We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaktus Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaktus Playa to your Saves list
Hotel Kaktus Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Gaudi 8, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

very reasonable price, sea is about 200 meters, state beach. wi-fi is only for money, but it has good speed. Food is delicious, thematic dinners are great. interesting and tasty. staff is friendly, always willong to help. You can do massage in the hotel, but i, personally, didn't try it. Swimming pool is not very big, but quite comfortable., nice, clean and has a cafe. We loved to sit in the evenings on the balcony and read. But in front of you there are two hotels for young people, they may be a little noisy in the evenings, but we can sleep very good at nights.

Room Tip: Rooms with view on the pool are noisy in the evenings, but have a great view, you can even see sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    60
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
50
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Booked three rooms, b & b in Kaktus Playa. Nice hotel, efficient check in, helpful staff. Indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. decent size outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, ten minute walk to the beach, and less than ten to the center of Calella. Rooms cleaned every day, nice large balconies. Good breakfast provided. Lots of variety and choice. Staff were friendly and helpful in all areas of hotel. If I was to return to Calella, I would have no hesitation staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Kaktus Playa and would happily stay there again. A modern hotel in Calella, about 15 mins walk from the town centre and 5 minutes from the beach /promenade in a quiet safe part of town, also a little land train stops near to the hotel too

The hotel is modern, rooms clean, and they have glass balconies, breakfast and dinner were served buffet style with lots of choices for starters, mains and desserts. Cannot fault choices available, something for everyone, meat, fish, local dishes too and when we stayed they hosted a Medieval themed evening. The carved fruit and vegetables were amazing and so were the castles made out of cake. The ladies on the door who check your dining cards are very friendly and polite.Outside there is a snack bar serving toasted sandwiches,hot snacks etc and a swimming pool too. In the evenings various bands played by the pool when we were staying as it was the local Octoberfest festival. It was great fun too listening to other bands playing at nearby hotels.

The hotel provides great range of entertainment, walks to a park in Calella, cocktail making evenings, flamenco dancing and a cabaret act

Would happily stay here again, as staff very friendly and helpful and fellow guests were lovely, met some delightful visitors from Germany and Belgium .

Stayed October 2011

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 7 nights early October, It was the Octoberfest food staff and evry thing else was great
the only down side was I was in room one, no complaints about the room, the only complaint was that of the noise from 2 Parties of Dubliners whose pick up was 4.00 consequently there was lots of noise right through until they boarded the coach. Would stay there again but definetly not in the ground floor rooms

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wow, our first trip to Spain and what a fantastic hotel to introduce us to the Spanish lifestyle. Fabulous rooms, incredible glass floor balconies, The Staff were brillient and the entertainment was very good, never laughed so much. The food was very nice and lots of it with theme nights a couple of times a week. Very close to the beach and Chiringos.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Was moved to this hotel last minute as my hotel was double booked it is the best hotel I have ever stayed clean tidy good food nice pool very helpful staff the only bad thing there was not any English there apart from my family but we made very well come by the other guest I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

we stayed in this hotel from May 27 untill June 1st and we enjoyed it very much : the food is great with a lot of choice morning, lunch and dinner. The 2 ladies (kind of 'chefs') in the restaurant talk with everyone and make you feel at home.
The rooms are very good;, the swimming pool is nice and the outside jacuzzi is very popular.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Kaktus Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Playa

Address: Calle Gaudi 8, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Calella
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kaktus Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaktus Playa Calella
Kaktus Playa Hotel Calella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaktus Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.