We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H TOP Olympic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added H TOP Olympic to your Saves list
H TOP Olympic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We had a great time !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday here. We booked this holiday with friends, some who had stayed in this hotel previously so we trusted their judgment. A couple of days before we went I read all the horrible reviews on this hotel and was terrified as to what it was going to be like with having an 18 month old. Got there and was pleasently surprised. Hotel seemed clean and staff were nice to us. There are quite a few school groups that do make noise but wasnt that bad to be fair I knew the room would be small and it was however this didnt ruin our stay. The room was clean and just needed a refurb really however if they did this to the whole hotel the price for the holiday would obviously increase. You get what you pay for, we must have paid £70 each for 7 days all inclusive. The food was good, we and the kids enjoyed it all, there was always something different, chicken, pork, veal, turkey, rabbit, fish what more variety can u ask for really. No one in our group was ill. The pool was cleaned every morning and was clean, you did have to queue for a while your drinks one night but the room was packed so what dya expect. We ended up with more drinks cards than needed to got 2 drinks each wen we went the bar so we didnt have to get up as much. The kids loved the kids entertainment and adult entertainment was good too. We popped into the Hotel Calella Palace and used the indoor plunge pool there for my 18 month old as the pool on the hotel was too cold for him, we also used other facilities there and also went ther for lunch one day as some of our friends were staying there. If you want more luxurious accomodation, food etc then pay more for your holiday, simple !!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better as the school kids tend to be on the lower floors. We had the view of one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    243
    384
    278
    572
See reviews for
490
474
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel - very disappointing. Queue for drinks was 15 minutes one night and that's not even in the high season, unable to by rounds of drinks so was unsociable with friends as you were only allowed one drink per person with ID card and had to take your glasses back to the bar before they would serve you again. Egg, rice and pasta seemed to be the food of the day - every day. Meat dishes were tough would not recommend the food or the hotel for that matter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have just come back from stay at the HTOP Olympic Hotel, the staff were so helpful and friendly! It was a cheap last minute booking but food was fine and our hotel rooms. I would definitely go there again as it was an unforgettable experience. Kathryn also enjoyed herself alot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

as soon as me and my friends got in to the hotel room, we realised strait away that the room was not cleaned properley, there were skid marks on the basin of the toilet. There was several pubic hairs in the bed sheets, the room had a horrible smell. I went to reception to ask to switch rooms the staff were ignorant and obnoxious and told me the cleaners would clean the room, several hours later our room was the same. Stray cats roamed the hotel, staff were feeding them, it made the hotel look even worse than what it was. One of my friends tom got food poisoning and had to be rushed to a+e because it was that bad. The pool was not like the pictures at all, It was green with several bugs and insects floating around. Through out our stay it was never cleaned, we had to go to another hotel to just sunbath because we was so embarrassed of the Htop Olympic. Worst hotel I have ever been to in my life.

Room Tip: Just don't even go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

we are usually independent travellers and do not opt for all inclusive tourist hotels, so this was a new experience for us! We were travelling with family. We arrived late at night (past midnight) and the hotel was quiet with a few guests mingling around. Check in was quick and we were allocated rooms on the 7th floor (2 at the front - nice views and the sun all day, but you can hear the noise from the street below; 1 at the back over looking the main pool - no noise). The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday. They are all the same size, however there was too much furniture in our room. It was cosy! We moved the furniture onto the balcony! The other rooms had less furniture and so felt a bit more spacious. we were all fortunate that we did not have noisey neighbours nor did we have noise outside in the corridors.
The food was ok - a little repetative. There was not a great deal for vegetarians.
The week we stayed there were a number of school groups and so breakfast and evening meal times could be very busy. However, we got the impression that they had allocated slots so we would go to eat before or after them. Lunch was not a problem as the groups were out on their various trips. The wine served in the dinning room was much nicer than that served in the bar. We often enjoyed a few glasses after our meal in the dinning hall and the staff did not mind.
I agree with Daria S - learning a few spanish phrases helps. The bar staff appreciated your efforts. They were freindly and polite. They were great with the children making them laugh!
I guess some of your experineces depend on the clientele that are staying when you are. On our last day the arrival of new holiday makers changed the atmosphere of the hotel. People were rude and lacking any patience.
We think it was value for money (we paid £15 per person per day all inclusive) out of season. you get what you pay for!!!! If the price was right, we would go back OUT OF SEASON.
Tip: You can book in advance for meals at the Calella Palace and Amaika. Much better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This was a last minute getaway for a bit peace and quiet but soon realised this was not to be. The hotel was more like a colledge with bus loads of young adults arriving several times a day, this went on for the five days we were there. Dont expect any sleep as there was partys and loud music until 3 and 4 o'clock in the morning. They would be out on the balcony until all hours. It didnt help that the walls were paper thin- You could hear everything , I could even hear someone brushing their teeth. So you felt like you had no privacy when you went to the loo. Apart from all that- ha ha- the staff were friendly, the rooms were basic but cleaned everyday and the food was quite nice. We got great weather the time we were there. Calella is a nice place, but if you get the chance go to lloret or barcelona. Theres a train 10 minutes up the road and they come quite regular, the fare is reasonable too.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Firstly Htop Olympic was a hotel on allocation option due to a last minute break we went on we go a great price however this comes with a warning.

I will start with, that this is possibly the worst hotel i have stayed in my travelling life. i have stayed in many hotels in the Calella area and this is by far the worst.

Reception booking in was quick, informative and has a good amount of local information. I said hello and Spanish. The hotel reception Staff need some help with Smiles and how to apply themselves when greeting people. One particular receptionist felt it was necessary to ignore our requests, was rude and very unhelpful.

The bar again is vast and has lots to offer. Large selection of drinks. The staff again lack smiles and somethings are just far too much effort to do. We stood at one of the available sections of the bar for service. Only to be waved at and asked to queue up behind. Was really unorganised and again my wife and i felt that we were asking for something that didnt exist.

The Room 730.
No Air conditioning due to being out of season. It was so unpleasant and stuffy at night. The bathroom floor had not been washed as behind the door were hairs left from the previous occupiers. I dont need to elaborate on this you all have fantastic imagination. There was a weird door above the toilet which leads to services and next doors bathroom. Its not a security threat however it can be very unpleasent when next door uses their bathroom due to Odors and noise, funny really both my wife and i ran the tap whilst going to the toilet to avoid any embarassment for both partys. The walls are like paper you can hear everything from next door and the security of the balcony door needs reviewing. We had heard some couples stating that during the summer robbery in the hotel is quiet frequent.

The restaurant.
The food was ok if you like the samething everyday. You can eat as much as you like. There was a salad bar a hot food counter which a selection of meats and veg. Be warey of the rice and pastas as these sometimes contain yeardays veggies. I had this confirmed by the porter - their way of stretching the food. The seating arrangement was fine however stay away from the inside isles next to the food carts. This can get very busy and annoying with being bumped whilst trying to eat.

The location of the hotel was good. 5 minutes from the Town and the Beach. One concern however is the nightclub at the end of the street. I sound like a kill joy. Imagine 500+ german and french teenagers chanting at 2am in the morning for around one and a half hours. You will not get any sleep if you are located at the front of the hotel. The other concern which was raised to the Hotel on two seperate occasions were the hoody club touts outside the hotel. This was a topic of conversation in the bar as a number of guest felt really uneasy and were even concerned about leaving the hotel at night.

Overal beware if you are paying full prices in the summer to stay here. A couple will pay around £1150+ for 2 weeks half board. You could stay at the Htop Calella palace for around £150 more and it is far superior in every aspect and just around the corner. 2 out of 10 for the hotel.

Oh yes i forgot this is the first hotel with no free Wifi.

Room Tip: Try to avoid lower floors as the noise is loud in the streets. Being situated on the front has its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H TOP Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H TOP Olympic

Address: Benavente s/n, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H TOP Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 519
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your H TOP Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Olympic Calella
Hotel h Top Olympic
h Top Olympic Hotel
Hotel Olympic Calella
h Hotel Top

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H TOP Olympic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.