice.
The swimming pool was small, but a good way to cool down and it had lots of beds near the pool to lay on! Besides; the beach was next to the hotel!
The staff was ok, they were friendly but to me they all seemed to ''work there because they have to work'' and don't have fun doing it.
They had evening entertainment, but I didn't like it that much. Mostly it was for children, which was very nice if you have kids, but for someone my age(23) the shows were all a bit boring.

I do have to say that my brother and his girlfriend had a very weird experience during our stay 'cause for 2 times his beachtowels, which hangover the balcony, went missing after the cleaninglady had cleaned their room. The first time he got it back and the cleaninglady said it fell down the balcony and she picked it up..but she never gave it back herself or left it in their room. My brother had to ask for it himself at the reception. If he hadn't did that then he probably wouldn't have gotton it back.The second time my brother didn't even bother asking it back because we were going to miss our flight. Still, it was a weird situation.

However, it was a quite pleasant stay in this hotel. If I ever go back to Blanes, I might book this hotel again. But I think there are better ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just returned after a 14 day stay at the Blaumar, we was not disapointed, what a gem of a hotel, food was ok, you would never go hungary there is something for everyone, rooms were cleaned every day with clean lining and towels, rooms were very comfortable great views as well,
great location perfect for relaxation not sure what some people are complaining about the breakfast, we sometimes pitched up around 09.00 and they were still doing cooking to order ( eggs,crepes ) plenty of pastries and fruit till around 10.00 am !! Just to mention some of the waiting staff, Monica, Toni, Jose Luis, Jesus, Raul and German the bar staff work their socks off !
All in all we had a great time myself and my wife enjoyed it imensley , met some very nice people as well, I would recomend very highly, no complaints what so ever and intend to return next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Hotel is close to the beach, but not 4 star as they mentioned, rooms are very small and the beds are awaful like cardboard. We had all inclusive breakfast & dinner, they have time only one hour for Bfast from 7:30 to 8:30 AM, dinner from 7:30 PM to 8:30 PM, people are lining up from 7:15 PM, I don't blame them. The food selection is not that great, the plates & cups are not clean at all. Very few veg dishes.
Hotel does not have Fridge, coffee machine in the rooms, they don't have Iron or the borad, they told me I can have them clean with the Hotel Services. It was expensive.
The reception staff is excellent, they are the best service and very polite, that made me happy to stay at this Hotel. Is should be 3 star not 4 star.

Room Tip: Ask rooms facing the Ocean side, I beleive the coner suites are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I just returned from an 11 day stay at the Blaumar in Blanes. It is a nice quiet 4 star hotel with clean rooms & a good buffet for breakfast and dinner. If you are looking for a quiet ,restful ,relaxing hotel - this place fits the bill.

There are a few shortcomings: (1) internet access is limited to the reception area and is not free of charge; it also doesn't work all the time (2) the pool is a bit small and (3) the staff is unwilling to make arrangements for early or late check-outs despite the hotel not being full.

I would also recommend having euros in your possession before you go to Costa Brava so you don't have to change USD into the local currency as the exchange rate was about 10% worse than at my local bank at home.

The beach is very close to the hotel and Blanes is a great little town for shopping, strolling, drinking a variety of Spanish wines & sampling great local fruits and vegetables.

This is NOT a party or night spot. So bring a good book you have been meaning to read.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I was with my family for 8 days in June 2011 and we had a good time. The hotel is less than 100 meters from the beach and we had a great view of the Mediterranean see and of the city of Blanes. Hotel employees were very nice.

The food was so-so. It really depends on your tastes. There were days when we enjoyed everything and there were days when you barely had what to pick.

What I did not like was the fact that the wifi was not free ! Come on, you can find free wifi in all eastern europe hotels with 2-3 stars but you can not find it in a 4 star hotel in Spain. You do however have internet for 2 euro / hour.

Good points :
- location. In less than 90 minutes you can be in Barcelona if you take the train !!! That rocks !
- sightseeing. Even in Blanes you really have what to see like MariMurtra botanical garden.
- entertaining. I did not see clubs but you can easily get with the ferry in any other locations from Costa Brava and you can have lots of fun.

Bad points :
- food like I said, so-so.
- lack of free wifi
- hotel has high prices but at only 10 minutes walking you can find a Condis supermarket with everything you need. I paid 3 euro / water bottle at hotel and I bought the second day exactly the same product with 0.46 euro from Condis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We booked this as a last holiday before our baby is born so we knew the water will be a bit cold. The beach nest to the hotel is a plain straight line beach, but if you like something a bit more different try Cala St Fracesc. It a a perfect little beach, about 30-40 minutes walk from the hotel. There is even a restaurant with great food right there. The walk up there was a bit difficult for me, being pregnant and all, but there is a bus from what seems to be central Blanes to the Botanical Gardens which will take you very close to the beach.
More about the hotel. Staff were very nice and helpful. They helped us plan our day trip to Barcelona and gave us a lot of information about train times and things to visit.
The room was clean and we could see the sea from our balcony. Only thing I would comment about is the fact that there is no fridge in the room. If you want one you have to pay extra. For a 4 star hotel, I find this a bit strange. The safe was also extra and you had to pay for is. Parking wasn't free, I think is was about 11 euros a day, but if you wanted you could find spaces on the street. There is a spa and they had some nice offers, but had no massage for pregnant women so I did not try it. There is also a gym, but you have to pay to use it.
Food was the biggest disappointment for us. Breakfast was the same every day. Cold sliced meats, one type of sliced cheese, eggs not very well done, some fried sausages and 2-3 types of salad. By salad I mean salad leaves, sliced tomatoes, cucumbers and tuna each one in a separate bowl. They also had some pastries and fruit, but we expected more strawberries and cherries, as it was their season. Instead most of the times we got apricots and peaches and compot (pear and peach).
Dinner was the same for fruit, we had water melon twice and melon almost every day. They were cooking fish and beef or pork on a grill right there so you could have something fresh. The rest of the food was hot food. Always a type of pasta, but no pasta sauce... potatoes coked in different ways, salads. Food was not bad the first day, but it was almost the same everyday, that is why it became annoying. At least if it was something that we liked a lot, we would not have complained about it.
Most of the guests I think are russians, so maybe the food is made for them. Restaurant opening hours are also a bit funny. Everyone is there at 7 for dinner so you end up having to queue for the grilled meats. It is only after 8 that there is more room, but we found that some of the food would be gone by then, especially the desserts.
The pool is nice, there is even a very shallow one for kids, but again even that was cold. Half of it I think is in shadow most of the time. There were plenty of sun beds around, but there are no umbrellas. We never saw anyone to clean the pool which was a bit weird. Because of the trees there were a lot of leaves and flowers in the water all the time.
Hotel is a good 15 minutes walk from all the nice restaurants and shops. There are a few shops around, but all the action is further away.
All in all we had a nice time, but this had nothing to do with the hotel or the food.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blaumar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaumar

Address: Merce Rodoreda 5, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Blanes
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blaumar 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaumar 4-star hotel, located facing the sea in the town of Blanes, the beginning of the Costa Brava. Ideal for family vacations and romantic getaways. It is 100 meters from the beach in the heart of the tourist area of Blanes, 10 minutes from downtown. Its services are complemented by common facilities Blau Hotels: Congress Halls and Meeting rooms, dance floor, spa, and gym. Playground and kids club with activities for children. Animation for adults with sports, live music, dance and different show's. Nearby facilities offer water sports, scuba diving, golf, tennis, paddle and other entertainment for the whole family. In the hotel may request service ALL INCLUSIVE. Adapted for the disabled. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blaumar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaumar Hotel Blanes
Hotel Blaumar Blanes, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blaumar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.