We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spain never again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H TOP Amaika Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H TOP Amaika Hotel to your Saves list
H TOP Amaika Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Diputacion 2, 08370 Calella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Calella
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“spain never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we arrived late afternoon about 17.30 a coach party of 38 having had 2 days of travelling we was looking forward to having a shower and unpacking. It took about 45 mins to get booked in at reception as only 1 erson on duty and she kept answering the phone. They take your passports and hold over night at this hotel which i thought was no longer allowed we eventually got to our rooms after waiting for the 2 lifts out of 4 that were working. On arrival the room looked clean and tidy there is a tv but you have to leave a deposit of 20 euros at reception for remote control and not much choice either english itv comes from wales and the news channel is russian. We unpacked and went down to the bar for a drink we were all inclusive so had to have our pic taken for a card that you hand over everytime you want a drink at the bar.

We learnt from the barman that the hotel had only reopened that day and we was the only clients there at the time we got our drinks and had a sit around.

Dinner was at 19.30 buffet style all looked very nice when we went in and choice of food looked good hot dish and veg (meat, fish) plently of salad and fruit soup and desserts. All ok until you have a hot meal omg cold no warmth at all. pointed this out to waitress and all she did was shrug her shoulders and said use the microwave.!!!! well i for one do not like nuked food so stuck with the salads. As we was nearing the end of our meal other clients started to arrive all spainish and what a change comes over the staff they are suddenly here there and everywhere for the spanish didnt bode well.

We went down to the bar after dinner and there was a singer to entertain us very good but we had a drink and then retired to bed. It was very cold in the corridor to our rooms and we was glad to get to our rooms. When i took my case off the bed i noticed ciggeret burns on the cover and the sheets had holes in. But they looked clean.Bed is a bit hard and narrow.

Bathroom is nice and big and bath shower is better than the seperate shower but be careful bath is slippery.

Breakfast the next morning was ok again cooked breakfast is cold and boiled eggs in a silver warmer are icy cold again i pointed this out to the waitress that there didnt seem to be any heat in the warmer we checked the plug was in and again she shrugged her shoulders. i then stuck to continental which was ok but not impressive.

We were given packed lunch each day we was here which was not too bad on our trips out but why did we have a spam fritter?

Right this hotel has a theme of the Titanic and overall looks nice the staff can be a bit off especially the receptionist (blond LADY QUITE RUDE TO US BRITS) i had taken out the option of having wifi for my tablet which cost 20 euros for 3 days the first night it went off and had to ring down to reception a man answered and i asked him if there a problem he said no but i had to pay for wifi i pointed out that i had and he said he would get back to me am still waiting in the morning went to reception and was speaking to the blond woman and mid sentance she left me standing there to help out a spanish woman so RUDE gave up in the end.

We had more bar staff come in the second day as the hotel was getting quite busy we ordered a pina colada at the bar only to be told we could only have the cocktail of the day. so went without we did notice that we were kept waiting whilst the bar staff served the spanish their drinks as they were paying for them we even had a gentleman in our group that was on 2 crutches and they refused to bring his drinks to him as he was all inclusive.

The whole time we was at hotel we were made to feel as if were not wanted and the spanish guests were very rude to the point of snatching the food ladals out your hand in the dining room as you was putting the food on your plate.

I would never stay here again and it brought home to me why i no longer go to spain for holidays because of the way we are treated by the spainards.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    284
    157
    62
    46
See reviews for
237
297
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

please ignore any negative reports and dont let them spoil your plans to stay at this hotel. It is run at a very good standard, rooms very clean, all pubic areas well maintained, food, good selection, all staff i found to be very obliging at all times, close to the sea and shops train station 15 min walk through town, so in short any reasonable person wiil enjoy your stay, so dont worry

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the H-Top Amaika, late October/Early November 2012. Our original hotel was actually canceled less than 24 hours before we were due to travel and we were offered this one instead at the last minute. After checking TripAdvisor we saw that this hotel had better reviews than our intended hotel and provided roughly the same services, so we accepted.

We rented a car and drove from Barcelona Airport, it took us about an hour to drive from the airport to the hotel, not too far but would probably take a little bit longer on a coach. On arrival we found it a little awkward to park and had to circle the block a couple of times but spaces are available if you look. The service at check-in was very good, we were served right away and everything was explained in a friendly manner. I must say that all the staff we encountered were all very friendly.

The room itself was spacious enough for 2, it was clean and tidy and everything was in a good state of repair, I would comment that the decor may be a little bit older - but this minor detail is not something that would bother us and it was certainly well maintained. As is common in many hotels a deposit must be left to use the TV remote. We only realised at about midnight when we arrived back and wanted to watch the TV, but reception was manned constantly so this wasn't an issue.

We stayed all inclusive - the food was alright with plenty of salad, soup and dessert. The main menu options themselves seemed to vary in quality - you wouldn't find the queen eating here, but it was all OK. The drinks supplied were good, and I was surprised to find cold glass-bottled pepsi served in the restaurant rather than the more common and cheaper draft cola which is prevalent. Bottles of beer, wine etc were also offered.

The location is good, there is plenty of things within walking distance and a train station not 2 mins walk away, there you can get a train to Barcelona.

We enjoyed our stay and did not have any issue throughout, I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Amaika

All Inclusive, Food average for me , Enjoyed the break for a long weekend
everything in walking distance of hotel
We used the train several times Had days out to Barcelona ,Blanes, Tossa de Mar & Lloret de Mar
Hotel very nice, clean &tidy ,staff amicable

The hotel had a theme of the Titanic I thought

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived about 2pm, All Inclusive and were able to check in straight away.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the Titanic theme of the hotel is excellent.
Variety of food was brilliant and the kids really did enjoy it.
The location of the hotel was fantastic and everything was within walking distance.
We had a family room which was really clean but the only downside was we did not have a double bed, there were two beds put together which was a bit uncomfortable, though the kids loved there two single beds.
Also the Jacuzzi and sauna is so small you have to pre book with reception and due to the high demand did not get to use it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived late at night and were quickly checked in by a very nice night porter,who then told us we still had time for a snack befor the resturant closed. When we got to our room after going to the bar across the road for a quick drink which was very welcoming [Iforget the name] We found our room to be spacious very clean,spacious and comfotable with extra pillows blankets if needed. you could also adjust the heating to your comfort. We found the food in the hotel lovely plenty of choice,very tasty great value.the staff from the bar to the reception and the girlswho cleaned the room were all very nice. overall i wouldnt hesitate to reccomend this hotel for location and value.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool gets the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived at The Amaika at 10 to midnight and hadn't eaten or drank since we boarded the plane at 15:30 that day but the receptionist told us that we could either get a snack from the restaurant or get a drink from the bar, not both because they both closed at midnight. We chose to eat and had to buy a bottle of water to drink in our room.
This was not the hotel or location we had chosen to spend our break at and we hated every minute. Beat The Brochure had taken my booking for another hotel, and when we got there it was closed!! This was the hotel we were forced to stay in, NEVER AGAIN. The bar staff were very rude and we were made to feel like scroungers. We were told to queue for drinks because we were all inclusive and that they would only bring us our drinks if we paid cash. My partner was made to drink his beer out of half pint glasses because we were AI and we were were only allowed to get 2 drinks at a time. Therefore we spent most of the time queueing. The bed linen was full of holes and the bed was like sleeping on a wooden board. The food was tasteless and never hot, so we had to go elsewhere to eat and drink even though we had already paid in advance for this service. The pool is tiny and not heated and only half of it gets the sun for a couple of hours a day.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and would never return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H TOP Amaika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H TOP Amaika Hotel

Address: Calle Diputacion 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H TOP Amaika Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
H. TOP Amaika is located in Calella (Barcelona), at 72 km. from the airport of Barcelona and 62 km. from city centre where you will find the famous "Ramblas" and the beautiful world of Gaudi architecture. Luxury interior decoration is based in "Titanic" style. From the balcony of one of its guestrooms you will behold views over the swimming pool or the beautiful surroundings. All equiped with a/c, color satellite TV, safe-deposit box, hairdryer, bath tub and shower, direct dial telephone and mini bar. Mini-club, entertainment, swimming pool, lobby Internet PC, exercise room, sauna, jacuzzi, medical service 24, car rental, laundry, tours, parking and more...(Some of these services may not be included in the price) Also available suites and conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your H TOP Amaika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H TOP Amaika Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.