We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Pizza restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzapazza SL.

Pizzapazza SL.
Riells, 72, 17130 L'Escala, Spain
+34 972772996
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 105 Restaurants in L'Escala
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizza restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We went to this restaurant several times with our grown up daughters when we were there on holiday in July last year. We are going back this July to L'Escala and will definitely be going back to this restaurant. The food is fantastic and the waiters are all really friendly and so helpful. My daughter left her handbag in the restaurant when we left and one of the waiters hopped on his skateboard and came to find us in a bar that we went to after leaving the restaurant - that goes way beyond what you would expect from even the best waiter, shows how much they care! The views of the beach are lovely too, you really can't fault a single thing. Can't wait to go back in a few weeks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MissyFCW
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go in Septmeber”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been to this place many times over many years, but my last visit here was a major let down.

They got my boyfriend's order wrong, we waited forever for them to bring the bill after we asked for it, and they generally did not seem interested in us.

The food was not brilliant as I always remembered it being. Two (out of a party of 3) of our pizzas was burned on one side, and I think the only reason it wasn't all 3 was because of them replacing my boyfriend's.

On top of the average food, and bad service, it's not exactly cheap for a pizzaria in fact I think that is one of the most expensive ones in the area.

It is likely that because we went right at the end of the season the staff were all tired and fed up, but I don't really think that should be my problem as a customer, there were plenty of other places in the area where the staff still at least petended that they wanted to be there!

On the plus side, it does have a lovely location with nice views across the bay, and I suspect if you go in the earlier part of the season your experience would be different - mine always has been in the past

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Got the finger....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food is very good. Well prepared and there is enough on the plate. The problem is the service. We had ordered for 8 people at our table and 6 for the childrens table. The food for the children at their table was served together with one appetizer for one of the adults. When we thereafter were all served, they had forgotten what one had ordered for the main course. The bigger problem was though, that when they served the dished, there were only food for seven of us. The guy that did not get his food, were told that they could not serve what he ordered. Then the rest of us could start eating, and he could start waiting for another 15-20 minutes for his dish. We told the waiter, that this was not fair, but found no understanding at all. The situation created attention to the entire restaurant. The waiter left us, but was clearly very angry with us, as she, back at the restaurant, kept talking to the rest of her personel about us. Some of us followed this situation "back stage", and suddenly we got the finger...
So,- superior location on the beach, very good food but "dangerous to your heart" service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in the area/region!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Coming from a picky and critical Italian... this was the first restaurant in Costa Brava that offered "real" italian food with relatively authentic ingredients and dishes. The pizza is very good and share the same craving as some other reviewers have expressed. The pasta dishes are also good (just slightly overcooked) probably adapted to the local taste, but still good. The restaurant is located on a busy and nice seaside boardwalk and you would think it would offer (low quality) tourist menus, but is in fact excellent. The service is not particularly friendly, but I suppose much is justified given how busy the restaurant is and all the running about that the waiters need to do non-stop. Also great price for the quality of food. Would definitely come back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food well cooked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Four of us all enjoyed different meals, particularly the lamb and rabbit. Head Waiter could have been a little more obliging when asked if we could see what was on the menu before deciding to stay. (not one on display)

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzapazza SL. also viewed

L'Escala, Costa Brava
 
L'Escala, Costa Brava
L'Escala, Costa Brava
 

Been to Pizzapazza SL.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzapazza SL., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.