We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Carlos

Casa Carlos
Turisme, 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
+34 937690574
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 116 Restaurants in Calella
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Never visit Calella without a visit to Casa Carlos - Just the best chicken and the sides (garlic dips, baked potatoes and grilled veg) are always well priced and cooked to perfection. Nothing flash, but good basic food and a decent wine list!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    26
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good (again)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The smell of the rotating chickens will lure you in, and you should definately try it. The chicken was Amazing and I have it on good authority that the Sardines were as well. Just don't expect much from the chips. The staff are also very friendly too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

well done sardines coated in the garlic and herbs olive oil. Also nicely roasted chicken. Vet clean restaurant and nice stuff. good location.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A real plateful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely place to eat on the main street, the food was very good and really large portions.Good Spanish Food. would recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor food - Shocking service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having read the reviews for this "restaurant" on Trip Advisor we thought we would give it a try given that nice restaurants seem to be few and far between in Calella. We had prepared ourselves for the service being poor based on previous reviews but decided that if the food was good - poor service could be forgiven.
Unfortunately the mediocre food only added to the shockingly poor service we received. From the start they were ignorant and kept watch around the table asking if we were ready to order 2 minutes after sitting down. I wouldn't mind but it wasn't like they were busy and needed the table back!
We ordered the chicken croquettes to start and for nearly 7Euro we expected more than the obviously frozen chicken mush that arrived. My husband ordered the fillet steak which when it arrived looked very promising, unfortunately fillet steaks are obviously not the same as you would expect to find in the UK given the amount of fat and gristle that was on it. I had the chargrilled lamb and given the rest of the food we were served up I was pleasantly surprised that it was tasty and that there was a decent amount of it - only downside was that they had seemed to cover everything in large flakes of sea salt which rather ruined the taste.
We decided against dessert (deciding to visit one of the many Gelataria in the area instead) so asked for the bill. After a very short wait the bill was produced and the waiter actually stood and waited for us to get the money out and hand it to him. Again if they were really busy and needed the table this could maybe be excused but when we left at 9:45 there were only 5 out of the 60+ tables occupied!
Overall a very disappointing meal - glad we ordered the 14% bottle of wine to block it out!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Carlos also viewed

Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 
Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Casa Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.