We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Jordi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sant Jordi to your Saves list
Hotel Sant Jordi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Turisme 80 - 88, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Krommenie
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 days (3 nights) in hotel Sant Jordi *** in Calella. Only a short drive from Barcelona, less then one hour. Rent a car or take the train. We had a rental car from El Prat aeroporte and took the nice beach road NII. Hotel Sant Jordi is easy to find, one of the first hotels on your right hand side after entering Calella. Also the signs are good and clear. Parking can be done free in front of the hotel.

Reception was not busy. Everything went very quick. The staff is really friendly (we even asked them to call the car rental company for a question, in Spanish off course!). We bought a safe lock for 3 days (7,50 euro) and wifi for 3 days (also 7,50 euro). Although thats a low price for the safe and wifi, but I think both this services should be free... The wifi is good, also in the rooms. The room is not big, but certainly ok. Most important: everything is clean. 2 beds, a big flatscreen, the safe, a fridge, a lounge chair, the balcony with seats and a big closet. Also important and in lots of hotels this is a problem, you can make the room very dark. Good to sleep in! Bathroom is fine. Enough towels and a few amenities like, hairbrush, shavingset, toothbrush and shampoo. Rooms can be a little noisy. Rooms and towels were cleaned everyday.

About the food. We had half pension. So breakfast and dinner. If I give the dinner a number, it would be just a normal 7. They have about 3 sorts of warm food. Little tip, come early! ok, it's eatable, but not special. Salad, desert, bread etc is good. You have to pay for your drinks! Breakfast is good. Lots of choose, warm and cold. This was just fine. Free coffee and tea.

The beach is only a 5 minutes walk and easy to reach. You have to pass the train track, but there are a lot of tunnels, so no problem. The beach is very big, space for everybody. Few beach restaurants, bed rentals, lots of beach activities (banana boat, Parasailing etc.) and showers/toilets. The city center starts at the hotel and can be walked within the hour. Lots to see and lots of shops. Or take the little tourist train :)!

The hotel has also a Spa, you can use it free everyday (one time a day), during your whole stay. We didn't use it. Next to the Spa is a big 50 meter swimming pool. It brings lots of swimming team/groups to the area. We had a few in the hotel and then it can be a little noisy/busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
41
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Have just returned from 10 days at this hotel and can honestly say that it was one of the best that I have stayed in on the Costa Brava,very clean (our rooms were made up every day ) Staff were very attentive and managed to help us with most of our requests,Food choices were plentiful and varied. However to make this a balanced review I must mention that the sunbathing area around the pool, due to its small size can become a little busy at certain times of the day. But this aside, it would certainly be a hotel I would use again and can highly recommend it to others as this hotel is in a quieter part of Callela yet near enough to all amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in Calella 15 days, working as an asisstant for one of the swimmers who were there on a training camp. Close to the beach and the city center, very good training/swimming center close by. We hit a few bumps concerning the language of the hotel employees, exept for the receptionist no one in the hotel mastered the English language very well. Trying to explain something proved difficult at times. Although, when they understood our requests, service was very good, and they went far to help us with what we needed. (Since it was a large group of people with different needs, they did get busy.) The food was ok, but for such a long stay the buffet got a bit booring after the first week. The hotelroom was ok, view towars another hotel made it necessary to keep curtains closed a lot. Clean and neat, comfortable. Not particurlarly facilitated for disabled people, though. Had an overall ok stay during the 15 days at Hotel Sant Jordi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sant Jordi dor 9 days. We were a group of swimmers, coach and parents. I have to say I was dissapointed given the reviews I had read. Yes we knew the rooms would be small and we were ok with that. The price was reasonable but that does not excuse it not being cleaned properly. The regular housekkeper had her earbuds in and just shrugged if asked a question. The bathroom was cleaned but the sheets were not changed our whole stay nor did she ever sweep under the bed. I was looking under the bed before I left the room just incase something may be left behind and the dust piles were disgusting!! On the Sunday there was a younger housekeeper who was much better.
The food...Oh my, We had all our meals included but many nights opted to eat out to get some flavour. The boiled eggs not eaten at lunch were recycled into the next meal.
Some meals were fine but most were very bland. The scrambled eggs in the mornong were full of greese but the pasteries and coffee were amazingly good.
I thought Spain was known for good food, we were really disappointed since. The teenage swimmers need alot of good healthy food and alot of this food was fried.
The TV had only 1 english chanel and that was CNBC the stock market channel. We were told at the desk we could watch the BBC but it was not available.
I have stayed in other hotels in Europe and for people to say it was fantastic I think it was good for a 2* but OK as a 3*.
The best thing about it was the proximity to the 50m pool which is a beautiful pool.
The town is a nice walk not too far and it is a comfortable walking distance to the train station.
Barcelona is just 1 hr away but be careful of which train you take back, not all trains go as far as Calella and you may have to get out and wait for a second train.
Great deal at the train station where you get your ticket to Barcelona return and the Bus Touristic for just 25 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My Wife and I have just spent Christmas and the New Year at this Hotel and we can honestly say that it was the best Hotel we have stayed in for quite a while. The Staff were very very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was very good and plentiful. Overall a well run Hotel which we have no hesitation of recommending to anyone who wants a quiet break. With only 49 rooms the Hotel and a flat surrounding Area it is well suited to Elderly Customers. Out only disappointment was that we had to come home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Spain. All the hotel staff speak English and are very friendly. The food is very good and there is a good variety every day. The only downside I had about this hotel was the pool, it doesn't seem to get much sun, it felt like the hotel was built back to front but it didn't spoil our holiday, we just went down to the beach.

The hotel is close to the centre of Calella, about 15 minutes walk to the train station. You can get the train to Barcelona for 7 euros 70 cents (return).

One tip if you are going to Barcelona and plan to visit Nou Camp, get your tickets in advance, we turned up at Nou Camp and the queue was horrendous and because it was about 34 degrees was far too hot to queue. You can buy your tickets onlne or call in at a booth in the centre of La Rambla. I would highly recommend an open bus tour, these are really good value for money.

The resort of Calella was very disappointing. It is more geared up for the the germans and spanish which after reading reviews on here I half expected but actually seeing how the English bars are struggling out there is a shame. We went into the Alcatraz Bar and we were the only ones in the place, same goes for Beach Boys, The White Horse however was more busier but on our last night that seemed liked a youth club for german underage drinkers.

We travelled as a family with a 14 year old and would not recommend this resort for kids really as there is nothing for them to do here, unless you have entertainment on in your hotel.

To end..couldn 't fault the hotel or the location of it in Calella, but Calella was a big let down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

For a quick weekend by the sea I would recommend a stay at The Sant Jordi. The rooms are clean, if perhaps a bit on the small side, bathrooms ditto. But it is a 3*, so I wasn't expecting a vast amount of space.

Breakfast is a selfservice affair, with a good of choice of either hot or cold food.

Staff at the hotel are very helpfull with a friendly manner.

All in all a good choice at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sant Jordi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Jordi

Address: C Turisme 80 - 88, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calella
#5 Family Hotel in Calella
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Jordi 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sant Jordi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Jordi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Jordi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.