We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place to stay. You pay for everything!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Augustus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Augustus to your Saves list
Hotel Augustus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avgda Diputacio 190, 43850 Cambrils, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Cambrils
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a place to stay. You pay for everything!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Augustus from the 30/07/12 until the 09/08/12 on a bed and breakfast basis. When booking we requested a double bed, on a higher floor with a sea view. We were not expecting to have all our requests met, but to be informed if any were possible or not possible. Having not heard anything from the hotel, we assumed our request had been taken into account. When we arrived we were given a room with two single beds, on the first floor with a side view. When we asked about changing rooms they said they had none left, unless we wanted to transfer to the Caesar Augustus hotel behind our hotel. Then they could give us a double bed but we’d be looking onto the road.

After agreeing to take the originally offered room we then discovered that there was a daily charge for the safe, which was not mentioned on the website. The safe also had a lock and key rather than the modern keyboard. I understand that you have to pay for the use of a mini bar, but this is the first hotel we’ve ever stayed in where you had to pay a daily rate of €4 to just use the refrigerator. The fridge was locked and required a key, so you couldn’t keep bottles of water cold during the night.

The room itself was nice, but dated and the walls were paper thin. We could tell when anyone in the four rooms around us or above us were having a shower or walking around there room. The air conditioning unit was very good. The room cleaning staff were pleasant, although they did spray a sickly air freshener in the room.

The breakfast was appalling. We know what to expect from a continental breakfast, but this was far below standard. The milk for the cereal was warm, the cereal was for kids and the cereal was stale. The hot food was cold and none of the fruit was replenished. The orange juice was watered down beyond recognition. There was a fridge with approx two hundred yogurts in it, except they were all the same flavour and all gone off. The chocolate spread and Jams were of a very poor quality.

The wifi is an extra cost and if you want fast wifi, its an extra cost again! The bar menu offers things that they don’t actually have. There are signs up everywhere saying no food to be removed from the dining room and no drinks allowed in the hotel unless bought in the hotel.

The staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the reception staff or the bar staff. They were quite rude and unhelpful. The reception staff chat among themselves rather than serve their customers. We had food poisoning on the last day and when we asked if we could have a late check-out because of our condition we were refused. No other help, such as a doctor was offered. On our check out day, our ten euro safe deposit was thrown at us and no ‘Thank you for staying with us’ or ‘How was your stay?’ was given.

I know this sounds like a bit of a rant, but we’d just come from a three nights stay in Barcelona. We picked a very reasonable hotel, as we knew we would not be staying there much. The standard of this hotel was brilliant; Beautiful room, pleasant staff, free modern safe and fridge and gorgeous breakfast with good quality food and products. When we moved down to Salou we decided to splash out a little more on the hotel as we knew we’d be spending a lot more time there.

With all the extra charges, very poor breakfast and rude staff, we did not enjoy our stay here. The only thing going for this hotel is its location. It is right on the beach and it very close to the centre of Salou. Definitely not a four star. Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    117
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
172
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute cheap holiday and to be honest, you get what you pay for. The best thing about this hotel is that it backs on to the beach, so if you need to pop back to your room, it only takes a minute to do so. The beach is ideal for children, as it is quite shallow for the first few metres. However, there are things about this hotel that let it down. If you arrive on an earlly morning flight, be advised that rooms are not allocated until 2pm, so make sure you pack a beach bag for the interim. The room was very small for 4 people, and quite basic, but the cleaner was fantastic and I cannot praise her enough! The restaurant served reasonable food, but I would have liked to have known what I was eating, instead of guessing - important for alergies etc. The pool area was like sardines and once again people were obviously out early with their towels to bag the best sunbeds. My main problem with the Augustus is that it claims to be 4*, but I would dispute this. It just didn't give off a 4* feel and the staff were not as attentive as I would have expected them to be (could have been due to the ecomonic problems Spain is experiencing at the moment and all the insecurities this brings, I don't know). Finally, just be aware that this hotel is favoured by the Eastern European tourists more than the English clientele, so you will be in the minority. Children's entertainment team worked very hard and kept the kids amused - well done. Public transport is excellent and it is only a 20 minute walk to the centre of Salou and all the shops. Although the train line is behind the sister hotel of the Cesar Augustus and we were facing the road, we were not disturbed by the passing trains. We were on a half board basis, and managed to feed a family of 4 for 10 euros a day at lunch, buying picnic food from the supermarkets.

Room Tip: If you like to go to bed early, side rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

went to this hotel on 25th april till 2nd may 2012 with my sister and her husband rooms are lovely and clean staff great and very helpful one of our party was ill and the hotel were great they allowed us to take meals to the room for them the entertainment was different each night and there is 24 hour security meals were of very good standard and choice they try to cater for all including not meat eaters and pure vegs

Room Tip: doent matter wat room u stay in all are great and of equal quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked a budget 4 day holiday at a bargain 15 euros per night half board. The plane was late, and we arrived about 11pm. Naturally the dining room was closed, but they had kept 2 packed 'lunches' for us. The food was basic but gratefully accepted. Instructions were then given as to how to reach our apartment, and a security guard accompanied us outside to the external door, before leaving. That was when the problems began. Although there was a light in the corridor we couldn't find the switch, and worse still on pressing a switch on the wall to see if it was the light we rang someones bell! Sadly they opened their door and then joined us in trying to unlock ours. Unfortunately the key wouldn't turn, they returned to their room and we were left in the dark again! Moral - carry a torch at the Augustus. We eventually got a caretaker to help us, but the problem recurred twice more during our stay.
The apartment slept 4/5 but was a strange mixture of ultra basic, and barely 2 star, while otherparts, eg lovely fridge freezer and stainless steel microwave were virtually brand new. Most of the apartment was spotless but one cupboard was grotty and 2 of the blankets were so dirty that they must have been the pair that Noah threw out!
The hotel is superb. Ultra modern, and a pleasure to be in. Meals were variable with breakfast uninspiring, while some of the evening meals were best described as 'tepid' To be fair they improved when the weekend crowds disappeared. The surroundings are beautiful, and the pool attractive. If you have children be careful around the pool, though. The very attractive lifeguard was supposed to be on duty until 7pm but happily waved to the 4 youngsters as she left them still swimming about 6.40 and headed off home. Perhaps she had a bus to catch?
Perhaps the best part was the helpfulness of the staff. They really put themselves out to facilitate things, and the evening shows were varied and of high quality. Although the hotel claims to be 3 star it could easily be 4 star with just a few improvements. Try it!

Room Tip: The apartments furthest away from the hotel all have superb side sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

You pay for what you get and in this hotel you get a lot. The hotel shape is 3 sides of a square with the 4th side open to the beach with a path leading to Cambrill in one direction and Salou a little closer the other. If you have a room on the inside of the square it overlooks the stage, pool and beach. It can be a little noisy in the evening, as entertainment will go on till midnight but you have the convenience of watching this sat on your balcony. You can always close the doors and put on the air-condition on if you want a early night. I prefered to keep the door open at night so I could hear the sea. The room is average size with comfortable beds, the 2 spare pillows came in useful as the the pillows are quite flat. The TV did have some English speaking channels and you can pay for wi-fi in your room if you want to ( it is free in some areas of the hotel ). The rooms are very clean and the maids will try to change towels and make beds ect while you are at breakfast. If you leave a sign on your door thay will come back to clean your room later in the day. In the 5 nights we stayed the room was cleaned and fresh towels each day and sheets 3 times. Each room has a pack of toiletries on arrival but this is more than shampoo, it has conditioner, shower cream, soap and a comb all in a clip lock clear bag. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was absolutely brilliant, the choose and presentation excelled, it was buffet style and you could go back as many times as you wanted. I have only stayed once before in a hotel that served a better breakfast, that was a 5* in England with 5* prices. We found that if we ate a good breakfast you didn't need lunch. A coffee and cake or ice-cream in the afternoon was the most you needed. Staff throughout the hotel always tried to help, language could be a slight problem but with pointing and talking slowly you could make yourself understood. The reception staff could speak and understand much more and would always help. We had a early flight home so had to leave the hotel at 7am. I asked if we could get a coffee at 6.30am as breakfast only started at 7am. When the staff found out the time we had to leave thay arranged for a continental breakfast to be ready for us at 6.30am in the dinning room with as much juice and coffee as we wanted. Thay also arranged for taxi to pick us up for the trip to the airport. This fare was less than what we had been charged when we had arrived. The few downsides, the entertainment was a bit hit and miss, some nights it was very good other nights the only entertainment was bingo. That's ok because within walking distance are plenty of bars with entertainment, restaurants and sports style pubs. The hotel bar closes at midnight but that isn't a major problem. Bars within walking distance stay open later or you can buy drinks from the local supermarket to take back to your room and sit on your balcony. The street in front of the hotel has a large number of bins that tend to be full, it's a bit of a eyesore and does smell when you walk past. Thats also not a problem, you don't need to walk down the road when you have the beach path to use. The only 1 thing I would change is the cost of parking. In the busy season you can't find a parking space within parking distance so you need to use the hotel carpark. It is close and safe as a member of staff is there 24 hours a day but at €9.50 a night it puts the price of your holiday up. The 1st time we had a car the 2nd we didn't. You can easily see the area by bus or train and the train is the best way to visit Barsalona. The bus stop or train station is only a very short walk away. I introduced friends to this hotel last year, thay have just booked a week in May. This time half-board as it's cheaper than B&B by €10, I'm jealous.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I honestly believe that anyone should judge a hotel by keeping the fact how much money he/she paid for it in mind, so any pretty-much decent 3 star hotel may get a low rating if you paid 600 EUR per person per week. As for Augustus Hotel in Cambrils - I paid less than 300 EUR for full board for me and my wife (excluding really cheap plane tickets - 90 EUR for all of them) in May 2011 and considering the price - it was awesome. The only reason why I rated it 4 out of 5 (it's 3 stars after all) is that not anyone can be so lucky and book it for such a fantastic price. But I would have easily paid 2-3 times as much for it and still were satisfied.

Here is the list of things I liked:
1. The beach. The hotel is situated right on the beach, so it's a perfect spot if you're into swimming and snorkeling. The beach is sandy, so no army boots are needed.
2. The surroundings. Cambrils and another neighboring town called Salou both have really great promenades, so you'll enjoy your evening walks (thanks to so many lights). There are really nice places in both towns, so if you're into shopping or eating somewhere else - you'll surely find something worth visiting. And there is a good grocery store just across the road, so if you need something (beer and ice cream, for example) - you'll find it there.
3. The restaurant:
a. I loved that we didn't have to look for a table ourselves - the hotel staff finds one for you every time.
b. The food was great. Pretty-much every visit was different - thanks to the variety of food and the different cooking techniques. We especially loved the fruits - we had cherries, strawberries and watermelons almost daily. Comparing to usual apples, pears and oranges you get - that was a real surprise.
c. The vine. You should pay extra for that, but if you don't drink the whole bottle (which seems like a usual thing for 2 people) - they'll put your room number on it and put it in one of their fridges, so the next time you come back - it will be waiting for you.
4. The rooms. Clean, quite big, with balcony and with a nice view on the pool and the sea.
5. The staff. Great staff - they help you with anything you need, they clean your room perfectly etc. Not a single thing to judge if you ask me.

Here is why my rating is not 5 out of 5:
1. The pool. It's a bit small for such large hotel. It's nice though.
2. Old German topless ladies. Quite hard seeing these after a meal - your stomach feels like it has eyes. I love Germany and its people as long as they are dressed enough.

Too bad I can't put 4,5 out of 5 - that would be more honest.

Anyway, we had a great time and would love to get back to the same place and to the same hotel. I booked a hotel in another Spanish resort called "Lloret de Mar" yesterday and will write my review in June - once I get back. Just want to tell that I looked at Augustus Hotel in Cambrils again. I guess that means that I really liked it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

we really really enjoyed our week. We live in San Sebastian, Spain so really went to relax on the beach / pool and to a place the kids would enjoy with entertainment. The rooms are basic and you need to get a see view (some are balconies over the car park) but they are fine. You can survive with 2 adults and 2 kids in one room if you want as most of the time you will be out. Restaurant is very very good on choice and service. Location is perfect as a the pools and beach. Good local supermarkets and shops but restaurant choice a bit limited and basic. Cambrils is a bus ride away or a nice long walk with some nice restaurants.

Overall ally. Good compared to the choice and the location is perfect

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Augustus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augustus

Address: Avgda Diputacio 190, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augustus 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at front of the sea, in the first line at beach and close to the sidewalk that link's Cambrils to Salou. All the rooms are with conditioned air(15/06-15/09) and independent central heating, shower, hair dryer, satellite TV. With a parabolic aerial, telephone, terrace, wifi, safe and fridge (optionals) Full installations with a swimming pool for adults and children. TV room, Coffeeshop with a balcony in front to the sea. Conditioned air and Wifi (free) in all the halls. Internet corner (payment). Restaurant with buffet services and "show cooking "(Breackfast and Dinner). A complete animation program for children's and adults. Panoramic rooms with whirlpool bath and amazing sea views ( plus ). Rooms with shared solarium area (plus) Family rooms (29 m2) maximum 4 adults (included cots) (Supplement) Car park with 400 places (to be paid). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Augustus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augustus Hotel Cambrils

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Augustus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.