We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best steak I've ever had, and I've had a few!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Palmeres Restaurant and Grill

Les Palmeres Restaurant and Grill
c/ Ramon Llull, 7, Cambrils, Spain
(0034) 97 736 3188
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 187 Restaurants in Cambrils
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“THE best steak I've ever had, and I've had a few!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The term hidden gem is overused these days, but truly applies to this restaurant.
The staff are fantastic, the setting, either inside or in the beautiful
courtyard, perfect, and the food simply outstanding.

The Chef, and by all accounts Guv'nor, knows exactly how to cook on his
log fired grill. From steak (THE best Fillet Streak I've ever had, and I've had
one from the grill of a Marco Pierre White Resturant) to Chicken or Fish, the
food is faultless, and the smell of the cooking will have you salivating from the moment you walk in.
Do yourselves a favour folks, treat yourselves to the Beef Fillet, medium. It's
just perfect.

My one complaint?

We go home tomorrow and I can't have 3rds!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Las Palmeras - the best steak I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We celebrated a special occasion with family here and thoroughly enjoyed it. 3 generations were all made to feel very welcome in a hugely pretty courtyard full of flowers and plants overlooking the most devoted chef/owner cooking his tremendous food on an outdoor wood grill. Between us we tried the steak, the ostrich, the ribs and the chicken - all cooked to perfection. On our second visit I had the steak which was outstanding - huge slab of meat, tender and perfectly cooked to medium rare.

Really tasty sangria - which tastes like its made on site rather than from a carton. Lovely cava and nice nibbles of chorizo and olives served with the bread as cover.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Cambrils is chock full of over priced, bustly seafood restaurants. This gem is a quiet, meat oriented oasis, very reasoanbly priced and with delightful staff. It will be a pleasure to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrils, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best place for grilled meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

If we choose meat for dinner, we always go to Las Palmeras. The name comes from the big palms in the terrace, a lovely garden with different plants and flowers. It's a family-run restaurant, and lots of customers repeat the experience because the meat is high-quality, and especially because it is prepared in a wood-fed grill, live cooking.
I especially recommend entrecotte, salmon and duck breast. As a starter, don't miss the home-made gazpacho.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, Lancs
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cambrils is not all about seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It's quite easy to miss this excellent restaurant, tucked away in the pedestrian area a few blocks from the main 'strip', but it's not too difficult to find, and is very popular.

Unlike the restaurants overlooking the port, where seafood is the main speciality - Las Palmeras has a wide variety of grilled meats on offer. Portion size and quality are excellent, as is value for money. Menus are available in half a dozen Languages, and the staff are courteous and attentive.

Seating is mostly in a courtyard garden, screened off from passers by on the adjacent streets.

It gets very popular - so get there early if you want a table!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Palmeres Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Cambrils, Baix Camp
Cambrils, Baix Camp
 

Been to Les Palmeres Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Palmeres Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.