We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor reception staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Cambrils

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Best Cambrils to your Saves list
Best Cambrils
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Diputacion, 141, 43850 Cambrils, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Cambrils
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor reception staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the best hotel seven times in the past ten years and since our first visit we have always asked for a certain room overlooking the pool area by e mail every year. The reception staff have always given us this room or very close. This year we were told on arrival "you cant have that room unless you pay us a cash supplement" when I asked why there was no mention of room supplements in the brochure or web site I was told that was not their problem. Several other familys were complaining as they were also expecting pool views as usual
.the reception staff were adamant it was a case of " take what we give you and go away" this hotel is definitely not four star but we enjoy our visit every year and now with the Russians shovelling food into bags to take away and their unruly children running around the restaurant our holiday next year will probably be elsewhere in cambrils. So sad this was a great hotel once but it has gone downhill rapidly this last couple of years.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear family

We regret that your expectations of our establishment, have not been fully met. Similarly, we thank you that we have made your comments, and thanks to letters like yours we can see better our weaknesses and focus all our efforts to solve them as quickly and efficiently as possible, because our main goal is maximum satisfaction of our customers.
I want to mention that at the Best Cambrils hotel, there are several different types of rooms, not all are Standard and this is the reason of the supplement (These rooms have extra facilities)
Once again we thank you for the time you have spent to let us yopur comment, I'll keep it very present and study the corrective measures necessary to continue the process of continuous improvement of our establishment.

Kind regards

Antonio Escobedo
Director
Best Cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    207
    137
    77
    41
See reviews for
259
194
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very tired looking hotel and our room overlooked the railway with first train at 6.30am. Definitely not 4 star. Plates and cutlery dirty. Used napkin on our supposedly relaid dinner table one evening. No bath towels on two occasions. Gets second star as nice pool area. Thankfully weather great and able to get to beach easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Family,
Above all we want to apologize for failing to meet your expectations and not being able to make you enjoy a pleasant holiday at all. Just want tomake a small comment about the noise from the train. All rooms are fully soundproofed with double glazed windows. We have taken your comments very seriously and try to improve in all other respects. We thank the dedicated time to send us your comments, I'll keep it very present and study the corrective measures necessary to continue the process of continuous improvement of our establishment

Kind regards

Antonio Escobedo
Director
Best Cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself and three friends (party of four 50 something ladies) stayed in this hotel from 7/7 to 14/7 this year. First impression was that the hotel was a little dated but after being shown to our room and checking out the inside/bar and pool area we were pleased to see that it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable! We stayed on an AI basis but some seemed to be paying both at the bar and in the resturant. We found the food in the resturant excellant and plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner! All staff throughout the hotel worked hard and were very curtious. Pool area as i said was a little dated but we were always able to get a lounger and and the entire area was kept clean! The beach was across the main road between Cambrills and Salou but was never that busy. The beach itself was lovely! Cleaned every night and never too busy! Lovely little 'beach bar' to sit on an evening directly down from the hotel 'bliss'! There were about half a dozen bars within walking distance of the hotel but very easy to bus into either Cambrills (about 5mins) or Salou (about 10mins), get a pass from the little office outside the hotel for the bus, it works out much cheeper! We all agreed that we would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: There is a railway line runs past the hotel. They don't run through the night so although our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sue and friends,

Thank you very much for leaving us your comments about the feelings that you experienced during your stay with us.
Also, we are glad that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, liked the rooms and pool area, and you all enjoyed your holidays. Hopefully we have the pleasure to accommodate you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Antonio Escobedo
Hotel Director
Best Cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Don't think I would return, we really like a quiet holiday and although not too bad we have been spolt by previous hotels, a lot to do in the local area for all ages, busy road to cross to the beach which is cleaned daily, one thing though is the contant pestering of the guys trying to sell sunglasses, hats, dresses, handbags, hair braiding and even masages it really spoilt the holiday, best to go to the beach at about 4pm, as they start to go home by then. The hotel was very clean, the staff ere not very friendly but apparently that is the Catalan way they take time to trust you, but other parts of Spain I have found to be much friendlier. the food was fair not brilliant but ok, plently of choice and much cooked to order which meant queuing especially at breakfast as the pancakes were very popular. There are no pool towels so take your own and you alo have to hire the poolside parasols which you definatly need as it gets too hot, asuming you are lucky enough to get a sun lounger, there are not enough and although the hotel policy is that you cannot reserve them , they don't actually stop anyone from doing it. We bought our own parosol which i advise you to do, there are plenty of shops in competition so shop around for the cheapest and you can use for both the beach and the pool, we left ours with the rep to pass on, although we saw some people take theirs home at the airport. take earplugs superdrug sell excellant ones, the trains being so close are not really that much of a problem, but depending on where your room is, at the back you get all the noise from deliveries morning through to late evening and the reycling bins are kept there and are very busy. at the front the hotel entertainment does not begin till 10pm so if you have an early start on an excursion you won't get much sleep. btw you have to try the downhill biking excellant trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for letting us your opinion. We are pleased that, in general, your enjoyed your stay with us. We regret that your holiday was affected by some salespeople who are on the street or beach. Please again we apologize for any inconvenience. Your opinion about our pool we will have in mind, I will try to fix the issue of the sunbeds and umbrelas. Hopefully we may have a second chance to show that, as 4-star hotel, we do our eberything to constantly improve the satisfaction of all our customers.

Kind regards

Antonio Escobedo
Hotel Director
Best cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a Travel Agent, and not ever visited this part of Spain, I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, the area of Cambrils and even Salou, which I had always pictured in my head as being loud and a bit tacky. I had read the reviews before I went and knew there was a rail line beside the hotel, therefore cannot understand why you would complain about that?! In fact my son absolutely the fact they went by. I agree with one of the reviews on here that the trains really were no problem and our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the rail line and the room itself was nice and cool. The rooms were clean, reception staff did their job, the food I have to say exceeded my expectation. There was sooooooo much choice and again cannot see how anyone could fault the food. There was even Cava on ice every morning at breakfast! Well you just had to have a glass with the cooked breakfast... Sometimes people forget that it's not a restaurant where they cater for approx. 50 people. they are catering for 300+ every night.... so to have great food every night is quite a task and I say ... Well Done

Definitely get the bus ticket, it's location is ideal, try to get to Platja Llager, Beach is gorgeous (about 10 minutes away by bus - look at Trip Advisors top things to do in Salou!) Port Aventura and Costa Caribe is great for Kids. Go on the tourist train in Cambrils - around 40 mnutes - 3 Euros per Adult and 1.50 child.

I took the train up to Torredembarra having stayed there 26 years ago with a family and there is a train station in Salou and Cambrils with regular trains to Barcelona.

Pool was great - I was not on All Inclusive and the pool bar drinks and snacks were 3E for a Ham and Cheese Toastie - E1.50 for soft drink/Beer so I thought quite reasonable.

I also agree with all the comments about the Russians and thought they couldn't be as bad as that. It was no exaggeration by previous reviews and is quite amazing how rude they are. They will push in front and they just don't smile, and you do get the feeling they don't like the Brits (or maybe just anyone) The thing is you soon realise that they are all the same and it is the way they are. Fact is Package Holidays as we know them have come to Russia over the last few years and we just need to get over the fact that they will be holidaying more and more. Also I have to say working in a Travel Agency most people now complain about the Russians more than anything else and this is whether you travel to Spain, Turkey or Sharm El Sheikh. It definitely highlights how we are a polite bunch and you never know maybe over the coming years this will rub off on the Russians. Very strange bunch.....

So overall, lovely holiday, lovely hotel, lovely location and lovely food. I would definitely return...

Room Tip: Go to the Supermarket on the same side of the road as the hotel. Walk 2 mins (heading towards Salou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Family,

Thank you for leaving us your comments about the feelings you experienced during your stay with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Thank you for the food recommendation of our restaurant and for the nice comments which will help us to improve for future customers.
Once again we thank you for the time spent to send us your comments, I'll keep it in mind and study the corrective measures if necessary, to continue in the process of continuous improvement of our establishment.

Kind regards

Antonio Escobedo
Hotel Director
Best Cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We came here with our 7 month old baby at the beginning of June.
The hotel is in a good location, across the road from the beach.
Cambrils is easy to get to by bus or you could walk which will take around 25 minutes.
We managed to get a pool view room without having to pay the €5 a night extra.
The room was a bit cramped with the travel cot and it wasn't very clean. I couldn't let my son play on the floor.
The buffet at lunch is ok but dinner was very hit and miss.
We ended up eating out every evening. There are lots of nice restaurants down the road.
Around the pool area I had to wear sandals as it's surfaced with pebbles. If a child was to fall they'd do some serious damage.
This hotel is a bit of an eyesore compared to all of the other hotels in the area.
I would stay in Cambrils again but would not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Family,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your point of view of the service received during your stay with us. Just knowing how is feeling our customer helps us very much to do a better job. I'm sorry you have not been comfortable on this occasion with dinner at our restaurant and pool area
I reiterate my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that has occasioned for the so earned holidays for you and your family. I remain at your disposal for whatever is needed.
Best regards.

Antonio Escobedo
Director
Best cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel all the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a room at the back of the hotel, after reading reviews and google mapping the hotel we were aware of the railway line. Yes trains did go by (maybe 4-5 whilst we were on the balcony in the evenings) but they go past very quick so the noise is only for a few seconds. They did not wake us up once and we weren't bothered by the noise. Only surprise was the location. It was about a 40 minute walk to the centre of salou and at least an hour to cambrils. The walk is flat and straight along the beach front but can be hot and tiring. There is a bus stop outside the hotel so getting around is easier, you can catch the bus to port adventura, Barcelona, cambrils, tarregona, salou etc so despite not being in the centre of either resort it is very well connected and cheap (14euros for 10 bus trips). The beach is literally across the road and is alot quiter then in salou. The food was brilliant and they would have themed menus every other night. The food is all buffet style and there is something for everyone. Pool opening hours are quite short: 10am to 7pm, we found it was shut in the evenings when we came back from day trips. Otherwise very food value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Best Cambrils, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear family,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor.
We really like to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel Best Cambrils
Best regards and see you soon again

Antonio Escobedo
Director
Best Cambrils
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Cambrils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Cambrils

Address: Avda Diputacion, 141, 43850 Cambrils, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Cambrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cambrils
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cambrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Cambrils 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the area of Vilafortuny only 60m. from the beach. Comfortable rooms with balcony, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, telephone, satellite TV, fridge, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet style restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, bar-cafeteria, TV lounge and a snack-bar at the swimming pool. Outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, games room, children’s area and kid’s club. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: spa, gift shops, internet corner, fitness centre, massage, ping pong and billiard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Cambrils reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Cambrils Hotel Cambrils
Best Hotel Cambrils
Cambrils Best Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Cambrils, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.