We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sit outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gringo Joes

Gringo Joes
C/ Ramon Cajal 1, 08370 Calella, Spain
937 66 14 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 102 Restaurants in Calella
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sit outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

all good. very friendly and gave us information about the resort, and things to do., only down the road from the hotel and would recommend

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    30
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a lovely meal here good service and good food !! And a good price would definitely recommend Gringo Joes and would return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple, good food and good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had lunch here a number of times on holiday, the facilities were good, the restaurant was clean, the food was simple but filling and tasty with a varied menu and some specials, kids were happy, we were happy.

Staff friendly, no fuss, and in the shade.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overrated if this so called restaurant was in England it would be out of business.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited here for breakfast and dinner once the breakfast which was supposedly the middle sized breakfast which came with one bacon one sausage was Nice after eating at the Olympic hotel. tea and coffee was not included ! So worked out 8 euros for a none filling but nice breakfast , Alcatraz pub also English pub was loads better with a 2 of everything and tea or coffee included for the same price however the bloke who served us at gringos was really nice and accommodating ! Any way we turned up for dinner one night and was meet by a scottish woman who was basically a bit cold and rude to be honest I ordered the steak apparently 10 oz asked for medium rare and it came out burnt to a crisp when said it was not to my liking as it was well well done she said it was the last one nothing else was offered in replacement so ended up ended paying 12 euros for chips and onions rings, also mother ordered the curry and when it came there was not even a fillet Of chicken in there more like a vegatable curry to be honest .. the lady never asked how our meal was after wards either any way we didn't kick up a fuss and left , which was when we found the am alcatraz pub where we ate breakfast every morning and returned for dinner every night bigger portions for the same money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Gringo Joes is an English owned bar extending a warm welcome. It is excellent value, has an extensive menu catering for most tastes, including Indian food. I have visited Gringo Joes on numerous occasions, usually for a drink or a coffee and a toasted sandwich but this time, after a sortie into town, we decided to have a meal. Three of us opted for steak and although only one steak was cooked as requested, it was still enjoyable and we ate it, or as much as we could manage! Don't expect haute cuisine, it's good food at a good price and I would recommend this restaurant for a cheap and cheerful experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringo Joes also viewed

Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 
Calella, Province of Barcelona
Calella, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gringo Joes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gringo Joes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.