We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in calella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaktus Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaktus Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Kaktus Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gaudi 8, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel in calella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

stayed here 4 weeks ago and cannot fault the place and the amenities at all, very polite staff exceptionally clean and the breakfast is amazing, huge choice of food both english and international. The pool is lovely and has a hot tub. and the location is great for the beach ( which is also superb, just be careful as its a sharp incline as soon as you enter the sea!) The rooms are quite modern too , i would liken them to a good premier inn. The only thing i would say is if your looking for somewhere with the normal english entertainment its not for you, a lot of older spanish and german/ dutch people were staying here so its more geared up for them, also nothing goes on during yhe day for kids etc. Is more a place to go for peace and quiet to be honest. Calella isnt up to much either really, ok if you like shopping but thats about it, its very small and not very much choice in restaurants. You can get to malgrat very easily by train (this runs along the beach) its a bit more lively there. And I would definitely reccomend going to Tossa de Mar on the boat trip, its very pretty there with lovely little shops and spanish buildings and a castle . it stops off at lloret too which is extremely lively , great for the teens and younger holidaymakers. If you have time go to Barcelona by train, we ran out of time but will be going there later in the year.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    66
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
56
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just arrived back from a 6 night stay at the Kaktus Playa with my fiancé. First impressions were good and the hotel inside was immaculate, modern and very clean. There is also a gym (cardio only, no weights) and jacuzzi. Reception were welcoming and we checked in quickly. We booked a privilege room which we found out entitled us to a room with a sea-view, free use of the spa, free wi-fi and free sun beds and parasols at the beach (you get a voucher from reception) - all a bonus! We had a 2nd floor room which was spacious with a huge bathroom all very clean indeed. (Im a bit OCD and so things have to be clean)The hotel is a 2 min walk to some of the most cleanest beautiful beaches you will see. There are several bars on the beach to eat at and a lovely chap called Mohammed who will find you a sunbed/parasol. 5 mins from the hotel is the centre of Calella. Lots of shops and bars etc, so plenty to do and lots of eateries. One of our faves was the Bar Top which is situated in the square as you walk into the town. They all speak perfect english, do a wide range of food and have sky sports on showing most footie matches (hubby was pleased, me not so much!) Now, one of my gripes about this holiday is the food and service in the restaurant (we went full board). Breakfast was the best with a wide choice of food both hot and cold. But the tables don't get cleaned quick enough so we found ourselves either having to clean away other peoples plates or having to chase around looking for a waitress to clean one for us. Plenty of other people were doing the same thing too! You get seated for both lunch and dinner so at least you get a clean table when you go in. The food choice isn't that varied as others have stated in their reviews. If I had bought my son and we'd eaten in every day he would've starved, nothing for kids to eat at all. There was however always plenty of fruit and salad. But my big issue was the service of the waiting staff... we waited for 30 mins nearly each time to be offered a drink. By which time we had nearly finished our meals. Its very difficult to get the staff in the restaurant to even acknowledge you are there sometimes! Im don't consider myself a fussy moany person but I do feel that this just wasnt good enough. So much so that we then ate out for 3 days for both lunch and dinner. My summation is that the area was lovely and for that reason alone would come back. I would also stay at the Kaktus again but only B&B, never FB. We also looked at other hotels when we were walking around and to be fair the Kaktus looks the best in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

very reasonable price, sea is about 200 meters, state beach. wi-fi is only for money, but it has good speed. Food is delicious, thematic dinners are great. interesting and tasty. staff is friendly, always willong to help. You can do massage in the hotel, but i, personally, didn't try it. Swimming pool is not very big, but quite comfortable., nice, clean and has a cafe. We loved to sit in the evenings on the balcony and read. But in front of you there are two hotels for young people, they may be a little noisy in the evenings, but we can sleep very good at nights.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the pool are noisy in the evenings, but have a great view, you can even see sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Booked three rooms, b & b in Kaktus Playa. Nice hotel, efficient check in, helpful staff. Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. decent size outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, ten minute walk to the beach, and less than ten to the center of Calella. Rooms cleaned every day, nice large balconies. Good breakfast provided. Lots of variety and choice. Staff were friendly and helpful in all areas of hotel. If I was to return to Calella, I would have no hesitation staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Kaktus Playa and would happily stay there again. A modern hotel in Calella, about 15 mins walk from the town centre and 5 minutes from the beach /promenade in a quiet safe part of town, also a little land train stops near to the hotel too

The hotel is modern, rooms clean, and they have glass balconies, breakfast and dinner were served buffet style with lots of choices for starters, mains and desserts. Cannot fault choices available, something for everyone, meat, fish, local dishes too and when we stayed they hosted a Medieval themed evening. The carved fruit and vegetables were amazing and so were the castles made out of cake. The ladies on the door who check your dining cards are very friendly and polite.Outside there is a snack bar serving toasted sandwiches,hot snacks etc and a swimming pool too. In the evenings various bands played by the pool when we were staying as it was the local Octoberfest festival. It was great fun too listening to other bands playing at nearby hotels.

The hotel provides great range of entertainment, walks to a park in Calella, cocktail making evenings, flamenco dancing and a cabaret act

Would happily stay here again, as staff very friendly and helpful and fellow guests were lovely, met some delightful visitors from Germany and Belgium .

Stayed October 2011

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights early October, It was the Octoberfest food staff and evry thing else was great
the only down side was I was in room one, no complaints about the room, the only complaint was that of the noise from 2 Parties of Dubliners whose pick up was 4.00 consequently there was lots of noise right through until they boarded the coach. Would stay there again but definetly not in the ground floor rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wow, our first trip to Spain and what a fantastic hotel to introduce us to the Spanish lifestyle. Fabulous rooms, incredible glass floor balconies, The Staff were brillient and the entertainment was very good, never laughed so much. The food was very nice and lots of it with theme nights a couple of times a week. Very close to the beach and Chiringos.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#4 of 45 in Calella
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#3 of 45 in Calella
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#7 of 45 in Calella
4.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H TOP Amaika
H TOP Amaika
#10 of 45 in Calella
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Neptuno
Hotel Neptuno
#11 of 45 in Calella
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B El Pekinaire
B&B El Pekinaire
#1 of 45 in Calella
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Playa

Address: Calle Gaudi 8, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#4 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaktus Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaktus Playa Calella
Kaktus Playa Hotel Calella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaktus Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.