We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, super food, would love to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Tredos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel de Tredos to your Saves list
Hotel de Tredos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Baqueira, km. 177.5, 25598 Tredos, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredos
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, super food, would love to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved this very well run hotel in the Spanish Pyrenees. The staff are really professional and helpful, and obviously take great pride in the hotel. It has good parking, generously sized rooms, a nice outdoor swimming pool for the summer, but our favourite thing about it was the food. The evening meal changes each day, with three or four options for each of the three courses. We were really impressed by the food, the stylish dining room and the attentive staff, and would definitely recommend eating in the hotel. The food, however, was more adventurous than our fairly conservative (when it comes to food) daughter wanted to try, but happily the hotel do an excellent short room service menu - she had toasted cheese and ham sandwiches and was very happy! The breakfasts are similarly superb - an excellent choice, and everything we tried was delicious. We drove to Espot (50 minutes over the pass) and took a Land Rover taxi to the Refugi d'Amitges in the Aiguestortes National Park. You can then walk about 5 miles downhill to a pick up point for another taxi to take you back to Espot (about 18 Euros per person return.) It is an absolutely stunning walk on a clear and easy to walk track, highly recommended, although the taxi ride up is pretty hair-raising, bouncy, and not for the very faint-hearted! We would very much like to return to the magical Pyrenees, and would certainly look to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I am actually writing this review sitting in the hotel so can't get much fresher than that... Big rooms, lovely little pool which the kids enjoyed, good breakfast ( except for the coffee ) nice lobby that we utilized every evening. We came for the national park of aigustortes which is about 50 minutes away. All in all a very clean, good sized hospitable hotel. Recommend it with no reservations!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

A real gem of a hotel. and ideal for exploring Val d'Aran. We stayed here as part of a summer holiday in the Pyrenees as a family of 3. We had a Junior Suite which was of a good size and well appointed. The staff, and in particular the reception staff were excellent and could not have been more helpful. The hotel restaurant was excellent with a small but changing evening menu and breakfast was generous and varied. Service was very good. We would definitely stay again and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlaar
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Although the location may look disappointing ( near the main road ) and the access isn't easy , the hotel it self has lots to offer : nice breakfast buffet, parking, sunny outside pool, big junior suites and overall typical mountain style. The beds are very, very good. Our junior suite was so big , that it was a bit empty. You could say the same about the entrance and the bar. An extra sofa would have been perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed in this friendly well run hotel during February half term. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The ski shuttle service to and from the lifts in Baquiera worked well. Our room was large and comfortable - three of us shared and had plenty of space. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Hotel de Tredos was a charming little hotel with a great location. The staff was very kind, and a few of them spoke English AND French. The food was also very good. Considering soundproofing would be my only recommendations to the owners. My fiancé and I enjoy sleeping in, and we could clearly hear the families in the other rooms and traffic in the hallways. This was the only downfall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
194 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

This is possibly the best managed hotel I have stayed in. Its small (~35 bedrooms), personal and very, very well run. The service was excellent without being obtrusive - a very difficult thing to pull off. There was always a good English speaker on the front desk.

We went as a family of 5 (two rooms) to go skiing & stayed 6 nights. The rooms were large, very clean, comfortable and the bathrooms well appointed. There seemed to be endless hot water - a key factor when skiing as people will appreciate.

The hotel is in Tredos which is about 2 kms down from the main Bacqueria ski resort. The hotel mini-bus which carts people up and down from the slopes worked efficiently.

The restaurant was excellent and superbly run by a young lady who seemed to act as 'front of house'. We were on a B&B package. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a full range of everything one could want. We had the evening meal (a set €24 Euros 3 course menu) twice. The food was absolutely excellent. I can't praise the restaurant and staff therein enough.

The business travellers among you will miss things like coffee/tea making facilities in the room, an iron in the room (in the end we didn't ask for one but I have no doubt it would be produced instantly) and internet access. There is a common PC in the foyer with free board band - why they don't add a wifi access point I have no idea.

The only criticisms I can make of the hotel are (i) squeaky floor boards in our room, (ii) the sound proofing between the room above and ours (it seemed like someone spent a long time walking around with metals heels on upstairs), and (iii) it would be nice to have some form of activity room with a pool table or something for the kids. Having said that its not a hotel designed for kids or business travel so that may be a bit harsh. Having said that, there were no issues with the kids and they were welcomed so don't hesitate to take your kids there.

Tredos itself is disappointing as a little village. We had been expecting more bars/cafes, etc along the traditional Spanish style. There is one restaurant/bar in the village and the food was fine but not of the standard of the hotel restaurant as reflected by the price.

The villages down the road (~2 kms and 5 kms) Saladou (?spelling) and Atrikis (?spelling) provide a good range of restaurants /bars /cafes /etc.

Baqueria itself is 'OK' as a ski resort. It would be great for beginners but we had skied most of the runs within a couple of days. Its not hard skiing. That said, the snow on the pistes was good (artificial snow) despite the lack of snow in the area.

Would we go back? To the hotel - like a shot. To the ski resort - definitely for a long weekend.

  • Liked — A quality hotel
  • Disliked — Some niggles but it seems harsh to list them
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Tredos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Tredos

Address: Carretera de Baqueira, km. 177.5, 25598 Tredos, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Val d'Aran > Tredos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tredos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Tredos 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel de Tredos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Tredos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.