We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bernat II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bernat II to your Saves list
Hotel Bernat II
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avinguda del Turisme, 42-44, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was helpful, friendly and polite, especially the restaurant staff paid attencion on children. Hotel was very clean and there was very "empty and peaceful" because of the low season. Food was okey and timetable was excellent. The beds werent so comfortable. There was some noise from the street at the weekend nights.The beach was near and it was clean and peaceful (low season) Generally we liked the hotel very much and hope we can go there again. We did not use the spa at all, so we cant review that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    77
    39
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
63
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First impression as I approached this, allegedly 4 star, hotel was that it looked 'tired' and in need of exterior redecoration. Reception was efficient, most probable the best aspect of the hotel.
The room was adequate however the refrigerator produced a lot of heat on its top however the interior failed to get cold. Television only had local terrestrial channels, not the usual collection of international channels now usually found in 4 star hotels. Walls were very thin and conversations etc. in adjoining rooms were clearly audible. The bathroom had been recently refurbished; however there were no towel rails large enough to hang bath towels, the lighting was so positioned that ones face was in shadow when using the mirror also there were no grab handles that would have assisted an elderly slightly disabled person to enter and exit the bath safely.
Entertainment in the evening was definitely lacking quality but this was compensated for by the volume of the music that accompanied it. As this entertainment was centered in the bar area it meant that a quiet drink and coffee after a meal was impossible.
The breakfast, buffet style, was acceptable but was virtually the same everyday.
The evening meal was also buffet style, with the food arranged in a chaotic way in three locations around the dining room. This entailed a trek around all 3 places for each course. The standard of food was not that which one would expect form a 4star establishment. In addition the staff seemed to have no interest in controlling the actions of young children who were allowed to run around the dining room throwing food, shouting etc.
In general definitely not a 4 star establishment, more a low end of the 'all inclusive' Hotel type.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just got back from the Bernat II with my wife, daughter and grandson. It exceeded my expectations in all aspects. I always read the reviews before I go, so I was expecting a few problems but I have to say, the hotel was great. Really clean everywhere, staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was great. We did briefly meet some Brits on an All Inclusive (we were half board, I wouldn't do all inclusive if you paid me), and they were unhappy, but everywhere I have been I have always found some unhappy people and I normally put this down to the fact that some people are never happy.
All I can say is that the hotel was excellent in every respect for me and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, for both business and pleasure, all over the world.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room but I don't think the views are brilliant from any room. We dont normall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 4 star Hotel. I work in the the travel busniss, and this is the the worst 4 star Hotel I have stay on. Please upgrad the hole Hotel. Dirty, no god service. The room is dirty.
Not good!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulzbach am Main, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My daughter stayed at this Hotel through a 'Fun Reisen' trip for minors! She was very pleased with the Hotel, the room she had was modern and clean. The trip included breakfast and then they could choose between lunch or evening meal. There is a spa area in the Hotel, which she said was very clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This weekend I had the opportunity to go to Calella and stayed in Hotel Bernat II
We booked a room through their site at a very good price. The Spa is amazing, very clean and quite.

The hotel is very close to the beach. They also have a special place to rest on the beach with chairlongs and hamacs and very good cocktails.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bernat II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernat II

Address: Avinguda del Turisme, 42-44, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#4 Best Value Hotel in Calella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bernat II 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bernat II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernat Ii Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bernat II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.